Author Topic: Getting the VP2 to report humidity & wind in tenths  (Read 389 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jgentry

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 434
Getting the VP2 to report humidity & wind in tenths
« on: July 12, 2019, 01:41:43 PM »
How did WeatherSTEM get the Davis VP2s to report in 10ths on WeatherLink app?
Davis Vantage Pro2. SHT-75. WU: KXALJEMI2 & KALTHORS2. CWOP/APRS: C6353 & E6358

  

Offline jgentry

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 434
Re: Getting the VP2 to report humidity & wind in tenths
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2019, 01:43:58 PM »
They also got the WB temp displayed.
Davis Vantage Pro2. SHT-75. WU: KXALJEMI2 & KALTHORS2. CWOP/APRS: C6353 & E6358

  

Offline johnd

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3236
    • www.weatherstations.co.uk
Re: Getting the VP2 to report humidity & wind in tenths
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2019, 02:14:16 PM »
Difficult to say without knowing how WeatherStem process their data. Could be a Vue or WLL but didn't think that was WeatherStem's MO? If they're uploading their own processed data to wl.com then presumably they can upload it how they want (within the input limitations of wl.com, but it does support things like extra resolution if the sensor/transmitter provides that).
Prodata Weather Systems
Prodata's dedicated Davis EnviroMonitor website
UK Davis Premier Dealer - All Davis stations, accessories and spares
Littleport, Ely, Cambs UK

Offline jgentry

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 434
Re: Getting the VP2 to report humidity & wind in tenths
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2019, 05:09:14 PM »
Difficult to say without knowing how WeatherStem process their data. Could be a Vue or WLL but didn't think that was WeatherStem's MO? If they're uploading their own processed data to wl.com then presumably they can upload it how they want (within the input limitations of wl.com, but it does support things like extra resolution if the sensor/transmitter provides that).

I know that St. Georgeís Island site is using WLL and I think the LSU site is the same
Davis Vantage Pro2. SHT-75. WU: KXALJEMI2 & KALTHORS2. CWOP/APRS: C6353 & E6358

  

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7296
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Getting the VP2 to report humidity & wind in tenths
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2019, 05:15:40 PM »
My Meteobridge reports to the tenth for all those sensors, so what is the big deal?
Need low cost IP monitoring?  http://wirelesstag.net/wta.aspx?link=NisJxz6FhUa4V67/cwCRWA or PM me for 50% off Wirelesstags!!

Offline Mattk

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1247
Re: Getting the VP2 to report humidity & wind in tenths
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2019, 05:28:55 PM »
An Accuracy v Precision thing which can be a little meaningless relative to the resolution of the sensor, might look the goods but doesn't mean much.

Offline drew

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • Shoals Weather
Re: Getting the VP2 to report humidity & wind in tenths
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2019, 08:32:13 AM »
They are using the Weatherlink Live at the sites that report in tenths.
-Drew Richards
Davis VP2+
Win 10
http://shoalsweather.net/

Offline jgentry

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 434
Re: Getting the VP2 to report humidity & wind in tenths
« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2019, 12:17:03 PM »
They are using the Weatherlink Live at the sites that report in tenths.

Thatís what Iím thinking. Didnít see that option in the documents on WLL.
Davis Vantage Pro2. SHT-75. WU: KXALJEMI2 & KALTHORS2. CWOP/APRS: C6353 & E6358

  

Offline drew

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • Shoals Weather
Re: Getting the VP2 to report humidity & wind in tenths
« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2019, 01:42:57 PM »
I just installed a WLL yesterday and have the data in tenths. You can see it at my conditions page below.

Conditions page: http://shoalsweather.net/fhs
« Last Edit: July 14, 2019, 02:07:53 PM by drew »
-Drew Richards
Davis VP2+
Win 10
http://shoalsweather.net/

Offline Aardvark

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2097
  • www.desmoinesweather.org
Re: Getting the VP2 to report humidity & wind in tenths
« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2019, 07:33:49 PM »
I had written to Davis several times about the differences between the data from the same station with their Weatherlink Live app and with the Weatherlink IP logger.  The data is different.   Something is wrong with their app .  I would guess that the Weatherlink Live unit would be factory set and should be doing just fine, with some minor tweaking.  So I set the IP logger and console to what the conditions on the Weather link Live .   They are different. 

I contacted Davis and they indicated they were aware of it and were working on it.  But so far, I haven't seen any  software up dates for the phone app and not on the online either. Either they are happy or their programming staff are still at summer camp and too tired from sliding down the water slide to work on it.

Also there have been instances that I get the data on the app for my iPhone 8  on the IP logger and dashed out on the item I should be getting data every 2 seconds.

Either way,  I am guessing that setting it in the software on the console or the Envoy might be possible for anything not Mac,  or  using software such as Weather Display  that could add or deduct a decimal place.

Have fun,
Davis VP2 Plus; 24h  FARS; Extra Temp Humid sensor (2); Extra Temp Station (2); Soil Moisture/Temp  https://www.weatherlink.com/embeddablePage/show/1c484adbfa914d1aa10a58ad53ccd563/summary;Weatherlink IP;USB; MAC Mojave; Webcam;

Offline jgentry

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 434
Re: Getting the VP2 to report humidity & wind in tenths
« Reply #10 on: July 14, 2019, 08:02:47 PM »
I just installed a WLL yesterday and have the data in tenths. You can see it at my conditions page below.

Conditions page: http://shoalsweather.net/fhs

Cool deal! Thanks!  What are all the features with WLL? I believe it has an Altimeter setting for Barometric pressure right? Iím assuming it has the option of displaying wet bulb temp?
Davis Vantage Pro2. SHT-75. WU: KXALJEMI2 & KALTHORS2. CWOP/APRS: C6353 & E6358

  

Offline DaleReid

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1470
    • Weather at Eau Claire, WI
Re: Getting the VP2 to report humidity & wind in tenths
« Reply #11 on: July 14, 2019, 08:37:19 PM »
Depending  upon the sensor and technology, even the megabucks units are usually 2 to 3%, at best.  I have seen 5 to  7 percent from station to station in approximately the same location.

I'm all for using the data to the precision it's given, but to roll it out in tenths is probably not reality.
ECWx.info
&
ECWx.info/t/index.php