Author Topic: You can now upload to Windy  (Read 12534 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5683
Re: You can now upload to Windy
« Reply #175 on: August 27, 2020, 09:10:48 PM »
No, what makes you think that?
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline TraderGary

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: You can now upload to Windy
« Reply #176 on: August 27, 2020, 10:56:34 PM »
Sorry, I'm still in learn mode since I'm still new to anything other than my several years with WU.
I thought I could just register like I did with WU and AWEKAS and then upload data and look at it.
I don't understand this site at all.
Davis 6163 Vantage Pro2 Plus (Wireless) | Davis WeatherLink Live | Meteobridge Pro Red
WU: KGALOGAN20 | AWEKAS: 16965 | Windy: pws-f05f9e6b

Offline miraculon

  • Sunrise Side Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3684
  • KE8DAF
    • Sunrise Side Weather in Rogers City MI USA
Re: You can now upload to Windy
« Reply #177 on: August 28, 2020, 08:14:45 AM »
I am using my Meteobridge Pro Red to upload to Windy.

It is under the "Weather Nets" tab. If you don't have a Windy key, check this out: https://community.windy.com/topic/8168/report-your-weather-station-data-to-windy

Greg H.





Blitzortung Stations #706 and #1682
CoCoRaHS: MI-PI-1
CWOP: CW4114 and KE8DAF-13
WU: KMIROGER7
Amateur Radio Callsign: KE8DAF

Offline TraderGary

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: You can now upload to Windy
« Reply #178 on: August 29, 2020, 11:38:10 PM »
From what I can tell, getting a key requires running a weather site on your own computer 24/7.
I'm not willing to do that on my local computer. However I do have a web page on GoDaddy.com but don't know how to run a weather site there.
Is there a how-to somewhere to guide one through what is required?
Davis 6163 Vantage Pro2 Plus (Wireless) | Davis WeatherLink Live | Meteobridge Pro Red
WU: KGALOGAN20 | AWEKAS: 16965 | Windy: pws-f05f9e6b

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5683
Re: You can now upload to Windy
« Reply #179 on: August 30, 2020, 10:42:58 AM »
From what I can tell, getting a key requires running a weather site on your own computer 24/7.
The Meteobridge is a computer that runs 24/7. That is all you need to upload 24/7. Getting the key is one time thing that you do with your computer as part of the setup and registration process.

Quote
Is there a how-to somewhere to guide one through what is required?
Did you try going to the following address to create your account and generate a key and then set up your first station ID?
https://stations.windy.com/stations
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline davidmc36

  • Morewood Ontario Canada
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 228
    • IONOTTAW14
Re: You can now upload to Windy
« Reply #180 on: August 30, 2020, 02:02:43 PM »
I find the windy station thing weird.

I did the input but see no indication of any stations when I navigate there again.

IDK if because it already had my CWOP ID station logged and then somehow it got what it recognizes as a duplicate and named it "wifilogger". That is not what I put down for station name.

But I got a key and Meteobridge reports successful upload.........IDK what is happening for sure.

Offline TraderGary

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: You can now upload to Windy
« Reply #181 on: September 04, 2020, 05:23:41 AM »
Finally... I got a very long API key and ID. After I copy and pasted the API Key in the "Weather Nets" tab in meteobridge, I got the green checkmarks that mean everything is correct.

I don't see my station on Windy yet but reading from someone else he waited overnight before Windy finally recognized him.
Phew... that was a process and unlike anything I've done so far.

Thanks for the patience galfert.

Edit: There it is! And note that I've added Windy to my signature!
« Last Edit: September 04, 2020, 06:46:02 AM by TraderGary »
Davis 6163 Vantage Pro2 Plus (Wireless) | Davis WeatherLink Live | Meteobridge Pro Red
WU: KGALOGAN20 | AWEKAS: 16965 | Windy: pws-f05f9e6b