Author Topic: Do more with your data: Connect a GW1000 and a Meteobridge to your station  (Read 4065 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pimohdaimaoh

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
  • "Be aware to our nature"
    • PIMOHWEATHER
Bad News,

I cancelled right away my order from AMAZON for GW1000, because according to ECOWITT, they only SOLD GW1000 in US at 915 MHZ, my requirement is 433 MHZ so that I can still use my current array Fine Offset sensors.

Can you give me a source other than Ecowitt that HAS 433MHZ frequency of GW1000?  ](*,)

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4677
Only places I know to get a GW1000 is Amazon (US website) or directly from Ecowitt. And yes the Amazon version is only for US use with 915 MHz. I didn't think you would have been able to order from Amazon as I thought it was locked down. They should lock that down just as many other things on Amazon are locked down from other countries to prevent this mistake. Why not just order from Ecowitt? Lucy can even take an order over email I believe. When you order from Ecowitt directly then you can specify the frequency you need.
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline pimohdaimaoh

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
  • "Be aware to our nature"
    • PIMOHWEATHER

Hi galfert,

Well actually I did, but they prefer me to oder on AMAZON on US or in AU so thats the first I did, but to surprised they tell me thet in AMAZON only 915 MHZ is available. After some questioning,

but  yes Ms. Lucy responded on my E-mail and they accept through bank payments.
I will process that right away tomorrow, will just get first the details of their bank account they gave me.


regards

-mike-


Only places I know to get a GW1000 is Amazon (US website) or directly from Ecowitt. And yes the Amazon version is only for US use with 915 MHz. I didn't think you would have been able to order from Amazon as I thought it was locked down. They should lock that down just as many other things on Amazon are locked down from other countries to prevent this mistake. Why not just order from Ecowitt? Lucy can even take an order over email I believe. When you order from Ecowitt directly then you can specify the frequency you need.


Offline platokidd

  • top side land of Lincoln
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 159
Re: Do more with your data: Connect a GW1000 and a Meteobridge to your station
« Reply #53 on: February 28, 2020, 01:15:35 PM »
Just ordered my  AmbientWeatherBridge to go along with my GW1000 and ws-2000. Finally 8-).

Looking forward to setting this up and sending my data to other sites.. Think / hope I can figure this one out!

Any last minute pointers are welcome.
2-WS-2000 | WS-2902A | GW1000 | AW MeteoBridge |
CWOP:FW5295 | :FW6969
WINDY:pws-1f06e86b4 |
PWSweather:343434 | :KILROCKF100
WU:KILPLATO3 | :KILROCKF100

Offline ajay100

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
If you have a Fine Offset clone weather station like: Ambient Weather, Ecowitt, Froggit, Misol, Maplin, Tycon...etc. There is now a new solution to do more with your weather data. You could before connect a Meteobridge but that required the use of an ObserverIP. There now is a newer method instead of using an ObserverIP. The Meteobridge now can get weather data from an Ecowitt GW1000. This is a device that Fine Offset has released and it is possible that soon other Fine Offset reseller brands will also carry it. The good news is that it seems that the GW1000 from Ecowitt is capable of receiving data from other sensors that are not Ecowitt branded. This seems to follow what was previously known regarding the ObserverIP as long as the frequency matched.

...

The GW1000 is a new console available for your Fine Offset station. It is configured via a mobile app called WS View (Android and iOS). You can see live data on the WS View app. You can continue to use your existing display console. By connecting the GW1000 to the Meteobridge (or WeatherBridge) you'll be able to send your data to just about any online weather service including CWOP and many others, also to your own website, and to your own SQL server.


Hello there, I'm new here.

I was inspired by this post to purchase a GW1000 433MHz model to read from my PanTech PT-WA3081 (3081 clone) in Australia. I was hoping to work around the USB lockup issue which is quite frequent with my unit.  The GW1000 is working and visible in the WS View app, with readings from it's own sensors, however it is not picking up the 3081 sensors in the app.

I am now not sure whether there is a fault with the GW1000, or whether there is a limitation on the models that can be seen by the GW1000.  The 3081 is working with its console (433MHz) and via USB to a RPi4 running weewx.  I've spent today searching for evidence of compatibility and other posts suggest the GW1000 only works with a limited selection of PWSs, i.e. WH2900/2950 and HP2550, etc.  I'm hoping that someone out there may know!

Cheers - Andrew

PS, my outdoor sensor array is the same as the Ecowitt HP2551, also identified as WH65 (WS-2902A-ARRAY Osprey Sensor) in this post: https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=38491.0
« Last Edit: May 23, 2020, 05:16:02 AM by ajay100 »

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4677
PS, my outdoor sensor array is the same as the Ecowitt HP2551, also identified as WH65 (WS-2902A-ARRAY Osprey Sensor) in this post: https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=38491.0

No, it isn't the same. Take a closer look at your anemometer. Your wind vane is on top and on the WH65 it is on the bottom. They look similar but not the same. The 3081 is of a prior generation... like 2 generations prior.

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
The unit to the left is not compatible with the GW1000
« Last Edit: May 23, 2020, 11:09:16 AM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Online Mandrake

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 592
On the face of it if the sensor array is the same as the WH65 then we would expect the GW1000 to be picking up the data as long as the frequency of the GW1000 and the external sensor array matches.

If you are sure that you have the correct frequency match I would drop Lucy an e-mail on support@ecowitt.com for advice.
Unfortunately Pantech is not a common brand outside of Australia so I don't know if there are any folks with similar setups who can advise.
Retired: Old Maplin N96Y/FO Weather station
G1ZFO

Ecowitt HP2550A + WH65 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO67)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO68)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Mk2) test environment driving CumulusMX on a RPi 3b
Ecowitt WH51 (x4) Soil Moisture Sensor
Ecowitt WH41 PM2.5 AQM Sensor
Ecowitt WH31 (x8) Thermo/Hygro Sensor
Ecowitt WS80 Ultrasonic Anemometer (pre-prod test)
Ecowitt WH57 Lightning Sensor (pre-prod test)

Offline ajay100

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
PS, my outdoor sensor array is the same as the Ecowitt HP2551, also identified as WH65 (WS-2902A-ARRAY Osprey Sensor) in this post: https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=38491.0

No, it isn't the same. Take a closer look at your anemometer. Your wind vane is on top and on the WH65 it is on the bottom. They look similar but not the same. The 3081 is of a prior generation... like 2 generations prior.

Yes, that is my mistake.  Do you know what the difference would be?  Is it the protocol?
« Last Edit: May 23, 2020, 08:24:30 AM by ajay100 »

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4677
PS, my outdoor sensor array is the same as the Ecowitt HP2551, also identified as WH65 (WS-2902A-ARRAY Osprey Sensor) in this post: https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=38491.0

No, it isn't the same. Take a closer look at your anemometer. Your wind vane is on top and on the WH65 it is on the bottom. They look similar but not the same. The 3081 is of a prior generation... like 2 generations prior.

Yes, that is my mistake.  Do you know what the difference would be?  Is it the protocol?

Yes the protocol is different. It may use the same frequency but the protocol is totally different and matches an earlier Fine Offset generation that looked like this:
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
This is also not compatible with the GW1000.

I've updated this earlier post on this thread with these new images of incompatible sensor arrays.
https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=36772.msg378044#msg378044
« Last Edit: May 24, 2020, 11:47:26 AM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline pimohdaimaoh

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
  • "Be aware to our nature"
    • PIMOHWEATHER

Hi galfert,

Well actually I did, but they prefer me to oder on AMAZON on US or in AU so thats the first I did, but to surprised they tell me thet in AMAZON only 915 MHZ is available. After some questioning,

but  yes Ms. Lucy responded on my E-mail and they accept through bank payments.
I will process that right away tomorrow, will just get first the details of their bank account they gave me.


regards

-mike-


Only places I know to get a GW1000 is Amazon (US website) or directly from Ecowitt. And yes the Amazon version is only for US use with 915 MHz. I didn't think you would have been able to order from Amazon as I thought it was locked down. They should lock that down just as many other things on Amazon are locked down from other countries to prevent this mistake. Why not just order from Ecowitt? Lucy can even take an order over email I believe. When you order from Ecowitt directly then you can specify the frequency you need.


I Forgot to mentioned that I already have my GW1000 and its so good its easy to integrate in Meteobridge and weather display, now my webpage is now updating evry 10 seconds, I still using my weewx for NOAA records and as my additional source page on my main
« Last Edit: May 24, 2020, 10:44:52 AM by pimohdaimaoh »

 

anything