Author Topic: GW1100 Some notes  (Read 2189 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline WA4OPQ

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 312
  • 4 stations: 2902 array, GW1000, 3 on Meteobridge
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #25 on: August 07, 2021, 01:46:19 PM »
Answers to your questions:
It's almost impossible to have an IP conflict. I have a structured plan for IPs: GW1100s in the 130s, Meteobridges in the 140s,Pi's in the 150s, PiZeros in the 160s etc.
My desktop is primarily connected over ethernet. It has a WAN card with external antennas that is turned on only when I need to connect to a weather station on the far side of my backyard. Normally WiFi is off. Besides being turned off, none of the connections are set to autoconnect. In fact, Windows doesn't allow autoconnect if it's not going to the internet.
The WiFi router is in a closet in the center of our house, about 25 feet away, so the GW1100 is much much closer to the pi than the router. I think this proximity is what's causing the interference by overloading the pi's WiFi receiver.
Other than setting a static IP on my router for the GW1100 I have done no network configurations to it.

Offline Rover1822

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
    • Mini Wind and Solar Data project
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #26 on: August 07, 2021, 02:18:39 PM »
I have so much stuff on WIFI, radios, I'm sorry but I don't have an issue. I run the 3 different APs on different "bands" , to keep the best possible experience. And my gw1100 is in very close proximity to everything else.  I don't see the radio interference that you would like to blame on the 2.4 GHz or even 5 GHz side . I have multiple radio setups and SDRs, I', frankly not seeing anything. I seriously doubt this is a  radio interference issue. You can of course prove me wrong.

There is something else going on with your setup. I know you will disagree, but recheck everything. This , really sounds like a network issue, trying to hit a different subnet from the AP on the GW1100 .. or something.

Or something , no one has encountered.




Ambient:WS-2000,PM 2.5 x2,WH31B x2,WH40E,WH31P
EcoWitt: GW1100,GW1000 x4,WH31 x2,WH57,WH51 x12, WH40,WH5360B,WN34S,WittBoy
Web Sites: WU, Ambient Weather , Ecowitt.net , Ecowitt.net (TEST)
Personal Sites: Weather Cam

Offline Rover1822

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
    • Mini Wind and Solar Data project
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #27 on: August 07, 2021, 02:29:06 PM »
Quote
In fact, Windows doesn't allow autoconnect if it's not going to the internet.
Actually it will, android  OS might barf on that , but , if the connection has the flag for auto connect in doze, it will try. Regardless if there is an internet connection or not. And the connection will bounce depending on a whole lot of factors. But it will try the connection .

I go back to making sure nothing has a an auto connect or persistent reason to make the connection.

I really wish, the GW1100 had a way to turn off it's AP side. Even if you have applied a password on the gw1100, if you have a system that has an auto connect, it will try, and that takes a a drop in some OS's even though it has a current connection.






« Last Edit: August 07, 2021, 02:32:24 PM by Rover1822 »
Ambient:WS-2000,PM 2.5 x2,WH31B x2,WH40E,WH31P
EcoWitt: GW1100,GW1000 x4,WH31 x2,WH57,WH51 x12, WH40,WH5360B,WN34S,WittBoy
Web Sites: WU, Ambient Weather , Ecowitt.net , Ecowitt.net (TEST)
Personal Sites: Weather Cam

Offline WA4OPQ

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 312
  • 4 stations: 2902 array, GW1000, 3 on Meteobridge
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #28 on: August 07, 2021, 03:14:13 PM »
I believe this is the problem: while measuring adjacent to the pi the signal from the AP is 30 dB stronger than the WLAN

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

Offline Rover1822

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
    • Mini Wind and Solar Data project
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #29 on: August 07, 2021, 04:25:42 PM »
Maybe, not saying no.

But man that is the cleanest WIFI range graph I have seen. You should live here, I have like 40+ something active connection sites in my surroundings, with a lot of multiples.

I mean I have multi story apartments, multi family dwellings, etc.

Yeah.. not so sure that is your issue





« Last Edit: August 07, 2021, 04:28:27 PM by Rover1822 »
Ambient:WS-2000,PM 2.5 x2,WH31B x2,WH40E,WH31P
EcoWitt: GW1100,GW1000 x4,WH31 x2,WH57,WH51 x12, WH40,WH5360B,WN34S,WittBoy
Web Sites: WU, Ambient Weather , Ecowitt.net , Ecowitt.net (TEST)
Personal Sites: Weather Cam

Offline Rover1822

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
    • Mini Wind and Solar Data project
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #30 on: August 07, 2021, 04:35:19 PM »
If you want to test, just move the GW1100 to another location

That thing has so little RF power , move it to another room ,etc... or building

And I am pushing receiving gigabits of data all day long as I am a cable cord cutter and receive my TV signal, for the most part, over WIFI from my router, probably packing the RF for anyone else But my GW1100 is fine. And it should be it is sending/receiving so little data, I mean, miniscule packets , and I have no issue

Along with the roughly 34 devices that use my WIFI, including constantly streaming video cameras.

 




« Last Edit: August 07, 2021, 04:47:51 PM by Rover1822 »
Ambient:WS-2000,PM 2.5 x2,WH31B x2,WH40E,WH31P
EcoWitt: GW1100,GW1000 x4,WH31 x2,WH57,WH51 x12, WH40,WH5360B,WN34S,WittBoy
Web Sites: WU, Ambient Weather , Ecowitt.net , Ecowitt.net (TEST)
Personal Sites: Weather Cam

Offline WA4OPQ

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 312
  • 4 stations: 2902 array, GW1000, 3 on Meteobridge
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #31 on: August 07, 2021, 04:38:07 PM »
But man that is the cleanest WIFI range graph I have seen.
One of the advantages of living in the country. We're on six acres on a dirt road.

As a test I moved the GW1100 ten feet away. It then had exactly the same signal strength as the WLAN. -60dBm  And I was able to connect to the pi perfectly.
I think that confirms my theory.

Offline Rover1822

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
    • Mini Wind and Solar Data project
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #32 on: August 07, 2021, 04:52:54 PM »
I altered my previous post. I don't know what router you are using, I don't know the setup , but I do know, I am pushing a hell of  lot more data , based on your responses, and dealing with a lot more more interference than you are.

But in the end, who cares? So a simple reposition of the unit solved the issue

I have 3 GW1000s and the GW1100 within 10' of each other

One of those things, if it solves it, why pursue the issue anymore :)

(Unless you are just slap happy curious like me)

- Rover



Ambient:WS-2000,PM 2.5 x2,WH31B x2,WH40E,WH31P
EcoWitt: GW1100,GW1000 x4,WH31 x2,WH57,WH51 x12, WH40,WH5360B,WN34S,WittBoy
Web Sites: WU, Ambient Weather , Ecowitt.net , Ecowitt.net (TEST)
Personal Sites: Weather Cam

Offline WA4OPQ

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 312
  • 4 stations: 2902 array, GW1000, 3 on Meteobridge
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #33 on: August 07, 2021, 04:53:51 PM »
I think what happened is that I had created the perfect RF storm. My pi is a Zero W, it sells for $10 so it doesn't have the world's greatest WiFi chipset, and it has a wonky WiFi antenna. But it works. Then along comes the GW-1100 with a signal 30dB stronger. On a linear scale that 1000 times as strong. The poor little pi just gave up.

Now my situation with my router so far away and having a pi with a weak WiFi chipset is unusual. 95% of the users will never see it.   But if the 5% of the users don't know what is going on it could become a PR nightmare for Ecowitt.

If Ecowitt needs any justification to update the firmware to have the AP shut off after setup, I think this is it.

Offline Rover1822

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
    • Mini Wind and Solar Data project
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #34 on: August 07, 2021, 04:59:42 PM »
As I don't have a Pi, and you look at the cost of the unit, really can't fault them, nor can you fault the people that designed the GW1100. Now I have other issues with that unit, biggest being that once configured there is no use for the AP side of the unit.

But look at it this way, you got your stuff to work.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2021, 05:11:30 PM by Rover1822 »
Ambient:WS-2000,PM 2.5 x2,WH31B x2,WH40E,WH31P
EcoWitt: GW1100,GW1000 x4,WH31 x2,WH57,WH51 x12, WH40,WH5360B,WN34S,WittBoy
Web Sites: WU, Ambient Weather , Ecowitt.net , Ecowitt.net (TEST)
Personal Sites: Weather Cam

Offline Rover1822

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
    • Mini Wind and Solar Data project
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #35 on: August 07, 2021, 05:22:35 PM »
I agree WA4OPQ, I mean what is the purpose of having a set up mode if it doesn't do anything and doesn't go away?

Ambient:WS-2000,PM 2.5 x2,WH31B x2,WH40E,WH31P
EcoWitt: GW1100,GW1000 x4,WH31 x2,WH57,WH51 x12, WH40,WH5360B,WN34S,WittBoy
Web Sites: WU, Ambient Weather , Ecowitt.net , Ecowitt.net (TEST)
Personal Sites: Weather Cam

Offline Rover1822

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
    • Mini Wind and Solar Data project
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #36 on: August 07, 2021, 05:24:36 PM »
Now, there might be some benefit to the direct access AP point that I am not aware of. But if there is, there are far better ways to accomplish whatever is needed than an open AP.

I have a GW1000 in my office server room with some sensors, as it was a cheap way to get that info and send alarms. There is no chance I would slap the gw1100 in its place. Sure, maybe nothing, but that is in an office building with a bunch of other offices, and a lot with public spaces. Why would I place anything in that spot with an AP that wasn't needed. I'm sure, based on the clientele of the building, there would be some that would try access, ok not get them anywhere, but why have it there in the first place.

 
« Last Edit: August 07, 2021, 05:31:07 PM by Rover1822 »
Ambient:WS-2000,PM 2.5 x2,WH31B x2,WH40E,WH31P
EcoWitt: GW1100,GW1000 x4,WH31 x2,WH57,WH51 x12, WH40,WH5360B,WN34S,WittBoy
Web Sites: WU, Ambient Weather , Ecowitt.net , Ecowitt.net (TEST)
Personal Sites: Weather Cam

Offline WA4OPQ

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 312
  • 4 stations: 2902 array, GW1000, 3 on Meteobridge
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #37 on: August 07, 2021, 05:41:07 PM »
Yes, moving the GW1100 ten feet away, out of my office solved the problem today.

But my real reason for getting two GW1100s is for my two remote stations, one is ten miles and one is twenty miles away. I can remotely access the pi at those locations and through the pi I can access the GW1100. At both of these locations the GW1000 is one foot away from the pi. If the GW1100 didn't have the persistent AP I could just add it right there.  Instead I have to find another location, at least 10 feet away for the GW1100. And explain to the building owners why I'm grabbing another electrical outlet.

I can make it work, but it could be so much easier. A firmware update could make me extremely happy.

Offline WA4OPQ

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 312
  • 4 stations: 2902 array, GW1000, 3 on Meteobridge
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #38 on: August 10, 2021, 10:42:57 AM »
I have good news this morning.
I sent my concerns to Ecowitt support, along with my nifty WiFi spectrum analyzer display. I also gave the link to this thread.
Today I received an email from Ecowitt engineering; they have developed a solution that turns the AP hotspot off after connecting and/or 10 minutes. I am quite impressed with their attention to customer concerns and their timely solution.
So now I (patiently) wait for a firmware update to be pushed out.

Offline Rover1822

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
    • Mini Wind and Solar Data project
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #39 on: August 10, 2021, 10:49:38 AM »
very cool
Ambient:WS-2000,PM 2.5 x2,WH31B x2,WH40E,WH31P
EcoWitt: GW1100,GW1000 x4,WH31 x2,WH57,WH51 x12, WH40,WH5360B,WN34S,WittBoy
Web Sites: WU, Ambient Weather , Ecowitt.net , Ecowitt.net (TEST)
Personal Sites: Weather Cam

Offline WA4OPQ

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 312
  • 4 stations: 2902 array, GW1000, 3 on Meteobridge
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #40 on: September 01, 2021, 02:27:59 AM »
So now I (patiently) wait for a firmware update to be pushed out.

I have emailed Ecowitt to find out when this will be pushed out. I'll let y'all know what they say.

Online olicat

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 851
  • GWxx00, HP2551C, HP3501C, WN1900C & FOSHKplugin
    • FOSHKplugin
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #41 on: September 01, 2021, 02:35:31 AM »
Hi!

Quote
I have emailed Ecowitt to find out when this will be pushed out.
Just install the new firmware version v2.0.3 from the web interface of the GW1100. Go to Device Settings, press the Check new version button and install afterwards.
WS View and WSView Plus don't see the new version yet.

This new version exits the AP mode after 5 minutes if the device has been configured.

Regards, Oliver

Offline WA4OPQ

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 312
  • 4 stations: 2902 array, GW1000, 3 on Meteobridge
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #42 on: September 01, 2021, 03:05:07 AM »
THANK YOU !!!
I was incorrectly using the android app.
Now I'm (patiently) waiting five minutes.

Offline Rover1822

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1051
    • Mini Wind and Solar Data project
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #43 on: September 01, 2021, 08:14:29 AM »
Quote
Just install the new firmware version v2.0.3 from the web interface of the GW1100. Go to Device Settings, press the Check new version button and install afterwards.

The Check new version button did not appear on mine (GW1100B_V2.0.1). Selecting the automatic firmware update and saving did work.
After the update, reboot, the button did appear.

« Last Edit: September 01, 2021, 08:16:26 AM by Rover1822 »
Ambient:WS-2000,PM 2.5 x2,WH31B x2,WH40E,WH31P
EcoWitt: GW1100,GW1000 x4,WH31 x2,WH57,WH51 x12, WH40,WH5360B,WN34S,WittBoy
Web Sites: WU, Ambient Weather , Ecowitt.net , Ecowitt.net (TEST)
Personal Sites: Weather Cam

Offline Gyvate

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1529
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #44 on: September 01, 2021, 08:28:15 AM »
Not sure if this has already been mentioned elsewhere - the GW1100 firmware 2.0.2 and the new 2.0.3 have a bug in counting the  monthly rainfall: it fails to reset the monthly counter to zero.
Froggit WH4000SE (=EW 2320E) 1.6.4/GW1100 2.1.4/Froggit DP1500 1.6.8 (+EW GW1000 (4) 1.6.8/7.2 test/backup)/HP1000SE Pro (HP2551) 1.6.4/1.7.8, WH2650 WiFi (2) 1.7.2,GW2000 2.1.4;
Ecowitt WS90-,WS80,WH40,WH65,WH31(5),WH31-EP(1),WN30/DP30 (1),WH32(1),WH32-EP(1),WH32B [T/H/P] (1), WH57 [Lightning] (1), WH41 [PM2.5] (2), WH51 [SoilMoisture] (5), WH45, WH55 (2)
MeteobridgePro(2)[test,prod 5.4 May 07 2022, 14745 - Blake-Larsen Sun Recorder - RPi4/weewx 4.5.1/CumulusMX 3183/MB RPi4(2671)
Barani Meteoshield Pro, MetSpec Rad02
Ecowitt 5763,34418;WU ISAARB3(WH4000SE), ISAARB22(HP2553), http://meshka.eu

Offline Platokidd

  • top side land of Lincoln
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 386
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #45 on: September 01, 2021, 08:42:42 AM »
Not sure if this has already been mentioned elsewhere - the GW1100 firmware 2.0.2 and the new 2.0.3 have a bug in counting the  monthly rainfall: it fails to reset the monthly counter to zero.

Monthly rain reset to 0 okay on my end.
CWOP:FW5295 | :FW6969
WU:KILPLATO3 | :KILROCK100| :KILCRYST84

Ambient    
2- WS-2000 2-WS-2902A ARRAYS 1-CONSOLE 2-WH40-RAIN 1-WH31L 1-METEOBRIDGE 2-PM2.5
3-WH-31E 1-SRX100LX 1-WH31SM

ECOWITT
3-HP2552-WH51 9-WH31-2-WH45-1-WH55
2-GW1000 1-GW1100- 4-WH51 1-WH32EP

1-Stratus Rain Gauge

Offline WA4OPQ

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 312
  • 4 stations: 2902 array, GW1000, 3 on Meteobridge
Re: GW1100 Some notes
« Reply #46 on: September 03, 2021, 09:55:21 PM »

Now that I have the GW1100 working correctly I've installed at it one of my remote sites, about 10 miles away. I can log in remotely to my pi with VNC and use it's browser to log into the GW1100.  I can adjust calibrations or re-register a sensor without leaving my comfy chair.

 

anything