Author Topic: GW1000 New Firmware  (Read 4639 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4677
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #25 on: November 12, 2019, 12:37:18 PM »
I have a GW1000 and looking through the manual I do not see a way to view the firmware version nor a way to upgrade the firmware. Can someone offer suggestions as how to accomplish this?

In the WS View app when you list the devices on the network and then select the GW1000 you will be confronted with the firmware version right on the bottom of the Live Data page. If there was a new firmware available as the Live Data page loads you would see a pop-up notifying you of a firmware update being available. You just click OK and you are on your way to getting the update automatically downloaded and installed.
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline Weatheroger

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #26 on: November 12, 2019, 12:47:22 PM »
I have a GW1000 and looking through the manual I do not see a way to view the firmware version nor a way to upgrade the firmware. Can someone offer suggestions as how to accomplish this?

In the WS View app when you list the devices on the network and then select the GW1000 you will be confronted with the firmware version right on the bottom of the Live Data page. If there was a new firmware available as the Live Data page loads you would see a pop-up notifying you of a firmware update being available. You just click OK and you are on your way to getting the update automatically downloaded and installed.
V1.5.3 installed. Thank you for the quick reply.

Online Mandrake

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #27 on: November 13, 2019, 03:40:46 AM »
A little piece of advice I have gleaned is that the GW-1000 does not like updating its firmware if the device is being actively read/polled by an external device. I am working on getting CumulusMX working with the GW-1000 and I have found that to reliably update the firmware I need to stop the software on my Pi from running in order stop the TCP/IP traffic. This might also apply for other devices such as the Meteobridge etc that use the GW-1000 API.

If you do see this scenario then stop the polling, possibly reboot the GW-1000 to get a clean state and then update the firmware. You should then be able to restart the monitoring software. All this takes but a minute or two and should not result in any loss of significant data.

I know that not many folks will be in this scenario yet but as the GW-1000 becomes more widespread and the use of adapted weather software/devices comes into play other folks may see this issue and how to get past it.
Retired: Old Maplin N96Y/FO Weather station
G1ZFO

Ecowitt HP2550A + WH65 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO67)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO68)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Mk2) test environment driving CumulusMX on a RPi 3b
Ecowitt WH51 (x4) Soil Moisture Sensor
Ecowitt WH41 PM2.5 AQM Sensor
Ecowitt WH31 (x8) Thermo/Hygro Sensor
Ecowitt WS80 Ultrasonic Anemometer (pre-prod test)
Ecowitt WH57 Lightning Sensor (pre-prod test)

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4677
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #28 on: November 13, 2019, 06:57:26 AM »
Mandrake,
I 100% agree. I noticed the same issue and I'm using both a Meteobridge and two instances of Weather-Display to poll the GW1000 for data. I wasn't totally sure about this theory and I was going to wait for the next GW1000 firmware to confirm. But now that you have spoken about this before me it has cemented this for me. The good news is that it seems that the GW1000 is smart enough to not brick itself. I was able to flash upgrade the GW1000 after persisting the upgrade without turning off the other devices. It took a few attempts though.
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Online Mandrake

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #29 on: November 13, 2019, 07:27:42 AM »
I did manage to make the GW-1000 hang though while trying to update the firmware when it was being polled....which caused a few heart flutters that I had indeed bricked it, but a simple power cycle restored service.

I managed to do this several times before the penny dropped about the CumulusMX/Pi polling it. My other GW-1000 that's in normal use presented no problems in upgrade so it was pretty obvious.

I will mention to Lucy and team and see if there is a way that the firmware upgrade process can suspend the API to avoid this issue.
Retired: Old Maplin N96Y/FO Weather station
G1ZFO

Ecowitt HP2550A + WH65 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO67)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO68)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Mk2) test environment driving CumulusMX on a RPi 3b
Ecowitt WH51 (x4) Soil Moisture Sensor
Ecowitt WH41 PM2.5 AQM Sensor
Ecowitt WH31 (x8) Thermo/Hygro Sensor
Ecowitt WS80 Ultrasonic Anemometer (pre-prod test)
Ecowitt WH57 Lightning Sensor (pre-prod test)

Online Mandrake

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #30 on: November 18, 2019, 03:57:39 AM »
I have had an update from Ecowitt that at this time they do not have an easy fix to stop the firmware update from hanging if you are using a third party software solution to direct read data from the GW-1000 and it is active at the same time.

The current recommendation is that if you are using such software then you should disable the software first or disconnect it from your network before attempting the update to the GW-1000 to avoid said problem.
Retired: Old Maplin N96Y/FO Weather station
G1ZFO

Ecowitt HP2550A + WH65 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO67)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO68)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Mk2) test environment driving CumulusMX on a RPi 3b
Ecowitt WH51 (x4) Soil Moisture Sensor
Ecowitt WH41 PM2.5 AQM Sensor
Ecowitt WH31 (x8) Thermo/Hygro Sensor
Ecowitt WS80 Ultrasonic Anemometer (pre-prod test)
Ecowitt WH57 Lightning Sensor (pre-prod test)

Online Mandrake

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #31 on: November 29, 2019, 05:51:40 AM »
Dear All, an update has been released from Ecowitt for the GW-1000
Firmware update 1.5.4 is released via the WS-View app

This specifically has a bug fix to filter anomalous (obviously in error) temperature values that may sometimes get recorded from the outside sensor array.
Retired: Old Maplin N96Y/FO Weather station
G1ZFO

Ecowitt HP2550A + WH65 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO67)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO68)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Mk2) test environment driving CumulusMX on a RPi 3b
Ecowitt WH51 (x4) Soil Moisture Sensor
Ecowitt WH41 PM2.5 AQM Sensor
Ecowitt WH31 (x8) Thermo/Hygro Sensor
Ecowitt WS80 Ultrasonic Anemometer (pre-prod test)
Ecowitt WH57 Lightning Sensor (pre-prod test)

Offline Weatheroger

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #32 on: November 29, 2019, 10:32:20 AM »
Dear All, an update has been released from Ecowitt for the GW-1000
Firmware update 1.5.4 is released via the WS-View app

This specifically has a bug fix to filter anomalous (obviously in error) temperature values that may sometimes get recorded from the outside sensor array.
Easy update without issues.

Offline Shvedi

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #33 on: November 30, 2019, 11:56:42 AM »
It took my GW1000 about 5 (long :?) minutes to recover - app won't start and no update in Ecowitt.net, but everything's OK now.

Offline CoyoteRidge

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #34 on: November 30, 2019, 02:58:05 PM »
Mine hangs on updating and im pretty sure its not getting polled from anything.  it sees my PWS but thats it.

Offline Weatheroger

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #35 on: November 30, 2019, 04:02:40 PM »
Mine hangs on updating and im pretty sure its not getting polled from anything.  it sees my PWS but thats it.
Has it reconnected to your WIFI? I have set mine up with an assigned/reserved IP address to the router so it attempts to use the same IP address on reboot or loss of power.

Offline CoyoteRidge

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #36 on: November 30, 2019, 04:19:45 PM »
Has it reconnected to your WIFI? I have set mine up with an assigned/reserved IP address to the router so it attempts to use the same IP address on reboot or loss of power.

I looked around in the devices list, and disabled my PWS.  Rebooted the GW, and the update went through.  Re-enabled the PWS and it shows my outside data again.

Out of curiosity if you know, if its getting the PWS outside data, is the WS view app display getting its inside temp/humidity and baro data from its attached sensor instead of from the PWS console feed?  I am guessing yes.

Now to get it to send data to CWOP is my next mission.

--
EDIT - left out a word that made a sentence make no sense
« Last Edit: November 30, 2019, 04:21:32 PM by CoyoteRidge »

Offline krojan

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #37 on: December 01, 2019, 05:14:29 AM »
I installed firmware V1.5.4 with a working Cumulus MX. Everything went well.
From now on, all wind data is displayed on WeatherCloud.
Sorry for my English.
GW1000, HP2551-C, HP3001, HP1001.

Online Mandrake

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #38 on: December 01, 2019, 07:13:17 AM »
Has it reconnected to your WIFI? I have set mine up with an assigned/reserved IP address to the router so it attempts to use the same IP address on reboot or loss of power.

I looked around in the devices list, and disabled my PWS.  Rebooted the GW, and the update went through.  Re-enabled the PWS and it shows my outside data again.

Out of curiosity if you know, if its getting the PWS outside data, is the WS view app display getting its inside temp/humidity and baro data from its attached sensor instead of from the PWS console feed?  I am guessing yes.

Now to get it to send data to CWOP is my next mission.

--
EDIT - left out a word that made a sentence make no sense

Yes the GW1000 uses the Internal temp/humidity and barometric pressure sensed from its own sensor lead and not from any other sensors you may have.
If you have other WH31 internal sensors these are displayed as additional channels and can be named in the WS-View app as you can in Ecowitt.net
« Last Edit: December 01, 2019, 07:18:34 AM by Mandrake »
Retired: Old Maplin N96Y/FO Weather station
G1ZFO

Ecowitt HP2550A + WH65 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO67)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO68)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Mk2) test environment driving CumulusMX on a RPi 3b
Ecowitt WH51 (x4) Soil Moisture Sensor
Ecowitt WH41 PM2.5 AQM Sensor
Ecowitt WH31 (x8) Thermo/Hygro Sensor
Ecowitt WS80 Ultrasonic Anemometer (pre-prod test)
Ecowitt WH57 Lightning Sensor (pre-prod test)

Online Mandrake

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #39 on: January 01, 2020, 06:01:25 AM »
For anyone who missed it over the Christmas break there was a new GW1000 firmware update
V1.5.5

This is updated via the WS-View app (which was also updated over the period) or there is a PC app which can do the honours.
Retired: Old Maplin N96Y/FO Weather station
G1ZFO

Ecowitt HP2550A + WH65 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO67)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO68)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Mk2) test environment driving CumulusMX on a RPi 3b
Ecowitt WH51 (x4) Soil Moisture Sensor
Ecowitt WH41 PM2.5 AQM Sensor
Ecowitt WH31 (x8) Thermo/Hygro Sensor
Ecowitt WS80 Ultrasonic Anemometer (pre-prod test)
Ecowitt WH57 Lightning Sensor (pre-prod test)

Offline Big Sky Weather

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #40 on: January 02, 2020, 10:47:58 AM »
I saw the newest update is available but I haven't come across a changelog yet. I won't update until then.

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4677
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #41 on: January 02, 2020, 11:15:50 AM »
Change log is built into the WS View app right when it prompts for the update.

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline Weatheroger

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #42 on: January 02, 2020, 11:36:09 AM »
Easy update, no issues.

Online Mandrake

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #43 on: January 17, 2020, 06:47:15 AM »
Hi Folks,

Just released a new firmware for the GW1000 released via WS-View app (V1.5.6)
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
Both my GW1000 devices updated with no issues observed
Retired: Old Maplin N96Y/FO Weather station
G1ZFO

Ecowitt HP2550A + WH65 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO67)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO68)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Mk2) test environment driving CumulusMX on a RPi 3b
Ecowitt WH51 (x4) Soil Moisture Sensor
Ecowitt WH41 PM2.5 AQM Sensor
Ecowitt WH31 (x8) Thermo/Hygro Sensor
Ecowitt WS80 Ultrasonic Anemometer (pre-prod test)
Ecowitt WH57 Lightning Sensor (pre-prod test)

Offline K5GHS

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • K5GHS's Website
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #44 on: January 17, 2020, 07:54:13 PM »
The app prompts you automatically once you go into it too, which is nice.  Only takes a few seconds.

Put the latest one in last night and the wifi reconnect retry works as advertised.
Joshua
K5GHS
http://www.k5ghs.radio

Collin County, TX  Grid: EM13qd  CWOP: AV590
Skywarn Repeaters:  147.180 Primary 146.740 Secondary
100% Emergency Powered Ham Radio Station (540AH Batteries/Solar Rechargeable)
Ambient Weather WS-2000
Ecowitt GW1000

Offline Shvedi

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #45 on: January 19, 2020, 02:18:25 PM »
After firmware update the wh41 data has disappeared from the ws view app, although I still can see the data in the website. Strange.
Edit: the connection with the wh41 restored after about 100 minutes.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2020, 03:47:16 PM by Shvedi »

Offline Weatheroger

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #46 on: January 19, 2020, 02:46:45 PM »
No issues here with the update.

Offline Glen

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #47 on: January 26, 2020, 04:07:04 AM »
I've noticed that my gw1000 seems to randomly picks up an all in one station for a few mins a day.
not sure if it only happened since the upgrade to 1.5.6.
Is there a way to stop gw1000 from discovering other sensors ? i can see re-register or rename in the sensor section of the app.

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4677
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #48 on: January 26, 2020, 05:41:03 AM »
Go to More / Sensors ID and disable what you don't want.
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline Glen

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #49 on: January 26, 2020, 06:06:32 AM »
Can't believe i missed that disabled there, i was thinking it was only for disabling the name of the sensor.
Go to More / Sensors ID and disable what you don't want.

 

anything