Author Topic: Posting to Windy for non-CWOP stations - Map display  (Read 1159 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5758
Posting to Windy for non-CWOP stations - Map display
« on: April 16, 2019, 06:15:49 PM »
If anyone is uploading directly to Windy.com and is not on CWOP please reply with your Windy station ID or station URL.

I'm looking to see if non-CWOP stations show on the Windy map. For my station and anyone else's that I've checked so far they are all also on CWOP so that doesn't help me as they show on the map as CWOP stations.

Thanks!
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline Jasiu

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 785
    • LexMAWeather
Re: Posting to Windy for non-CWOP stations - Map display
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2019, 07:45:38 PM »
Not what you asked, galfert, but I'm seeing the name of my station (Outlook Drive) now next to the CWOP (see pic). If I click on the "55" I still get the CWOP report.

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5758
Re: Posting to Windy for non-CWOP stations - Map display
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2019, 07:24:46 AM »
Yes I can see my own Windy station name too (non-CWOP). But that is only because I went to it and/or made it a Favorite.

What I want to know is if non-CWOP stations show up on the map without doing those things. I don't need anyone to figure this out. Just share your station ID if you are on Windy and you do not report to CWOP.

I'm tempted to just temporarily create a dummy station somewhere on the map to find out. Seems a bit disingenuous to mess with the map that way even if temporary. So I rather someone just share their station ID.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2019, 07:31:30 AM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Online mcrossley

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
    • Wilmslow Astro
Re: Posting to Windy for non-CWOP stations - Map display
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2019, 12:40:12 PM »
My station ID is f06ebac8

If you look at the map here: https://www.windy.com/?53.325,-2.243,12,i:pressure

Can you see my "Wilmslow Astro" PWS station in Wilmslow?
Mark

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5758
Re: Posting to Windy for non-CWOP stations - Map display
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2019, 02:18:02 PM »
Thank you that answers the question!

ANSWER: YES Windy pws stations show up on the map that aren't also CWOP stations.

This is a Windy pws:
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

...but if you report to CWOP and to Windy directly then your CWOP station takes precedence on the map. That doesn't mean you can't force the map to show you the Windy pws though. It just has to then be done on an individual basis by setting a Favorite or going to the direct link for that station.

This is a CWOP station that also has a Windy pws station ID but you wouldn't know just by looking at the map:
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5758
Re: Posting to Windy for non-CWOP stations - Map display
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2019, 02:20:16 PM »
I think it would be neat if Windy added a map filter to show only their PWS station IDs. Or rather to turn off CWOP stations. Also if there is a duplicate station like mine I think the Windy Station ID should take precedence on the map as the data is more timely.

« Last Edit: May 13, 2020, 11:59:42 AM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline FW8379

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Posting to Windy for non-CWOP stations - Map display
« Reply #6 on: October 03, 2020, 11:11:29 PM »
This may be more appropriately posted on Windy...but here goes.

I understand that a CWOP/MADIS station should "automatically" show up on the Windy map. (I am not currently sending my PWS directly to Windy).
My CWOP station (F8379) does not show on the Windy map even if I have Wind or Temp displayed.
If I search "station F8379" in the search box it doesn't show up either.
BUT, if I put my ID directly into the URL address my station is in the system so to speak >> https://www.windy.com/station/madis-F8379  The reporting time and avg delay say "NaMn" for some reason too. (?)
There are a lot of settings in their interface so maybe I've got something wrong. Or maybe there needs to be more days worth of my PWS data in MADIS (causing the "NaNm" reporting time?)
Not a really big deal as I can just bookmark the URL, but it would be nice for my station to show up like other madis stations.

Offline FW8379

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Posting to Windy for non-CWOP stations - Map display
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2020, 10:20:26 AM »
UPDATE:
Magically this morning, my station is on the Windy map. Must have been I needed to be more patient.

 

anything