Author Topic: Uploading data to Windy from Ecowitt HP2551  (Read 1612 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline waz7710

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Uploading data to Windy from Ecowitt HP2551
« on: September 22, 2020, 02:16:14 AM »
Hey all

Anyone have an idea how to upload data from my station to windy? I have an Ecowitt HP2551 and it has got an option for custom but I really have no idea how to do it.

Cheers
W

Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der kuil
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1967
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: Uploading data to Windy from Ecowitt HP2551
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2020, 02:54:53 AM »
Hey all

Anyone have an idea how to upload data from my station to windy? I have an Ecowitt HP2551 and it has got an option for custom but I really have no idea how to do it.

Cheers
W

First: Welcome on this forum  [tup]

This link  is in German but the product is widely used
https://www.loxwiki.eu/display/LOXBERRY/FOSHKplugin
and supported very well on this forum.
https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=39625.0

It receives the data from the "custom upload" and can upload that data to 10 other places.
To Windy Awekas and others. But also to use the data with your own website.

Succes

Wim

P.S. Your station-brand has its own discussion area https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?board=111.0
Posting there will make get you more readers and faster answers.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2020, 02:59:49 AM by wvdkuil »

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6822
Re: Uploading data to Windy from Ecowitt HP2551
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2020, 06:08:40 AM »
The "Customized" server upload feature only sends data in WU or in Ecowitt protocol formats. Neither of those works for Windy. But as Wim has pointed out you can use another software to capture this data and then send it to Windy in the proper method for that service. There are other options like WeeWX that can also do this. You could also add a GW1000 and then run yet other software like Cumulus MX, Meteobridge and Weather-Display. All of these different software do much more than just give you ability to upload to Windy.
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge on Raspberry Pi
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline waz7710

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Uploading data to Windy from Ecowitt HP2551
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2020, 07:52:52 PM »
Thanks guys for the info, really appreciate it!!

Offline marcosimonetti

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Uploading data to Windy from Ecowitt HP2551
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2023, 09:25:32 AM »
Hey all
I need help with this problem...
I would like to connect my new Ecowitt 2564 weather station to Windy but unfortunately the ecowitt software does not allow it natively. I think there are two ways:
1) I could use CumulusMX on which I inserted the Windy API but unfortunately I was not able to connect my weather station natively. Is there any third party software that can help me?
2) I have a long JSON list that I get with a get request: {"code":0,"msg":"success","time":"1678199191","data":{"outdoor":{"temperature":{"time":"1678199160","unit": "F","value":"59.4"},"feels_like":{"time":"1678199160","unit":"F","value":"59.4"},"app_temp":{"time ":"1678199160","unit":"F","value":"45.9"},"dew_point":{"time":"1678199160","unit":"F","value":"41.3 "},"humidity":
etc. etc. etc.
there is a script or a web application that can receive this array and send, every 5 minutes, on Windy's "get upload" url (https://api.ecowitt.net/api/v3/device/real_time?application_key=MyAPI&p1=XXX&p2 =YYY&....etc)?
can you help me?
Thank you

Offline mcrossley

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1064
    • Wilmslow Astro
Re: Uploading data to Windy from Ecowitt HP2551
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2023, 10:07:53 AM »
1) I could use CumulusMX on which I inserted the Windy API but unfortunately I was not able to connect my weather station natively.

Do you mean Cumulus MX could not preform the upload?
Were you running CMX on a raspberry Pi? - there is a known issue with the certificates in the Rasberry Pi OS that prevents uploads to Windy, see this support thread (there are other similar ones)
Mark

Offline marcosimonetti

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Uploading data to Windy from Ecowitt HP2551
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2023, 10:15:37 AM »
No, I can't upload weather station data to Cumulus... I use it on W10 (I saw the post you sent me... thanks! but since Apr22 it hasn't been fixed?)
in fact, I was wondering if there is a third-party SW to make Cumulus work with HP2564
surely it would be much more convenient if there was an online service that did this job every 5 minutes:
receive Json --> select data --> create Upload request to Windy
thanks
« Last Edit: March 08, 2023, 10:20:31 AM by marcosimonetti »

Offline marcosimonetti

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Uploading data to Windy from Ecowitt HP2551
« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2023, 10:39:06 AM »
on cumulus I tried the configurations:
- HTTP (Ecowitt)
- Ecowitt Local API
but they don't work... is the gateway needed?

Offline mcrossley

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1064
    • Wilmslow Astro
Re: Uploading data to Windy from Ecowitt HP2551
« Reply #8 on: March 09, 2023, 08:16:52 AM »
The 2551 has to be configured as "HTTP (Ecowitt)"

You also need to configure the custom server on your console. The config page gives you the settings.
Mark