Author Topic: hp2550 wont upgrade firmware  (Read 1037 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chris-s1

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
hp2550 wont upgrade firmware
« on: November 16, 2019, 04:13:04 PM »
hi chaps. i have just got my self an hp2550 living in Scotland this is a misol branded product from china.

i am trying to upgrade the firmware from 1.4.2 to 1.5.4 from the ecowitt website.  i have formatted my sd card and transferd over the user.bin file i turn off the device insert the sd card and restart it but nothing happens.  i have tried reformatting the sd card to both fat32 and ntfs  with no joy.  new to this so any information would be much appreciated

thanks chris

Online galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5087
Re: hp2550 wont upgrade firmware
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2019, 04:34:32 PM »
What type of SD card are you using? Only SDHC will work. SDXC won't work. Also format to FAT32.
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline chris-s1

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: hp2550 wont upgrade firmware
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2019, 04:42:45 PM »
Hi galfert  its SDXC  #-o   thanks for the info i will get one ordered up!


thanks chris

Offline Mandrake

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 675
Re: hp2550 wont upgrade firmware
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2019, 05:53:07 AM »
Make sure the file is named user.bin when you copy it over to the SD card from your PC.
When you insert the card into the HP2550/1 it will automatically reboot and install the firmware. When done the system will start automatically and normal service is resumed.
Its worth leaving the card in the station as it will use this for backups.
After the firmware update is done the console deletes the user.bin file from the SD card if in the future you wonder where its gone!
Retired: Old Maplin N96Y/FO Weather station
G1ZFO

Ecowitt HP2550A + WH65 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO67)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO68)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Mk2) test environment driving CumulusMX on a RPi 3b
Ecowitt WH51 (x4) Soil Moisture Sensor
Ecowitt WH41 PM2.5 AQM Sensor
Ecowitt WH31 (x8) Thermo/Hygro Sensor
Ecowitt WS80 Ultrasonic Anemometer (pre-prod test)
Ecowitt WH57 Lightning Sensor (pre-prod test)

Offline ppmt

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: hp2550 wont upgrade firmware
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2019, 06:32:02 AM »
Brand new member here as well as complettely new to the the weather station world. I was going to ask a question that this post answered.

I have also been given an MISOL HP2550 and was wondering if it was actually the same as the Ecowitt (since they look exactly the same) and how to update i

So thanks a lot

Offline Mandrake

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 675
Re: hp2550 wont upgrade firmware
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2019, 06:43:44 AM »
Brand new member here as well as complettely new to the the weather station world. I was going to ask a question that this post answered.

I have also been given an MISOL HP2550 and was wondering if it was actually the same as the Ecowitt (since they look exactly the same) and how to update i

So thanks a lot

Yes, it is the same. Misol is just a branded HP2550 and can use the stock Ecowitt firmware.
Ecowitt is essentially the prime/lead brand for all Fine Offset weather stations and sensors. There are many other brands that sell the fine offset kit such as Misol, Ambient, Froggit etc.
Some use customised Firmware such as the Ambient so that it locks users into a brand ecosystem but essentially the hardware is all the same. The only thing that you need to worry about is the frequency of the kit you have to ensure that extra sensors or kit work together. In the UK the frequency is normally 868Mhz but could be 433Mhz also.

Welcome to the forum BTW!
« Last Edit: November 18, 2019, 06:47:25 AM by Mandrake »
Retired: Old Maplin N96Y/FO Weather station
G1ZFO

Ecowitt HP2550A + WH65 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO67)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO68)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Mk2) test environment driving CumulusMX on a RPi 3b
Ecowitt WH51 (x4) Soil Moisture Sensor
Ecowitt WH41 PM2.5 AQM Sensor
Ecowitt WH31 (x8) Thermo/Hygro Sensor
Ecowitt WS80 Ultrasonic Anemometer (pre-prod test)
Ecowitt WH57 Lightning Sensor (pre-prod test)

Offline ppmt

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: hp2550 wont upgrade firmware
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2019, 06:47:11 AM »
Thanks for the clarification and the welcome. I suspect I will have many more questions but will create separate posts so as not to hijack this one :)

Offline Mandrake

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 675
Re: hp2550 wont upgrade firmware
« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2019, 04:31:07 AM »
I forgot to mention yesterday that there are two firmware's for the HP2550/1 that you need to be aware of.
The Console firmware that we have already discussed (user.bin) that you update via the SD card and the Wifi Firmware that you must update via the WS-View app.
You need to be on the same WiFi network to perform the wifi firmware update for obvious reasons. The firmware update does not reboot the console and does not impact operation of the console in anyway and happens in the background.
Just selecting the console via its displayed device MAC will tell you if a updated firmware is available.
If it does not and offers to take you to settings then you are on the latest available version.
Retired: Old Maplin N96Y/FO Weather station
G1ZFO

Ecowitt HP2550A + WH65 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO67)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO68)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Mk2) test environment driving CumulusMX on a RPi 3b
Ecowitt WH51 (x4) Soil Moisture Sensor
Ecowitt WH41 PM2.5 AQM Sensor
Ecowitt WH31 (x8) Thermo/Hygro Sensor
Ecowitt WS80 Ultrasonic Anemometer (pre-prod test)
Ecowitt WH57 Lightning Sensor (pre-prod test)

Offline chris-s1

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: hp2550 wont upgrade firmware
« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2019, 06:34:38 AM »
new SD card arrived this morning. All updated thanks for your help mandrake! looking forward to more updates and add-ons for the station!

thanks chris

Offline GeraltLK

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: hp2550 wont upgrade firmware
« Reply #9 on: January 27, 2020, 04:19:17 PM »
Hi everyone

Sorry for rescuing this thread. I just bought this same weather station (Misol HP2550) and I would like to know where to get the latest firmware. Misol website doesn't offer any kind of download and I don't know where to find a suitable firmware.

I have seen the same station with other vendors such as Ambient Weather or Ecowitt, but I don't know if the firmwares they offer are for mine.
In case the data is necessary, the station operates with a wireless frequency of 433Mhz.

Sorry if I made a mistake writing, English is not my mother tongue.  [tup]
Thanks in advanced

Offline ppmt

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: hp2550 wont upgrade firmware
« Reply #10 on: January 27, 2020, 04:51:07 PM »
I got it from the Ecowitt site.

http://www.ecowitt.com/weather_station/70.html

Offline GeraltLK

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: hp2550 wont upgrade firmware
« Reply #11 on: January 27, 2020, 05:11:54 PM »
Does the firmware of the Ecowitt HP2551 work with the Misol HP2550?

Interesting. :grin:

Another doubt. Would there be any possibility to contact ecowitt to collaborate with them and for a future firmware to have Spanish translation?
I have seen that they included German translation.

Offline henry

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: hp2550 wont upgrade firmware
« Reply #12 on: January 27, 2020, 07:28:03 PM »
hi chaps. i have just got my self an hp2550 living in Scotland this is a misol branded product from china.

i am trying to upgrade the firmware from 1.4.2 to 1.5.4 from the ecowitt website.  i have formatted my sd card and transferd over the user.bin file i turn off the device insert the sd card and restart it but nothing happens.  i have tried reformatting try the sd card to both fat32 and ntfs  with no joy.  new to this so any information would be much appreciated

thanks chris

You donít need to turn off console. You just insert the card when console is working normal, and console will start to update and there is a line of info about upgrade. If this is not working, please rename your user.bin to factory.bin. And try again.

 

anything