Author Topic: Data is not showing up on CWOP- need help  (Read 581 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline fkapp

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Data is not showing up on CWOP- need help
« on: January 03, 2020, 12:18:37 PM »
Hi,
Need some help with what is needed to get my station data to showup on CWOP.

My CWOP id is: FW6381

I see data on findu for my station since I started sending data on 1/1/20 evening.

I sent an email to cwop-support@noaa.gov on 1/1 evening confirming that my location is correct on findu.
Checked on CWOP site this AM and still show as an inactive station so wondering what else I need to do?
Any ideas?

Thanks
Frank
« Last Edit: January 03, 2020, 07:31:42 PM by fkapp »

Offline fkapp

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: Data is not showing up on CWOP- need help
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2020, 07:32:49 PM »
I just checked this evening on CWOP http://www.wxqa.com/states/NY.html
My station is now in the list but when click on the link:
https://weather.gladstonefamily.net/site/F6381

It says that Site F6381 not found.

My CWOP ID is FW6381, so not sure why the link says F6381?
Do i need to register at this gladstonefamily.net site too?

Very confusing process here guys
« Last Edit: January 03, 2020, 08:36:54 PM by fkapp »

Online galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4679
Re: Data is not showing up on CWOP- need help
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2020, 09:00:21 PM »
You just have to wait now. The database is only updated once a week on Wednesdays.
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline iamdrumming

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • CWOP: FW7380
Re: Data is not showing up on CWOP- need help
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2020, 01:09:19 PM »
Sorry if this is covered somewhere else!
I'm trying to get my weather station on CWOP.
I see my data on these links:
http://www.findu.com/cgi-bin/find.cgi?call=FW7380
http://www.findu.com/cgi-bin/wx.cgi?call=FW7380
I sent an email to cwop-support@noaa.gov requesting registration.
I haven't heard anything yet..
Do I just wait?
Am I doing this right?
Did I miss a step?

Thanks!
Rob
WU: KNHCHEST16
CWOP: FW7380

Online galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4679
Re: Data is not showing up on CWOP- need help
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2020, 02:47:31 PM »
Looks like your data is posting. That is a good sign for a first step.

Before you confirm your registration you need to make sure your location is correct. I'm seeing your data and you have not entered a precise enough Latitude and Longitude.

If you have already confirmed your position (with the wrong location) that is okay as it can be corrected.

First what is your actual location? You can give it to me in Decimal degrees or Degrees Minutes Seconds, whichever you prefer.
Secondly what method are you using to upload to CWOP? Looks to me like Cumulus 1 or MX but I'm not sure.
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline iamdrumming

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • CWOP: FW7380
Re: Data is not showing up on CWOP- need help
« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2020, 03:09:39 PM »
Hi..
The location is correct.
When I look at the map, its showing in the correct location also.
Location is: 42.93 °N, 71.24 °W (is this what you were asking for?)
I am using a Davis Vantage VUE Weather Station and uploading with WeatherLink software via a USB port attached to a computer.

Thanks,
Rob
WU: KNHCHEST16
CWOP: FW7380

Offline iamdrumming

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • CWOP: FW7380
Re: Data is not showing up on CWOP- need help
« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2020, 03:52:48 PM »
Actually, looking a little closer at the map, the location is not quite right.
I'm going to adjust the console to reflect what my latitude/longitude shows in my iPhone.
WU: KNHCHEST16
CWOP: FW7380

Online galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4679
Re: Data is not showing up on CWOP- need help
« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2020, 03:52:55 PM »
Hi..
The location is correct.
When I look at the map, its showing in the correct location also.
I didn't say it wasn't correct. I just said it wasn't precise enough. You are missing seconds or decimal minutes...as it currently is zero for both Latitude and Longitude. Sure it wouldn't be impossible for the seconds to be zero, but less likely that they would be zero for both Latitude and longitude...it is just a less likely situation, that and I've seen lots of people just forget or not understand how to get the higher precision entered for their CWOP upload.

Quote
Location is: 42.93 °N, 71.24 °W (is this what you were asking for?)
It seems you have only done a partial conversion. For that Decimal Latitude and Longitude the correct conversion that you should be using is:
Latitude: 42 Degrees 55.8 Minutes or 42°55'48" N (as opposed to 42 Degrees 54 Minutes that you currently have with no seconds)
Longitude: -71 Degrees 14.4 Minutes or 71°14'24" W (as opposed to 71 Degrees 12 Minutes that you currently have with no seconds)

Here is your raw APRS packet:
FW7380>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-1:@010613z4254.00N/07112.00W_090/002g006t048r000p013P000h93b10137.DsVP

Notice how between z and W is your location and it both Lat and Lon end in .00 and that is how I see that your seconds are missing.

But don't even use those location numbers as I believe Weatherlink PC software asks for Degree Minutes and Seconds and there is more work to be done. I think you should go to Google Maps and click on your back yard where your station is and get a more precise location with more decimals. Expand it out further than 42.93, -71.24 to get more precision. I would say take it out to 5 decimal places. Then use the below website to then convert Decimal Degrees to DM.m. Because right now the location you have given of 42.93, -71.24 is the middle of the road (Jenkins Farm Rd.) and I don't think that is precise enough is what I'm saying.

Google Maps will give you the location in Decimal Degress which you should make a note of because you can then use that when registering other online services that ask for Decimal Degrees. Google Maps will also give you Degrees, Minutes and Seconds which is what you need for Weatherlink PC software I believe. Then CWOP data will show yet a different format which is Degrees Decimal-Minutes (DM.m). I like to use this website to do conversions between the formats:
https://www.directionsmag.com/site/latlong-converter/

Quote
I am using a Davis Vantage VUE Weather Station and uploading with WeatherLink software via a USB port attached to a computer.

Thanks,
Rob
Okay good Weatherlink software.
Here is a good guide that also has a different online converter:
https://www.weather.gov/media/epz/mesonet/CWOP-WxLinkPC.pdf

By the way your barometer is way high. You are 11 mb too high (or about 0.32 inHg too high).
« Last Edit: May 01, 2020, 04:00:35 PM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Online galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4679
Re: Data is not showing up on CWOP- need help
« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2020, 04:16:23 PM »
Is WU station KNHCHEST17 yours? It seems to be an Acurite 5-in-1. Are you just now upgrading from Acurite to Davis? WU data goes back to July 26, 2019.
Because that is at exactly the location that you mentioned before.
« Last Edit: May 01, 2020, 04:18:54 PM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline iamdrumming

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • CWOP: FW7380
Re: Data is not showing up on CWOP- need help
« Reply #9 on: May 01, 2020, 09:31:52 PM »
No, mine is KNHCHEST16
I’m working through your suggestions.. slowly!
Thanks for your help

Rob
WU: KNHCHEST16
CWOP: FW7380

Offline iamdrumming

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • CWOP: FW7380
Re: Data is not showing up on CWOP- need help
« Reply #10 on: May 04, 2020, 02:51:43 PM »
I received a reply from CWOP asking me to register.
Indeed they show me as Latitude: 42.90000, Longitude: -71.20000, Elevation 73.88.
This all needs to be tweaked..
Question: can I still register and then change it later?

Thanks,
Rob
WU: KNHCHEST16
CWOP: FW7380

Online galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4679
Re: Data is not showing up on CWOP- need help
« Reply #11 on: May 04, 2020, 03:19:45 PM »
Yes you fix and update your registration with them at any time. But I would recommend you do it now, as it wills save you from also having to also update MesoWest later if you catch it soon enough.

I recommend you get send them your updated location in decimal degrees with up to 5 or 6 decimal places of precision. Use Google maps and put a marker at your location and the map will show you Lat/Lon for that location. Then write it down. Save it and use it for all other software and online services that you configure to have consistency. Chances are that you will be providing this information in a lot of different places as you expand the use of your weather station.

Don't confirm the registration just yet. First just update your location information. Then enter this location into your software. Then look at your FindU to see if the position is precise enough. Zoom in to this map to confirm location after making software changes to your location:
http://www.findu.com/cgi-bin/find.cgi?call=FW7380
« Last Edit: May 04, 2020, 03:22:58 PM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline iamdrumming

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • CWOP: FW7380
Re: Data is not showing up on CWOP- need help
« Reply #12 on: May 05, 2020, 10:23:13 PM »
OK, I fixed my location and it looks correct now on the map!
I requested registration with CWOP.
Thanks for your help  [tup]
Regarding my barometer setting.. The Davis Vantage VUE I'm using picks this up automatically..
I don't see a way to adjust it.

Rob
 
WU: KNHCHEST16
CWOP: FW7380

Offline Storm017

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
Re: Data is not showing up on CWOP- need help
« Reply #13 on: May 05, 2020, 10:57:39 PM »
Try:

https://www.davisinstruments.com/product_documents/weather/app_notes/AN_30-reporting-weather-data-to-noaa.pdf

and From the user manual:

Calibrating Barometric Pressure
Before calibrating the barometric pressure, be sure the station is set to the correct elevation.
See “Screen 10: Elevation” on page 11 for more information. Find the nearest source of barometric pressure, such as a local airport, to get a current barometric pressure.
1. Press BAR to select barometric pressure.
2. Press and release 2ND, then press and hold SET. The barometric pressure variable blinks.
3. Continue holding SET until the Weather Center reads “SET BAR.”
4. Press the < and > keys to select digits in the variable.
5. Press + and - keys to add to or subtract from the digit’s value.
6. Press DONE to exit calibration



Offline iamdrumming

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • CWOP: FW7380
Re: Data is not showing up on CWOP- need help
« Reply #14 on: May 08, 2020, 08:18:52 AM »
I tweaked the Barometer setting, but it was pretty accurate according to other local weather sources.
I got confirmation that I'm live!
"CWOP APRS ID: F7380 has changed from Inactive to Active"

Thanks again for your help and guidance

Rob
WU: KNHCHEST16
CWOP: FW7380

Offline iamdrumming

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • CWOP: FW7380
Re: Data is not showing up on CWOP- need help
« Reply #15 on: May 08, 2020, 12:59:06 PM »
Looks like my Barometer is still off on findu.com:
http://www.findu.com/cgi-bin/wxpage.cgi?call=FW7380

But, my Weather Station is reporting it correctly to Weather Underground:
https://www.wunderground.com/dashboard/pws/KNHCHEST16

Any idea how to fix this?

Thanks,
Rob

WU: KNHCHEST16
CWOP: FW7380

Offline iamdrumming

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • CWOP: FW7380
Re: Data is not showing up on CWOP- need help
« Reply #16 on: May 08, 2020, 01:05:42 PM »
Oops..
Inches of Mercury to Milibars conversion.
So, it looks like it is correct.
Learning as I go!

Rob
WU: KNHCHEST16
CWOP: FW7380

 

anything