Author Topic: Uploading to PWS Weather  (Read 507 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Vette-kid

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Uploading to PWS Weather
« on: May 01, 2020, 02:54:12 PM »
In search of a better mouse trap and trying pws weather.  I managed to get it to connect briefly, but it will not connect now.  I've crossed out the password/key, otherwise this is exactly what I'm using.  I have tried with and without the http:// as well.

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4677
Re: Uploading to PWS Weather
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2020, 02:58:25 PM »
Change server from pwsweather.com to www.pwsweather.com
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline Vette-kid

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Re: Uploading to PWS Weather
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2020, 03:18:38 PM »
Fairly certain I did that, but I will try it to be sure when I get back to the network.  (Taking a pool break!)

Offline Vette-kid

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Re: Uploading to PWS Weather
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2020, 06:03:02 PM »
Still no luck

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4677
Re: Uploading to PWS Weather
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2020, 06:17:50 PM »
I'm sure you have seen this post. Everything you have seems about right.
https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=38500.0

Things to try to see if it makes a difference...

- make sure that there are no spaces before after station ID and password.
- check for caps lock when entering password
- After saving settings, power cycle your console
- make sure your slashes are going in the right direction
- try station ID in lower case
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline Vette-kid

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Re: Uploading to PWS Weather
« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2020, 08:39:51 PM »
What is the default path that shows in custom view if you make no changes in wsview? 

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4677
Re: Uploading to PWS Weather
« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2020, 11:24:10 PM »
I think the default is just empty. That isn't going to be of much help.

Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Online ConligWX

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 492
  • #conligwx
    • conligwx.org
Re: Uploading to PWS Weather
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2020, 06:26:58 AM »
the URL is correct http://www.pwsweather.com/pwsupdate/pwsupdate.php

try a different time. PWS maybe blocking you if you send too many times in a certain time frame.

try 600 or 900 seconds
Regards Simon


Offline Vette-kid

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
Re: Uploading to PWS Weather
« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2020, 11:20:19 AM »
I think the default is just empty. That isn't going to be of much help.

I am positive there was something in there when I first opened it.  I initially left or that way and then found the thread on here you linked to and changed it.  I'm wondering if it actually worked in that brief period (there was data briefly) and me changing it screwed it up.  I know that doesn't make a lot of sense, but when the sensual didn't work, sometimes you gotta try the nonsensical!

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4677
Re: Uploading to PWS Weather
« Reply #9 on: May 03, 2020, 05:32:01 PM »
I set up a test station with PWSweather and it isn't working. I've tried numerous variations and it still doesn't work. I do know that special characters for the password does not work, but my password uses just Upper, Lower, and numbers and is not long but also not super short and it still doesn't work.

Besides path of /pwsupdate/pwsupdate.php you can also use:
Path = /weatherstation/updateweatherstation.php?

I also believe you can have the ? in there or not after the .php for the path.
Also the server path works with and without the www.

But now nothing works.

Upload interval of 60 should be permissible with PWSweather. So a 300 sec (5 minutes) upload interval is reasonable and that is not the issue.

Something must have changed with firmware 1.5.8

I recommend reporting to Ecowitt as a possible bug report.
« Last Edit: May 03, 2020, 05:34:18 PM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4677
Re: Uploading to PWS Weather
« Reply #10 on: May 23, 2020, 02:34:28 PM »
I am finally able to upload to PWSweather using my GW1000 with the new firmware released today version 1.5.9.

Here are the settings that I have working:

Protocol type: WU

Server: www.pwsweather.com
Path: /pwsupdate/pwsupdate.php?

Station ID: your ID
Station Key: your PWSweather password

Port: 80
Upload Interval: 60 seconds or greater

This new GW1000 firmware indicates (in the release notes) that some DNS related changes were made to the Weather Underground protocol.
« Last Edit: May 23, 2020, 06:38:20 PM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4677
Re: Uploading to PWS Weather
« Reply #11 on: May 23, 2020, 06:38:45 PM »
Oops typo. I've corrected above post.
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4677
Re: Uploading to PWS Weather
« Reply #12 on: May 23, 2020, 06:49:29 PM »
Either of these server addresses works:
pwsweather.com
www.pwsweather.com

Either of these paths works:
/pwsupdate/pwsupdate.php?
/weatherstation/updateweatherstation.php?

And yes you need the question mark.
« Last Edit: May 23, 2020, 06:51:12 PM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

 

anything