Author Topic: Connecting Cumulus MX to Fine Offset station  (Read 540 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Waimarie

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Connecting Cumulus MX to Fine Offset station
« on: December 05, 2019, 01:31:33 AM »
So.... I now have Cumulus MX running fine, but it isn't reading my FineOffset 3081 station.  The old Cumulus connected perfectly and just found the USB connection automatically.  How do I get MX to see my station?

Thanks in advance.
Ian in NZ
Fine Offset WH3081 (Deceased)
Mi.Sol  WH2900C
Ecowitt GW 1000 915MHz
Ecowitt GW 1000 433MHz
Ecowitt WH 31
Ecowitt WH51
WU: IFEATH6
WOW: 910486001
Weathercloud: d4523488549

Online mcrossley

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 480
    • Wilmslow Astro
Re: Connecting Cumulus MX to Fine Offset station
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2019, 08:50:49 AM »
It should work just the same, we need a bit more to go on to diagnose what is going wrong.

What does it say on the console screen?
Are there any errors in the log file?
Mark

Online galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3934
Re: Connecting Cumulus MX to Fine Offset station
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2019, 09:01:53 AM »
Perhaps you are trying to run Cumulus 1 with Cumulus MX at the same time? Is that even supported via USB to this station model?

According to this below link post it seems that running Easyweather at the same time directly is not advisable. I would assume then that the same holds true for running Cumulus 1 and Cumulus MX at the same time directly.

https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=14049.msg137268#msg137268

« Last Edit: December 05, 2019, 09:12:27 AM by galfert »
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Online mcrossley

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 480
    • Wilmslow Astro
Re: Connecting Cumulus MX to Fine Offset station
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2019, 12:22:42 PM »
Correct, only one piece of software can access the station at any time.
Mark

Offline Waimarie

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: Connecting Cumulus MX to Fine Offset station
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2019, 01:31:31 PM »
First thing I did was to stop Cumulus 1 running.   MX just sits there looking pretty.  I can't see anything in it related to connecting to the station.
Fine Offset WH3081 (Deceased)
Mi.Sol  WH2900C
Ecowitt GW 1000 915MHz
Ecowitt GW 1000 433MHz
Ecowitt WH 31
Ecowitt WH51
WU: IFEATH6
WOW: 910486001
Weathercloud: d4523488549

Offline Waimarie

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: Connecting Cumulus MX to Fine Offset station **update**
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2019, 02:14:25 PM »
Panic over!!    I discovered "settings" and changed to my station.  All data values now populated.     However data on cumulus MX different to the weather station.  The same problem I was having with Cumulus 1.

Verdict ....Station is munted (Kiwi expression for stuffed)
Fine Offset WH3081 (Deceased)
Mi.Sol  WH2900C
Ecowitt GW 1000 915MHz
Ecowitt GW 1000 433MHz
Ecowitt WH 31
Ecowitt WH51
WU: IFEATH6
WOW: 910486001
Weathercloud: d4523488549

Online galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3934
Re: Connecting Cumulus MX to Fine Offset station
« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2019, 02:21:18 PM »
Close Cumulus and run Easyweather and see what the results are.

Seems strange that display console is okay but what is sending out USB would be different.

Maybe USB driver got messed up. Uninstall device driver from Device Manager and have it reinstall.
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline waiukuweather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 846
Re: Connecting Cumulus MX to Fine Offset station
« Reply #7 on: December 05, 2019, 02:39:29 PM »
sometimes this can happen to this weather station console, where it can get corrupted, the data being sent (internal memory corruption)

Offline Waimarie

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: Connecting Cumulus MX to Fine Offset station
« Reply #8 on: December 05, 2019, 03:20:17 PM »
sometimes this can happen to this weather station console, where it can get corrupted, the data being sent (internal memory corruption)

Is there any way to correct this?  I have removed the batteries and usb lead and let it stand for 30 minutes then restarted but still the same  :sad:
Fine Offset WH3081 (Deceased)
Mi.Sol  WH2900C
Ecowitt GW 1000 915MHz
Ecowitt GW 1000 433MHz
Ecowitt WH 31
Ecowitt WH51
WU: IFEATH6
WOW: 910486001
Weathercloud: d4523488549

Offline waiukuweather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 846
Re: Connecting Cumulus MX to Fine Offset station
« Reply #9 on: December 05, 2019, 04:23:55 PM »
only solution is to get a new console you might find
does the software that comes with the station work?

Online galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3934
Re: Connecting Cumulus MX to Fine Offset station
« Reply #10 on: December 05, 2019, 04:49:14 PM »
If it turns out to be permanent memory corruption and it doesn't work with Easyweather then give its replacement a good thought. Being that the station is 2 generations behind you probably had a good run with it. Might as well replace it for newer current generation stuff.

Some people have a hard time throwing something away that still works long after newer better technologies come out. The decision just got made easier.  :grin:
WS-2000 & WS-2902A | Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline Waimarie

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: Connecting Cumulus MX to Fine Offset station
« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2019, 05:15:32 PM »
only solution is to get a new console you might find
does the software that comes with the station work?

same whatever the software.  Looks like a new station is on the horizon.  I bought it from OZ for AU$110 and they still do them for AU$120 3 years on. 
Fine Offset WH3081 (Deceased)
Mi.Sol  WH2900C
Ecowitt GW 1000 915MHz
Ecowitt GW 1000 433MHz
Ecowitt WH 31
Ecowitt WH51
WU: IFEATH6
WOW: 910486001
Weathercloud: d4523488549

Offline Waimarie

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: Connecting Cumulus MX to Fine Offset station
« Reply #12 on: December 05, 2019, 05:21:01 PM »
If it turns out to be permanent memory corruption and it doesn't work with Easyweather then give its replacement a good thought. Being that the station is 2 generations behind you probably had a good run with it. Might as well replace it for newer current generation stuff.

Some people have a hard time throwing something away that still works long after newer better technologies come out. The decision just got made easier.  :grin:

I am the worst person for throwing things away.  However I am retired and don't have the same limitless funds I used to have so looking at costs, a replacement WH3081 is about a third the cost of newer models and it means I will have a box of spare sensors for the future.   https://ss-tradings.com.au/Solar-Powered-Professional-Wireless-Weather-Station-with-PC-Link-WH3081-P2937650.aspx 
Fine Offset WH3081 (Deceased)
Mi.Sol  WH2900C
Ecowitt GW 1000 915MHz
Ecowitt GW 1000 433MHz
Ecowitt WH 31
Ecowitt WH51
WU: IFEATH6
WOW: 910486001
Weathercloud: d4523488549