Author Topic: Which station?  (Read 780 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Solskin

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Which station?
« on: February 02, 2020, 05:55:14 PM »
Iíve owned a Davis Venture Vue for about 7 years and a few weeks ago, the external humidity sensor started playing up. After a few attempts at repair, it is obvious it will never work again and a replacement ISS is too expensive.
Anyway, I started looking for a non Davis replacement ( in the UK and France ) and have whittled my choice down to one of two Froggit units. A WH6000  or HP1000SE PRO ( latest version with Y shaped sensor array)
So, my question is, which is the best value? Both seem to be very similar. What do I need to know about them to sway my choice?

Initially, I wanted a weather station that would just replace my Davis, but uploading data to Ecowitt.net and WOW seems fun.

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3941
Re: Which station?
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2020, 06:00:25 PM »
HP1000SE Pro for sure. It is made by Fine Offset and will upload to Ecowitt.net.

The WH6000 is a different animal and is made by a different company. Not a popular choice.
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline Solskin

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Which station?
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2020, 06:11:01 PM »
Thanks, thatís confirmed my initial choice.
I also noticed Froggit sell a DP1500 which appears to be similar to the GW1000. Is it worthwhile adding one of these to the HP1000SE, bearing in mind the HP1000 already was Wi-fi connectivity?

Offline waiukuweather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 847
Re: Which station?
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2020, 06:21:21 PM »
all weather stations have problems with the humidity sensor over time
you can just replace the temp/hum sensor in your weather station

Offline CW2274

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5156
    • Conditions @ CW2274 West Tucson-Painted Hills Ranch
Re: Which station?
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2020, 06:23:44 PM »
you can just replace the temp/hum sensor in your weather station
Unlike the VP2, doing that with a Vue is like pulling teeth.

Offline CW2274

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5156
    • Conditions @ CW2274 West Tucson-Painted Hills Ranch
Re: Which station?
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2020, 06:59:17 PM »
Anyway, I started looking for a non Davis replacement
If you're unaware, going with something other than Davis will be a downgrade. Remember that 2+ second wind update with your Vue? That now becomes 16 seconds, frankly an eternity with something as dynamic as wind AFAIC. That's just one...

Offline Solskin

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Which station?
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2020, 02:35:39 AM »
I did take the Davis ISS apart and had a good look at the sensor. It appeared to have a few cracks in the rubber covering so I took it off, found breaks in the wiring insulation and sealed all that. It worked again for two days, then went back to displaying 1%. The sensors canít be replaced individually, so it means a new array. Knowing my luck, as soon as I get a new sensor array, the display will pack up!
I didnít realise the Froggit stations had a 16 second update time, Iíll have to have a good think about that to see if it would bother me, Iím afraid as much as I would like a VP2, itís a little out of my price range at the moment.
I suppose I could get a new Froggit station and keep the Davis running with its superior wind display!

Offline CW2274

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5156
    • Conditions @ CW2274 West Tucson-Painted Hills Ranch
Re: Which station?
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2020, 03:07:23 AM »
I suppose I could get a new Froggit station and keep the Davis running with its superior wind display!
I suggest save now, benefit later.

Offline waiukuweather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 847
Re: Which station?
« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2020, 03:18:20 AM »
ops, I missed that it was a Vue station

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3941
Re: Which station?
« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2020, 05:29:28 AM »
If you get the Ecowitt ultrasonic anemometer then it will update every 4.8 seconds.

https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=37700.msg395108#msg395108
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline Solskin

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Which station?
« Reply #10 on: February 10, 2020, 02:58:04 AM »
After a couple failed attempts to buy a used VP2 setup, I have decided that I will keep my Vantage Vue with faulty humidity sensor and supplement it with a Froggit HP1000se.
I understand the Froggit kit will upload to various weather servers, but I have seen the Froggit DP1500 dongle too and wondered what this can do that the weather station canít?


Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3941
Re: Which station?
« Reply #11 on: February 10, 2020, 06:49:59 AM »
The Froggit DP1500 is the same as the Ecowitt GW1000. The benefit to adding this to your station is the added capability to interface with 3rd party weather software (Cumulus MX, Meteobridge, and Weather-Display) that will allow you to send your data to more places.
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3941
Re: Which station?
« Reply #12 on: February 10, 2020, 11:47:28 AM »
Another benefit of the DP1500 or GW1000 is that you can have a less expensive weather station if you don't need a display and you only need to upload to Ecowitt.net, WU, WeatherCloud, MetOffice WOW...etc. (same places the display console can upload to). Basically the only technical difference besides not having a display is that only the DP1500 / GW1000 also have the local network API that some 3rd party weather software support. So you can run a DP1500 / GW1000 without 3rd party software if you only need to upload to the same places that the display console is capable of.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2020, 12:36:05 PM by galfert »
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline Solskin

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Which station?
« Reply #13 on: February 11, 2020, 04:29:54 PM »
Anyway, I started looking for a non Davis replacement
If you're unaware, going with something other than Davis will be a downgrade. Remember that 2+ second wind update with your Vue? That now becomes 16 seconds, frankly an eternity with something as dynamic as wind AFAIC. That's just one...
So, my original idea was to buy a new FO clone weather station, but your comments got me thinking ( and worried)
I almost bought a used Vantage Pro2, but it was a nightmare getting info from the seller, so I pulled out.
Then I started looking for a new ISS for my Vue, but while searching I came across a Davis reseller in Holland who had lots of spares, including a new set of sensors for my ISS, at less than half the price of a new ISS, so I just ordered one.
Maybe Iíll save up for a new VP2 in the future, but, for now, Iíll enjoy my 2 second wind updates!


Offline CW2274

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5156
    • Conditions @ CW2274 West Tucson-Painted Hills Ranch
Re: Which station?
« Reply #14 on: February 11, 2020, 04:36:57 PM »
Like I said above, replacing the Vue sensor is no easy task. GL.

Offline Solskin

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Which station?
« Reply #15 on: February 11, 2020, 04:48:38 PM »
Luckily, the kit I am buying includes all the electronics and sensors in a pre wired unit. 6 screws and the whole lot comes out and the new kit is just as easy to fit.

Offline CW2274

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5156
    • Conditions @ CW2274 West Tucson-Painted Hills Ranch
Re: Which station?
« Reply #16 on: February 11, 2020, 04:50:40 PM »
Excellent. Hopefully it'll be an easy swap.

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3941
Re: Which station?
« Reply #17 on: February 11, 2020, 08:16:05 PM »
Sounds like you got a Vue ISS SIM replacement which is a discontinued item. Good on you for finding one at a good price.

Here is the US version which was $165.55 before being discontinued.
https://www.scaledinstruments.com/shop/davis-instruments/parts/vantage-vue-parts/davis-7345-916-vantage-vue-iss-sim-usa-version/
« Last Edit: February 17, 2020, 07:34:22 AM by galfert »
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline Solskin

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Which station?
« Reply #18 on: February 12, 2020, 02:12:20 AM »
Thatís the one, but obviously mine is the U.K./EU version, and, unusually, it was cheaper than the US version! 
Should be here in a couple of days.

Offline Solskin

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Which station?
« Reply #19 on: February 17, 2020, 06:25:37 AM »
My new Vantage Vue ISS sim unit arrived today from Holland. All fitted and working perfectly again.
If anyone is looking for similar parts, I can give you the address of the retailer. Obviously, they sell just EU UK OV Davis products.

 

anything