Author Topic: GW1000 New Firmware  (Read 4642 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mandrake

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
GW1000 New Firmware
« on: July 05, 2019, 07:10:21 AM »
New firmware for the GW-1000 (1.4.9) is available via the WS-View app
Fixes various bugs and improves configuration options.
Confirmed updated with no drama
« Last Edit: November 29, 2019, 07:52:47 AM by galfert »
Retired: Old Maplin N96Y/FO Weather station
G1ZFO

Ecowitt HP2550A + WH65 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO67)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO68)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Mk2) test environment driving CumulusMX on a RPi 3b
Ecowitt WH51 (x4) Soil Moisture Sensor
Ecowitt WH41 PM2.5 AQM Sensor
Ecowitt WH31 (x8) Thermo/Hygro Sensor
Ecowitt WS80 Ultrasonic Anemometer (pre-prod test)
Ecowitt WH57 Lightning Sensor (pre-prod test)

Offline krojan

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 115
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2019, 01:58:54 PM »
A new version of WSView has been released.
Novelty: GW1000 1.5.0 version or more to increase multi-channel temperature and humidity, pm2.5 calibration.

My GW1000 does not update.
Sorry for my English.
GW1000, HP2551-C, HP3001, HP1001.

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4678
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2019, 02:19:32 PM »
I just updated to the latest Android WS View 1.1.27 which has notes that say that it makes GW1000 version 1.5.0 available. After upgrading to new WS View I'm not seeing the app prompt me to do a firmware update on the GW1000 as it normally does automatically. Manually going to More / Device Settings would also in the past show you a Firmware Update button (when firmware is a available). The fact that it doesn't show this firmware update button to me indicates that this new version of WS View was pushed out with intention of supporting the new GW1000 firmware but it has not yet become available. Perhaps they are doing it in stages where you first get the WS View update and then soon we get the GW1000 firmware update. Perhaps if they pushed out the new firmware at the same time then some people on the old WS View also get the firmware update and maybe that firmware update does not work well before having first updated WS View. Since there are two pieces to the puzzle it may just be an orchestration effort in managing the best user experience.
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline txweather.org

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1526
    • Texas Weather
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #3 on: July 18, 2019, 03:35:57 PM »
No update here as well and the app did updated overnight for my self.

----
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus +FARS|Meteobridge Nano SD|Meteohub|Meteobridge MR-3020|WU KTXSPRIN75/PWS JRARGWX75/CWOP EW2972/WBB TXWDVUE75/Blitzortung ID: 1142|AWEKAS: 12095
Donations are welcome: https://paypal.me/ffuentesb

Offline txweather.org

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1526
    • Texas Weather
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2019, 11:45:19 PM »
Just got word from Lucy that the firmware 1.5.0 is not ready for release. So to be clear it has not release at all so its not that they are doing a roll out or that they pulled it out... :)

----
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus +FARS|Meteobridge Nano SD|Meteohub|Meteobridge MR-3020|WU KTXSPRIN75/PWS JRARGWX75/CWOP EW2972/WBB TXWDVUE75/Blitzortung ID: 1142|AWEKAS: 12095
Donations are welcome: https://paypal.me/ffuentesb

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4678
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2019, 03:21:29 PM »
Firmware 1.5.0 released!

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

WS80 ....Hmmmmmmm! Sounds neat. I wonder what its top speed is and how much better it is?
« Last Edit: July 20, 2019, 03:23:06 PM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline Mandrake

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2019, 04:50:18 AM »
The WS-80 looks very good and has a combined temp/humidity/UV/Solar function as well.
Indeed a very interesting instrument.
I have seen a photo of a unit under test but I cannot share it at this time as I am under promise!
Hopefully wont be too long before the unit is available (within months) while they fine tune it.

Exciting times indeed....they really are innovating at a pace!
Retired: Old Maplin N96Y/FO Weather station
G1ZFO

Ecowitt HP2550A + WH65 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO67)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO68)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Mk2) test environment driving CumulusMX on a RPi 3b
Ecowitt WH51 (x4) Soil Moisture Sensor
Ecowitt WH41 PM2.5 AQM Sensor
Ecowitt WH31 (x8) Thermo/Hygro Sensor
Ecowitt WS80 Ultrasonic Anemometer (pre-prod test)
Ecowitt WH57 Lightning Sensor (pre-prod test)

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4678
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2019, 05:59:42 PM »
Firmware 1.5.2 released!

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline perla

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #8 on: October 25, 2019, 03:50:26 PM »
Hello everyone! I'm a new ecowitt fan here.
Has anybody noticed this mysterious device in the Sensor ID list of the WS View app? What kind of sensor can it be?
[attachment id=1 msg=WSView][/attachment]

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4678
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #9 on: October 25, 2019, 04:14:04 PM »
water leak sensor.
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline Mandrake

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
Retired: Old Maplin N96Y/FO Weather station
G1ZFO

Ecowitt HP2550A + WH65 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO67)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO68)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Mk2) test environment driving CumulusMX on a RPi 3b
Ecowitt WH51 (x4) Soil Moisture Sensor
Ecowitt WH41 PM2.5 AQM Sensor
Ecowitt WH31 (x8) Thermo/Hygro Sensor
Ecowitt WS80 Ultrasonic Anemometer (pre-prod test)
Ecowitt WH57 Lightning Sensor (pre-prod test)

Offline BertSP

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • Williamson, AZ Wx
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2019, 05:56:33 PM »
New User of CW1000 to replace my Observer IP. I have set it up with little problem, granted it a fixed IP address and it is sending data fine. My problem (which is self caused) is that the unit is near the array in my garage and unless I am below it with my android phone and click on the red discovery button, and the unit pops up, I cannot do this from the comfort of my house. Is there a way to address/communicate with the unit by using its fixed IP? I must be missing something. Any input on this problem? I need to set up the rest of the Wx channels and do some calibrations.
BertSP
KAZPRESC99, EW/E7016
Ambient WS-1200-IP
Weatherhawk 916 IP
www.s-p.me

Offline Mandrake

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #12 on: November 05, 2019, 04:31:23 AM »
This seems odd. The GW-1000 communicates with the app on your phone via Wi-Fi. So as long as you are on the same network as the GW-1000 then you should see the device to manage in the app. I believe the app is using broadcasts to 'see' the GW-1000 rather than using set IP addresses. I cannot see any way to change that behavior.

So unless you have a Wi-Fi issue in your location you should be able to see the GW-1000 in the app to configure and live data anywhere that you have local coverage. Once you are away from your local wifi and using roaming Internet on your phone for instance you will not be able to configure/see the gw-1000 though you will be able to see any Weather Underground data that is being transmitted to the WU site.

Hope that helps
Retired: Old Maplin N96Y/FO Weather station
G1ZFO

Ecowitt HP2550A + WH65 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO67)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO68)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Mk2) test environment driving CumulusMX on a RPi 3b
Ecowitt WH51 (x4) Soil Moisture Sensor
Ecowitt WH41 PM2.5 AQM Sensor
Ecowitt WH31 (x8) Thermo/Hygro Sensor
Ecowitt WS80 Ultrasonic Anemometer (pre-prod test)
Ecowitt WH57 Lightning Sensor (pre-prod test)

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4678
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #13 on: November 05, 2019, 06:20:57 AM »
New User of CW1000 to replace my Observer IP. I have set it up with little problem, granted it a fixed IP address and it is sending data fine. My problem (which is self caused) is that the unit is near the array in my garage and unless I am below it with my android phone and click on the red discovery button, and the unit pops up, I cannot do this from the comfort of my house. Is there a way to address/communicate with the unit by using its fixed IP? I must be missing something. Any input on this problem? I need to set up the rest of the Wx channels and do some calibrations.

I suspect that your problem is that in the garage the GW1000 cannot see your home WiFi. Don't place the GW1000 in your garage. It probably doesn't need to be so close to the sensor array. Move the GW1000 into the house where it will pickup the home WiFi. If once in the house the GW1000 can't see the sensor array then you'll have to improve your home WiFi so that it is extended into the garage or move the sensor array to a different location if possible. I would put the sensor array where it best gives you the nest siting for the sensors. Expading WiFi is probably an easier problem to solve. All you need is a WiFi mesh solution. If you have an Asus router check that you have the latest firmware and see if Mesh nodes are supported. If yes then get a second Asus WiFi router to make it into a second mesh node. Or you can use any other WiFi mesh hardware you like. I'm partial to Asus because your mesh node can be wireless for the back haul or even better it can be a wired back haul if you can run cabling. Plus they are great home WiFi routers.

The GW1000 was designed to be a networked device. You don't talk to it directly device to device other than for initial setup. It needs a network.
« Last Edit: November 05, 2019, 06:24:24 AM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline BertSP

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • Williamson, AZ Wx
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #14 on: November 05, 2019, 07:11:26 PM »
Galfert and Mandrake,
Thank you for your replies. I am actually using an Asus AIMesh and have no problem getting info from the CW-1000 thru my WiFi mesh. My comment only applied to setting up the device with a PC or Smartphone. I understand now that it uses a broadcast to link the devices to a very local app, and cannot be reached for setup other than that method. The app displays the MAC and IP address once it hooks up with broadcast and does not make the switch to the WiFi network using IP. Once I move away from the CW, it will drop the mobile app connection and not rely on the actual IP address. Hopefully the makers of the app will add the ability to dial-in using the IP address, which in my scenario is fixed IP address.
Thanks.
BertSP
KAZPRESC99, EW/E7016
Ambient WS-1200-IP
Weatherhawk 916 IP
www.s-p.me

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4678
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #15 on: November 05, 2019, 09:13:00 PM »
It's not designed to allow connecting via IP address. It is designed to connect only over local network. I don't think the designers will change this. Because that would mean many other things like then dealing with authentication and security. It's a very basic chip that runs the GW1000.

But if you want this type of remote access then you can accomplish it most likely if you set up a VPN endpoint to your network. Your Asus router supports setting up a VPN endpoint. You then run OpenVPN client on a computer or smartphone when you need to connect and that puts you into your home network from anywhere. This would need to be tested because in most cases with a VPN you end up on a different subnet and the broadcast from the GW1000 may or not work across a different subnet. I may test this myself soon and report back if it works. EDIT: Mandrake has tested this and it does not work. See next post. But there is an advanced setting that may work. See follow up posts.

Another method which is what I do now is that I have a computer that I can remote into running on my network. This computer with Windows 10 is running NoxPlayer which is an Android virtual environment for Android. So you can run Android apps in a computer. All I have to do is remote into this computer and I can open up the WS View app inside of NoxPlayer. Here is the write up on how to do this:
http://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=36792.0


« Last Edit: November 06, 2019, 06:11:58 AM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline Mandrake

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #16 on: November 06, 2019, 03:59:09 AM »
I have an Asus setup at home and often use the OpenVPN to get back into my home network from remote locations and I can confirm that access to any of the Fine offset Weather stations hardware via the WS-View app does not work.
If you select Devices nothing shows up.
So this route is a bust, though I admit I have not done any further investigations. My presumption was that if this is broadcast based then it does not make it past the router perimeter to the VPN connection/network extension.
Retired: Old Maplin N96Y/FO Weather station
G1ZFO

Ecowitt HP2550A + WH65 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO67)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO68)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Mk2) test environment driving CumulusMX on a RPi 3b
Ecowitt WH51 (x4) Soil Moisture Sensor
Ecowitt WH41 PM2.5 AQM Sensor
Ecowitt WH31 (x8) Thermo/Hygro Sensor
Ecowitt WS80 Ultrasonic Anemometer (pre-prod test)
Ecowitt WH57 Lightning Sensor (pre-prod test)

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4678
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #17 on: November 06, 2019, 06:19:35 AM »
I suspected that the broadcast would not work across subnets using the default OpenVPN settings. But I think using the Advanced settings in the Asus VPN server configuration and changing the Interface Type from TUN to TAP may work. There is a limitation on this for some VPN clients though. For example on an Android client it is not possible to make a OpenVPN TAP connection unless the device is rooted. This TAP server solution however may still work if you use a laptop as the client to VPN in and then the laptop is running NoxPlayer to then use the WS View app.
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline John Carroll

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #18 on: November 08, 2019, 06:49:43 AM »

Firmware 1.5.3 released!

Ecowitt HP2551, Ecowitt GW1000, Meteobridge (TL-WR902AC v3)

Offline Eric971

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #19 on: November 08, 2019, 06:56:49 AM »
I have just downloaded 1.5.4 !!!

http://www.ecowitt.com/plug/search.asp?page=2

Click on HP2551 below, on right.

Offline John Carroll

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #20 on: November 08, 2019, 06:59:39 AM »
I have just downloaded 1.5.4 !!!

http://www.ecowitt.com/plug/search.asp?page=2

Click on HP2551 below, on right.

This is the GW-1000 thread

Todays new firmware
V1.5.3 is for GW1000
V1.5.4 is for HP2551
Ecowitt HP2551, Ecowitt GW1000, Meteobridge (TL-WR902AC v3)

Offline Shvedi

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #21 on: November 08, 2019, 07:15:29 AM »
I've noticed that the connection between the GW1000 and the app is not stable at V1.5.3 (everything is OK with my WIFI). It was much better in V1.5.2. Is there a way to roll back?

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4678
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #22 on: November 08, 2019, 07:28:39 AM »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline Mandrake

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #23 on: November 08, 2019, 09:12:18 AM »
Likewise not noticed any instability for the two I have.

Firmware 1.5.3 for the GW-1000 resolves a bug related to UVI and Solar measurements sent to weathercloud
Retired: Old Maplin N96Y/FO Weather station
G1ZFO

Ecowitt HP2550A + WH65 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO67)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO68)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Mk2) test environment driving CumulusMX on a RPi 3b
Ecowitt WH51 (x4) Soil Moisture Sensor
Ecowitt WH41 PM2.5 AQM Sensor
Ecowitt WH31 (x8) Thermo/Hygro Sensor
Ecowitt WS80 Ultrasonic Anemometer (pre-prod test)
Ecowitt WH57 Lightning Sensor (pre-prod test)

Offline Weatheroger

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
Re: GW1000 New Firmware
« Reply #24 on: November 12, 2019, 12:31:57 PM »
I have a GW1000 and looking through the manual I do not see a way to view the firmware version nor a way to upgrade the firmware. Can someone offer suggestions as how to accomplish this?

 

anything