Author Topic: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?  (Read 2921 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jwreynoldson

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« on: August 21, 2019, 02:54:47 AM »
It seems that at the moment every station I select to view comes up with multiple wind flags on the map display (excepts some stations that report at long intervals, it seems)

I don't know whether its' a feature (showing recent winds so you can see the range of readings) or a bug!

update: I see this is not just me (reported on another thread).

John R.
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
« Last Edit: August 21, 2019, 03:02:15 AM by jwreynoldson »

Offline jwreynoldson

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2019, 05:17:25 AM »
If it is a new feature, can I suggest that the historical arrows be grey, leaving the most recent black?  You could even have them a lighter grey the older the reading is.

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3941
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2019, 08:03:03 AM »
It can't be a new feature because it overlaps the temperature also making the temperature unreadable.

I'm tacking this as a bug:
https://trello.com/c/3CDWPok6
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline rormeister

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 184
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2019, 09:58:27 AM »
This new "feature" has been going on for a few days. As noted by @jwreynoldson, grey flags indicating trend (maybe past hour) would be cool, with solid (bold) black for current direction/speed. Limit temp to current and they might have something. I just wish that with crowded station areas, the "selected station" float to the top to be the prominent icon.

Offline awsum140

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2019, 12:59:18 PM »
I'd say get out the RAID!
If it's not a Boerboel it's just a dog.

KNJSOUTH86


Offline rormeister

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 184
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2019, 01:08:15 PM »
I'd say get out the RAID!
Or...take down our vanes and use them as swatters  :lol:

Offline antstrafer

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2019, 02:39:39 PM »
You have heard of a "wind rose"  ?   well this is a wind tarantula   
Davis Vantage Pro2 plus     Meteobridge

CWOP FW5142    PWS THAI817    MADIS F5142
WU KTXTHALI2    AWEKAS           weatherobs

Offline KC9Q

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2019, 07:41:11 PM »
I was discussing this with others in my area today.  It seems to be a feature/bug that started with the IBM Cloud system that WX Underground went to.   :-)


Climate is what we expect.  Weather is what we get.

Offline awsum140

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2019, 12:55:12 PM »
Another new "feature" just popped up.  I just shut down my browser, Opera, and reopened it.  Now the circle is missing, but multiple wind flags are still there for my station.  Temperatures seem to be in a smaller font as well.  Will the "improvements" ever stop?

Update - Apparently it is related to a setting I changed in Opera.  I disabled "use hardware acceleration" trying to fix a different problem with another web page.  That, apparently, has removed some of the graphics from WU which is a little weird.  It works fin in MS Sludge though.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2019, 05:30:18 PM by awsum140 »
If it's not a Boerboel it's just a dog.

KNJSOUTH86


Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3941
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2019, 08:38:37 PM »
Well I now see the multiple wind vane spider is gone!!!

I'll wait and see 24 to 48 hours to be sure and see what others report to be certain.
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3941
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #10 on: August 27, 2019, 08:41:01 PM »
Yep spoke too soon. I think the only reason the spider is gone is because there is no data. Station is not showing that it is reporting. Shows "Online (Updated 2 hours ago)"

More lost data  #-o

....now we also get to hear about how other people have lost their Gold Star. SMH.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2019, 08:45:32 PM by galfert »
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3941
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #11 on: August 27, 2019, 08:55:29 PM »
Okay starting to see Current Conditions Rapidfire updating every few seconds as my station normally would. But still says Online (Updated 3 hours ago).  And yes the spider is back!  ](*,)

Still no data under summary and no graphs and no chart data tables.

Well at least I hope this indicates that they are working on fixing something.

WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline Mirwin275

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #12 on: August 27, 2019, 09:39:00 PM »
Okay starting to see Current Conditions Rapidfire updating every few seconds as my station normally would. But still says Online (Updated 3 hours ago).  And yes the spider is back!  ](*,)

Still no data under summary and no graphs and no chart data tables.

Well at least I hope this indicates that they are working on fixing something.

Yup, seeing the same thing for me here as you described with it saying it's online and updated 4 hours ago though and the flags are still there too. I did notice the map temps are current, but not where the rapid fire area is at the top, which is where it reflects the data from 4 hours ago.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2019, 09:40:40 PM by Mirwin275 »

Offline rormeister

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 184
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #13 on: August 27, 2019, 10:29:48 PM »
Sadly, my confidence in the WUFixers is pretty much in the tank. I just checked my dashboard and while the flags are spinning a web of deceit, the temp in the center circle is correct. But that is where it ends. Check out this screen cap (Temps are TOTALLY wrong and I’m missing all the Data/Graph details:

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3941
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #14 on: August 27, 2019, 11:47:22 PM »
Oh how I wish just one ex-WU employee would come in here and fill us in on what the IBM circus is like.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2019, 09:15:45 PM by galfert »
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3941
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #15 on: August 28, 2019, 06:11:01 AM »
Update from Victoria Gardner (2 hours ago)....

Quote

Victoria Gardner, Official Rep

There is a hardware issue that is being worked on.  Conditions and recent history should be working now; longer term history will take a bit longer to cycle up. 

--Victoria
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline rormeister

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 184
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #16 on: August 28, 2019, 09:40:55 AM »
Update from Victoria Gardner (2 hours ago)....

Quote

Victoria Gardner, Official Rep

There is a hardware issue that is being worked on.  Conditions and recent history should be working now; longer term history will take a bit longer to cycle up. 

--Victoria

Oh my dear Victoria, this is Sooooo Far beyond a hardware issue. If WU is how IBM operates their subsidiaries, and reflects the quality and reliability of their Cloud service, I'm running for the hills.

Offline WSWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 347
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #17 on: August 29, 2019, 06:10:28 PM »
Update from Victoria Gardner (2 hours ago)....

Quote

Victoria Gardner, Official Rep

There is a hardware issue that is being worked on.  Conditions and recent history should be working now; longer term history will take a bit longer to cycle up. 

--Victoria

I wonder how long a "a bit longer" is in IBM-speak.  I still am missing 17 of 31 days of July in my historical data and I suspect it will continue to be missing going forward.

Offline rormeister

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 184
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #18 on: August 29, 2019, 08:53:27 PM »
I.B.M.  AKA “Inadequate, But Marketable”

Update from Victoria Gardner (2 hours ago)....

Quote

Victoria Gardner, Official Rep

There is a hardware issue that is being worked on.  Conditions and recent history should be working now; longer term history will take a bit longer to cycle up. 

--Victoria

I wonder how long a "a bit longer" is in IBM-speak.  I still am missing 17 of 31 days of July in my historical data and I suspect it will continue to be missing going forward.

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3941
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #19 on: August 30, 2019, 02:41:18 PM »
I just can not understand how long this issue with the multiple wind flags has gone on for. I mean seriously what is going on? It is not only obvious that WU does not have a development platform environment as it seems that they are pushing new code out to their live operation. Even if we forgive the lack of a test development environment, when they push out new code someone has to be watching for the outcome! If you pushed out this new code and it created this multiple flags issue, well then is it not obvious that it is time to roll back those changes and go back to the drawing board? Why then has this persisted for so long? I just don't get it. SMH.
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline awsum140

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #20 on: August 30, 2019, 04:06:36 PM »
I don't know.  I'm so used to having a multi-legged bubble on screen I'd think something was wrong if it became a one armed bandit again.
If it's not a Boerboel it's just a dog.

KNJSOUTH86


Offline konz

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 161
    • ArlingtonWX
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #21 on: August 31, 2019, 12:29:23 AM »
I just can not understand how long this issue with the multiple wind flags has gone on for. I mean seriously what is going on? It is not only obvious that WU does not have a development platform environment as it seems that they are pushing new code out to their live operation. Even if we forgive the lack of a test development environment, when they push out new code someone has to be watching for the outcome! If you pushed out this new code and it created this multiple flags issue, well then is it not obvious that it is time to roll back those changes and go back to the drawing board? Why then has this persisted for so long? I just don't get it. SMH.

Yyyyep.

Offline WSWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 347
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #22 on: August 31, 2019, 02:54:16 AM »
I just can not understand how long this issue with the multiple wind flags has gone on for. I mean seriously what is going on? It is not only obvious that WU does not have a development platform environment as it seems that they are pushing new code out to their live operation. Even if we forgive the lack of a test development environment, when they push out new code someone has to be watching for the outcome! If you pushed out this new code and it created this multiple flags issue, well then is it not obvious that it is time to roll back those changes and go back to the drawing board? Why then has this persisted for so long? I just don't get it. SMH.

I'm pretty sure whatever offshore code boiler room they outsourced this to is being paid by the line not by the result.

Offline awsum140

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #23 on: August 31, 2019, 01:36:04 PM »
I kind of like how it looks at the moment, an "X"wing fighter, head on.  May the Force, or is that "the Schwartz", be with WU.  I pretty sure Brutus is now Dark Helmet.
If it's not a Boerboel it's just a dog.

KNJSOUTH86


Offline jwreynoldson

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Multiple wind flags: new feature or new bug?
« Reply #24 on: September 08, 2019, 09:34:41 PM »
There's been a small change recently in the behaviour of this (bug?).  If you click the - (zoom out) button on the map, you get only one flag on the resulting display.  Before, it stayed a tarantula.