Author Topic: Eterlogic VSPE  (Read 2841 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SierraFoothills

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • Rail Road Flat Weather
Eterlogic VSPE
« on: February 26, 2018, 03:47:36 PM »
Does anyone know if the Eterlogic serial port emulator by itself
http://www.eterlogic.com/Products.VSPE.html
can be used to run VWS and WeatherLink on the same computer? I am using VWS but would like some of the features of Weatherlink. The 32bit driver is free.

mike

Windows 7 32Bit
Davis VP2 Firmware Rev 3.63
Weatherlink USB in serial mode
WeatherLink v6.03
Virtual Weather Station v15 p05
http://weather.railroadflat.org
« Last Edit: February 26, 2018, 06:55:12 PM by SierraFoothills »

Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7418
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: Eterlogic VSPE
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2018, 07:25:16 PM »
That's a No .. You would need to run VirtualVP to offer separate ports.  The problem is that VirtualVP does not support firmware above 1.90 (AFAIK) and since you have a new Davis system, VirtualVP wouldn't work with it.  Sorry...

The VSPE software just provides a 'null modem' connection between two serial ports (a pair).  I use it with VirtualVP (and my old VP1+ console) to map pairs like COM5-COM15, COM6-COM16 (etc) and VirtualVP offers COM15, COM16 (etc) and the weather software connects to COM5, COM6 etc. 

So, with your new firmware, you won't be able to run more than one weather software at a time :(
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Boltek-PCI/NexStorm, microSferics ToA, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge/hub
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline SierraFoothills

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • Rail Road Flat Weather
Re: Eterlogic VSPE
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2018, 07:48:49 PM »
Thanks. Do you happen to know if there is a hardware solution?

mike

Offline johnd

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3301
    • www.weatherstations.co.uk
Re: Eterlogic VSPE
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2018, 07:21:51 AM »
Thanks. Do you happen to know if there is a hardware solution?

There isn't. At least, not other than running a second console/logger (assuming that it's a wireless station) and hence having a second independent feed of data.
Prodata Weather Systems
Prodata's dedicated Davis EnviroMonitor website
UK Davis Premier Dealer - All Davis stations, accessories and spares
Littleport, Ely, Cambs UK

Offline AZmonsooncats

  • Current weather conditions in North Phoenix, Ariz
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 226
  • Me & My Little Sis!!
    • Pepper Ridge North Valley  Weather and Lightning
Re: Eterlogic VSPE
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2019, 07:12:22 PM »
Been asking in my other post  about upgrading my computer, but is this the driver that will be necessary to run Virtual Vp, with Weatherlink, Vp Live and Weather display on my new windows 10 computer? It should be arriving in a few days and trying to figure out how to get everything up and running from my old xp computer. Note I do have the older firmware in my Vantage Pro 2 console since I never upgraded it. The new computer will have a serial port on a pCIe card.

Quote
Needing Advise on a replacement Computer as the old machine is on it's last leg.

Jeanette
« Last Edit: February 05, 2019, 07:13:53 PM by AZmonsooncats »
"Some dreams are in the night time, And some seem like yesterday
But leaves turn brown and fade, Ships sail away
You long to say a thousand words…but Seasons Change."


Offline CW2274

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4728
    • Conditions @ CW2274 West Tucson-Painted Hills Ranch
Re: Eterlogic VSPE
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2019, 07:20:47 PM »
Note I do have the older firmware in my Vantage Pro 2 console since I never upgraded it.
I posted a full install of WL 6.0.3. for you on the other thread.

Offline AZmonsooncats

  • Current weather conditions in North Phoenix, Ariz
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 226
  • Me & My Little Sis!!
    • Pepper Ridge North Valley  Weather and Lightning
Re: Eterlogic VSPE
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2019, 07:40:14 PM »
Well the new computer arrived today a Dell Optiplex 7060 It is my understanding that this driver will allow me to connect my virtual Vp with weatherlink 5.7.1, weather display and vp live on a windows 10 computer? Hopefully that is right any feedback on this would be appreciated I assuming this is a easy install, is worth getting the disk for a back up?

Thank you I consider the upgrade in weatherlink but is it compatible with the older firmware? Mine is original firmware from 2007.
 
 
Note I do have the older firmware in my Vantage Pro 2 console since I never upgraded it.
I posted a full install of WL 6.0.3. for you on the other thread.

Jeanette
« Last Edit: February 07, 2019, 07:55:04 PM by AZmonsooncats »
"Some dreams are in the night time, And some seem like yesterday
But leaves turn brown and fade, Ships sail away
You long to say a thousand words…but Seasons Change."


Offline AZmonsooncats

  • Current weather conditions in North Phoenix, Ariz
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 226
  • Me & My Little Sis!!
    • Pepper Ridge North Valley  Weather and Lightning
Re: Eterlogic VSPE
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2019, 11:44:24 PM »
Update finally got weatherlink5.7.1 and latest weather-display working on the new computer, although I can run only one program at a time right now until I get VSPE api key to try to run multiple programs again. I assuming the key is necessary to run the virtual serial port emulator. I have not installed virtual vp or vp live yet until I receive the info. Please give me feedback on this I am assuming my thoughts on this are correct

Jeanette
« Last Edit: February 17, 2019, 11:47:38 PM by AZmonsooncats »
"Some dreams are in the night time, And some seem like yesterday
But leaves turn brown and fade, Ships sail away
You long to say a thousand words…but Seasons Change."


Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7418
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: Eterlogic VSPE
« Reply #8 on: February 18, 2019, 11:31:17 AM »
Jeanette, VSPE needs a Windows program key to be fully functional on your system for 64bit use.   http://www.eterlogic.com/Products.VSPE.html costs $24
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Boltek-PCI/NexStorm, microSferics ToA, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge/hub
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7319
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Eterlogic VSPE
« Reply #9 on: February 18, 2019, 12:54:40 PM »
Does VSPE work on Win 10?
Need low cost IP monitoring?  http://wirelesstag.net/wta.aspx?link=NisJxz6FhUa4V67/cwCRWA or PM me for 50% off Wirelesstags!!

Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7418
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: Eterlogic VSPE
« Reply #10 on: February 18, 2019, 01:30:07 PM »
Works fine on Windows 10 Home and Pro.
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Boltek-PCI/NexStorm, microSferics ToA, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge/hub
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline AZmonsooncats

  • Current weather conditions in North Phoenix, Ariz
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 226
  • Me & My Little Sis!!
    • Pepper Ridge North Valley  Weather and Lightning
Re: Eterlogic VSPE
« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2019, 04:26:19 AM »
Hi Ken,

I have had VSPE up and running for about 2 months now I was delayed in setting up do to a back injury and it works great expect one minor every time I have to reboot the computer I have to import my saved settings as it losses them every time. I check the website and I have the latest version is there a way to get them to automatically come up? Please let know if there is a simple solution to this problem.

Thanks,

Jeanette
"Some dreams are in the night time, And some seem like yesterday
But leaves turn brown and fade, Ships sail away
You long to say a thousand words…but Seasons Change."


Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7418
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: Eterlogic VSPE
« Reply #12 on: July 30, 2019, 10:49:38 AM »
Hi Jeanette,

I have VSPE installed in c:\VSPE and use StartWatch to start it.  The key was saving the configuration to a file and then using the parameters on the start command to load the saved configuration.

Hope this helps..

Best regards,
Ken
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Boltek-PCI/NexStorm, microSferics ToA, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge/hub
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline AZmonsooncats

  • Current weather conditions in North Phoenix, Ariz
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 226
  • Me & My Little Sis!!
    • Pepper Ridge North Valley  Weather and Lightning
Re: Eterlogic VSPE
« Reply #13 on: August 01, 2019, 04:46:07 AM »
Hi Ken,

I am using StartWatch and My settings are right now in c:\Eterlogic folder do they need to placed somewhere else to be called in StartWatch?

Jeanette
"Some dreams are in the night time, And some seem like yesterday
But leaves turn brown and fade, Ships sail away
You long to say a thousand words…but Seasons Change."


Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7418
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: Eterlogic VSPE
« Reply #14 on: August 02, 2019, 03:44:08 PM »
No, they can be placed in any folder .. the important thing is to use VSPE's File, Save As... dialog to save the current configuration file.

Then you use that file (along with the startup parameters) when launching VSPE so it starts running 'quietly'.

I have my VSPE installed in C:\VSPE, and my configuration file (named _ports.vspe) installed in the c:\winapps directory.

So in StartWatch, the program name is
Code: [Select]
C:\VSPE\VSPEmulator.exe and the
parameters to launch are
Code: [Select]
c:\winapps\_ports.vspe -hide_spash -minimize
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Boltek-PCI/NexStorm, microSferics ToA, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge/hub
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline AZmonsooncats

  • Current weather conditions in North Phoenix, Ariz
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 226
  • Me & My Little Sis!!
    • Pepper Ridge North Valley  Weather and Lightning
Re: Eterlogic VSPE
« Reply #15 on: August 20, 2019, 11:31:37 PM »
Hi Ken,

I tried what you  suggested but my original Parameters  settings did not work as I had saved my Vpse in my documents folder so I am now trying.

Code: [Select]
C:\Apps\vspe_settings.vspe -hide_spash -minimize
Hoping it will work net time I reboot. One other question can you request start watch start up a program in run as Administrator mode.?

Jeanette
« Last Edit: August 20, 2019, 11:34:15 PM by AZmonsooncats »
"Some dreams are in the night time, And some seem like yesterday
But leaves turn brown and fade, Ships sail away
You long to say a thousand words…but Seasons Change."


 

anything