Author Topic: Mounting pole max OD?  (Read 460 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DennisD33

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Mounting pole max OD?
« on: May 20, 2020, 09:07:01 AM »
Question about Ambient Weather 2902B: what is the max OD pole the mounting U-bolts will accept?  A 2-inch Schedule 40 PVC pipe is 2.375 inches OD (2 3/8 inches).  Is this too big?    I bought this unit for my grandson but I want him to be the first to open the box, and I want to give him a complete package, including a pole.  Thanks in advance!

Online galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4679
Re: Mounting pole max OD?
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2020, 10:19:52 AM »
Recommended pole diameter is 1 to 2 inches according to the manual.
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Online galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4679
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline DennisD33

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Mounting pole max OD?
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2020, 10:34:27 AM »
Thanks, Galfert!  I like the galvanized pipe suggestion.  That will have an OD that will fit.  My grandson will be over the moon when he gets this unit!

I sure appreciate it!

Online galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4679
Re: Mounting pole max OD?
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2020, 10:44:01 AM »
The neat part of using the fence top rail pipe is that it is tapered at one end, allowing you to connect more than one section together. For the WS-2902B I recommend a height of about 15 feet. Connect top rails and bury 5 ft or cut it if you have the means. I know Home Depot will cut wood, I don't know if they would do the same for pipe. Then just put some concrete down and you are set. Be sure to use a post level.
https://www.homedepot.com/p/Empire-5-1-4-in-Polycast-Post-Level-720/100124903

You could also just use one section of rail and combine with wood fence post and then some people devise a hinge mechanism to service.

The 15 ft height is ideal for an all-in-one station. Best siting compromise for all sensors. This also allows you to reach for maintenance with an A frame ladder.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2020, 10:46:27 AM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline DennisD33

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Mounting pole max OD?
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2020, 10:57:14 AM »
Yes, thatís another good suggestion I hadnít thought about.  Weíll mount the unit at 15 feet; that will also get it at the proper height/distance ratio from nearby small trees.  And weíll insure that itís dead plumb, too.

Thanks, again, Galpert!  I know my grandson will enjoy this forum, too!

Offline Rover1822

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
    • Mini Wind and Solar Data project
Re: Mounting pole max OD?
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2020, 11:01:16 AM »
Another thing you can use, is just EMT conduit

https://www.homedepot.com/p/1-1-2-in-x-10-ft-Electric-Metallic-Tube-EMT-Conduit-101584/100400412

Granted its only 10' but if mounting to the side of a building , works well



Ambient WS-2000
Ambient PM 2.5 (2)
Ambient WH31B
EcoWitt GW1000 (2)
Ecowitt WH57 Lightning Sensor
Web Sites: WU, Ambient Weather
Personal Sites: Weather Cam , Wind & Solar Power Data

Offline DennisD33

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Mounting pole max OD?
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2020, 11:09:01 AM »
Thanks, Rover!  Thatís another good suggestion.  Iíll check them both out at Home Depot. 

Offline Mulberry Weather Guy

  • Just another old fart.....
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • Mulberry Weather Page

Offline DennisD33

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Mounting pole max OD?
« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2020, 11:19:38 AM »
Yet another great option, Mulberry!  I like the fact that it can swing down for maintenance.  (And at Staples, of all places!)  I might bury a long 4 x 4 post as you have done, and then mount this.

Iíll mull over all these great ideas.  I do appreciate your time and expertise, everyone!

Offline Rover1822

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
    • Mini Wind and Solar Data project
Re: Mounting pole max OD?
« Reply #10 on: May 22, 2020, 11:22:19 AM »
Thanks, Rover!  Thatís another good suggestion.  Iíll check them both out at Home Depot.

If you go with EMT , this EMT coupling
https://www.homedepot.com/p/RACO-EMT-1-1-2-in-Set-Screw-Coupling-20-Pack-2026/203637545



I know you only need one but couldn't find a link. Will fit perfect in the U-bolts , what is nice is that you can square off the attachment to the station u-bolts , then just slide onto your pole and tighten the set screws. The one I have has 4 set screws 2 of which you wont use as the U-bolts will be there

Makes maintenance easier as the U-bolts can shift etc

Basically you are modifying the mount to be static to the pole
Ambient WS-2000
Ambient PM 2.5 (2)
Ambient WH31B
EcoWitt GW1000 (2)
Ecowitt WH57 Lightning Sensor
Web Sites: WU, Ambient Weather
Personal Sites: Weather Cam , Wind & Solar Power Data

Offline DennisD33

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Mounting pole max OD?
« Reply #11 on: May 22, 2020, 11:32:17 AM »
Yes, I like the idea of being able to micro-adjust with the mounting U-bolts using this connector.  Iíll certainly keep this in mind if we go the EMT route.  Thanks, Rover!

Offline Mulberry Weather Guy

  • Just another old fart.....
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • Mulberry Weather Page
Re: Mounting pole max OD?
« Reply #12 on: May 22, 2020, 12:03:12 PM »
Yet another great option, Mulberry!  I like the fact that it can swing down for maintenance.  (And at Staples, of all places!)  I might bury a long 4 x 4 post as you have done, and then mount this.

Iíll mull over all these great ideas.  I do appreciate your time and expertise, everyone!

The post was a light steel tube 3" that was scrap at work. Staples was the cheapest by far on the post. Ans yes it's handy to swing down if needed. Post is anchored on concrete with 3/8 anchors, and won't move a bit. The satellite mount was my only cost, as the rest was scrap/extras from work.