Author Topic: L2K and windows 10  (Read 980 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline n3tzd

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
L2K and windows 10
« on: July 22, 2020, 07:29:28 PM »
Up until recently L2K has worked fine on windows 10.
Now I have a problem.
When I start L2K the splash screen comes up, you hear the thunder, then it closes to a small window in the upper left of my screen.
I have tried everything I could think of but no luck. Hope someone can help.
Attached is a screen shot of the window.
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

Edit: Image sanitized by galfert
« Last Edit: July 23, 2020, 10:17:31 AM by galfert »

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5751
Re: L2K and windows 10
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2020, 10:27:09 AM »
Do none of the resize mouse-over arrows show up on the sides or corner?

(double resize arrows exaggerated for effect below)
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
« Last Edit: July 23, 2020, 10:30:31 AM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5751
Re: L2K and windows 10
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2020, 10:36:01 AM »
If that does not work then click on the small L2K application window to make it active then press ALT + SPACEBAR simultaneously on your keyboard and then let go. Press the letter "S" on your keyboard and then release. Now, press the arrow keys on your keyboard. Using arrow keys (Up, down, left, right) should resize the app. Press the "Enter" key when done.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2020, 04:43:45 PM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline n3tzd

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: L2K and windows 10
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2020, 03:06:21 PM »
galfert
I can resize the window by mouseover but it springs back to the original size when I release the mouse button. ](*,)
I could not get the alt+spacebar, s to do anything.
Appreciate your help.

Offline waiukuweather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 912
Re: L2K and windows 10
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2020, 03:50:04 PM »
what about the middle windows button..along the top..i.e to the right of the close button

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5751
Re: L2K and windows 10
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2020, 04:50:39 PM »
Yes, Brian is right. First click on the middle button....then attempt the resizing.

Resizing won't work if the application is in full screen mode....and it currently shows to be in full screen even though it really isn't in full screen. What I'm saying is that because the middle button shows the double overlapping squares it means that it is in full screen mode (at least it thinks it is). The application needs to be in "windowed" mode before you can resize...and that requires that middle button to show one square.

Application in full screen mode (resizing not possible):
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

Application in "windowed" mode:
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

Clicking on that middle square icon will alternate between full screen and windowed mode.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2020, 04:54:04 PM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline n3tzd

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: L2K and windows 10
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2020, 06:32:20 PM »
First off thanks to those trying to help me.
I got the alt+spacebar, s to work and resized the window.
However when I press the enter key it springs back to the small window in the upper left corner.
 ](*,)

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5751
Re: L2K and windows 10
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2020, 07:56:48 PM »
Once resized, instead of Enter key try moving the mouse and then clicking mouse button. Or try ESC key instead of Enter key.
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline n3tzd

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: L2K and windows 10
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2020, 10:18:07 AM »
This is what the screen looks like after resizing.
Any attempt to move the mouse causes the screen to change size.
Pressing mouse button causes screen to spring back to upper left corner.
Pressing ESC causes the screen to spring back to the upper left corner.
I have tried many combinations of key presses always with the same result.
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5751
Re: L2K and windows 10
« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2020, 11:15:23 AM »
I'm not totally familiar about Lightning/2000 but I thought it was not compatible with newer operating systems. What Windows version are you running?

I would backup the data and uninstall the application if you have the original installer. What version of Lightning/2000 are you running? I believe the latest version after being discontinued was 6.7.2 but I'm not certain.

I'm not an expert on this. I think hopefully someone else might give you better advice that runs this application. But this is one approach (after trying out all else) I would (backup/uninstall/reinstall/restore data) as a standard IT troubleshooting into an unknown issue as this.

Another thing to try first before the backup/uninstall/reinstall is to restore your computer's theme to default and also display zoom to 100%. Often applications break if you change font size, icon size, and other windowing control.

But first things first...you did restart the computer right? That is always #1 no matter what.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2020, 11:44:48 AM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline n3tzd

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: L2K and windows 10
« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2020, 11:37:53 AM »
It was working fine under Windows 10 for quite a while.
Unfortunately I cannot find my original install disc to try a reinstall.
Yes I tried restarting Windows.
I a running version 6.6.5.

Offline waiukuweather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 912
Re: L2K and windows 10
« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2020, 04:24:50 PM »
sadly the author of the software has passed away
but maybe there is a settings file that contains the screen size, width/height etc that can be reset

Offline the beteljuice

  • the beteljuice
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 251
    • test site
Re: L2K and windows 10
« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2020, 06:20:09 PM »
... but there doesn't seem to be any content ???

Possibly M$ has done their normal friendly thing and updated / removed a driver or a .dll you were using.
Check out your 'devices' and see if everything is intact.
Imagine what you will KNOW tomorrow !

Offline ConligWX

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 687
  • #conligwx
    • conligwx.org
Re: L2K and windows 10
« Reply #13 on: July 26, 2020, 03:41:06 AM »
Just a thought. So do a system restore to a known time when it was working.

Sent from my GM1913 using Tapatalk

Regards Simon
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus Daytime FARS WeatherLink Live CumulusMX Saratoga Templates


Offline xmas111

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • http://www.johnsweather.com
Re: L2K and windows 10
« Reply #14 on: August 18, 2020, 05:55:52 AM »
Have you tried under "File" > Load Preferences> then pick a previous saved preference (assuming you've saved previous preferences).
This has bailed me out more than once.

John

Offline jimi

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • Well Road Weather
Re: L2K and windows 10
« Reply #15 on: August 18, 2020, 06:48:43 AM »
Have you tried running it in compatibility mode and selecting an older version of Windows ?
Black is not a colour ! .... Its the absence of colour

Offline n3tzd

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: L2K and windows 10
« Reply #16 on: August 24, 2020, 04:44:47 PM »
 :grin:I fixed it. Don't know what I did but it started working perfectly.
Played around with some settings and it started working. :grin:

Offline jimi

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • Well Road Weather
Re: L2K and windows 10
« Reply #17 on: August 24, 2020, 07:14:21 PM »
Good you got it working, pity you don't know what the problem was (in case it happens again)
Black is not a colour ! .... Its the absence of colour

 

anything