Author Topic: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?  (Read 3054 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5649
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #25 on: September 08, 2019, 11:52:49 PM »
There's been a small change recently in the behaviour of this (bug?).  If you click the - (zoom out) button on the map, you get only one flag on the resulting display.  Before, it stayed a tarantula.

huh! Interesting. Yep you are right.

This is what WU developers look like:

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline rormeister

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 196
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #26 on: September 09, 2019, 08:36:30 PM »
This is what WU developers look like:

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

LOL...probably the only book they’ve read.  :lol:  But my tests show that, while I can’t confirm the directional pointers, my temp is still an overlay of multiple data points. Clearly, the WUFixers have Left The Building.

Offline WSWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 411
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #27 on: September 10, 2019, 10:40:58 AM »
There's been a small change recently in the behaviour of this (bug?).  If you click the - (zoom out) button on the map, you get only one flag on the resulting display.  Before, it stayed a tarantula.
Mine is still buggy (heh) when zoomed in.  It is also overwriting the temp instead of clearing it beforehand.

Offline Big Sky Weather

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #28 on: September 24, 2019, 06:01:55 PM »
I think WU is getting their programmers/coders from the Fiverr website. You get what you pay for!

Offline awsum140

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 341
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #29 on: September 24, 2019, 06:55:11 PM »
More likely from under an underpass along the freeway.
If it's not a Boerboel it's just a dog.

KNJSOUTH86


Offline Mabcmb

  • My WU page
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #30 on: September 27, 2019, 03:52:29 PM »
Over a month now and this problem still hasn't been fixed  ](*,) ](*,) ](*,)

It seems that at the moment every station I select to view comes up with multiple wind flags on the map display (excepts some stations that report at long intervals, it seems)

I don't know whether its' a feature (showing recent winds so you can see the range of readings) or a bug!

update: I see this is not just me (reported on another thread).

John R.
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5649
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #31 on: September 27, 2019, 04:30:22 PM »
Fixing decimals took over 3 months.
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline rormeister

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 196
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #32 on: September 27, 2019, 08:19:59 PM »
I suspect, based on the lack of activity, that the college kid they have working on it has gone back to school for Fall quarter.

Offline awsum140

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 341
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #33 on: October 12, 2019, 10:53:00 AM »
You know what's really strange about this problem, at least to me?  It seems to cleanly overwrite the readings from all the stations around me.  Mine, on the other hand, seems to have data overlaid for five or six updates and the wind direction is always indicating something other than what shows everywhere else on the dashboard.
If it's not a Boerboel it's just a dog.

KNJSOUTH86


Offline joegr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #34 on: October 14, 2019, 10:55:07 AM »
You know what's really strange about this problem, at least to me?  It seems to cleanly overwrite the readings from all the stations around me.  Mine, on the other hand, seems to have data overlaid for five or six updates and the wind direction is always indicating something other than what shows everywhere else on the dashboard.

Click on one of those nearby stations.  It will now show multiple flags and temperatures, and your station will now be cleanly overwritten. 

Offline WSWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 411
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #35 on: October 14, 2019, 12:47:42 PM »
Click on one of those nearby stations.  It will now show multiple flags and temperatures, and your station will now be cleanly overwritten.

Yeah, it appears that the multiple page loads required to display this hot mess also loads the selected PWS data several times and not from the same data set.  I have also noticed what (finally) is displayed in the dashboard as temp and wind direction doesn't match what is shown on the map.

I've pretty much given up.

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5649
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #36 on: November 21, 2019, 11:38:39 AM »
This issue of multiple wind vanes on the map appears to finally be fixed with today's WU website changes.
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline joegr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #37 on: November 21, 2019, 12:25:33 PM »
I wonder what worse bug will replace it...

Offline rormeister

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 196
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #38 on: November 21, 2019, 12:55:09 PM »
I wonder what worse bug will replace it...

May not be worse, but definitely different.... When my dashboard comes up, my station detail is missing from the bulls-eye. Close but no cigar.
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

Offline Weatheroger

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #39 on: November 23, 2019, 04:14:36 PM »
I have had this occasionally in the past. Usually a reboot of your station and it returns usually in about an hour.

Offline jwreynoldson

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #40 on: January 29, 2020, 04:09:51 PM »
This issue of multiple wind vanes on the map appears to finally be fixed with today's WU website changes.

The bug appears to have resurfaced....

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5649
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #41 on: January 29, 2020, 10:37:28 PM »
This issue of multiple wind vanes on the map appears to finally be fixed with today's WU website changes.

The bug appears to have resurfaced....

Yup 
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline DoctorKnow

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1760
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #42 on: January 30, 2020, 08:32:32 PM »
I just wish they would scrap this new design and get back to the old google map.

Offline rormeister

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 196
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #43 on: January 30, 2020, 10:52:25 PM »
Just sayin’, but having over 40 years in IT, I have never in my life seen anything as pathetic as the “new improved” WonderGround process. I can only guess that someone pushed a ‘new’ update and pulled up a version that was 6 months old. I feel so bad for all the folks who made Wunderground what is ‘was’.