Author Topic: WU - Let us know your issues  (Read 62386 times)

WheatonRon and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Online galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 842
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #875 on: September 08, 2018, 08:58:56 AM »
Some other things to try.

- test Chrome incognito mode. If this works then clear your browser cache. Or just clear browser cache anyway.
- go to Wundermap Map Settings and see if changing map type fixes the problem (Terrain, Dark, Light, Satellite, Hybrid).
WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline optical_man

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • WeatherUnderground
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #876 on: September 14, 2018, 06:56:21 PM »
Does anyone know how to clear their pws status message?  I can change my status message, but it won't fully accept an empty message like the directions say.

Online galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 842
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #877 on: September 14, 2018, 07:57:23 PM »
Does anyone know how to clear their pws status message?  I can change my status message, but it won't fully accept an empty message like the directions say.

I think it is just a matter of repeatedly trying and trying again and again and again. Weather Underground's user interface is annoyingly problematic to change anything. The same thing happens when you try and click on the little map and change station. Or have you ever tried to change units from F to C? It takes more than one attempt. Some things like editing data in the charts is seemingly impossible. But you can try changing it in the other place that is not your dashboard view, instead go to Profile / My Weather Stations / then select Status Message.

I really wish that the user interface wasn't so annoyingly frustrating to change things on the dashboard view. Why does the the browser take so long to register what you want to view? This is not what cloud computing is supposed to be like.
WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline dupreezd

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 468
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #878 on: September 14, 2018, 08:14:09 PM »
Quote
Does anyone know how to clear their pws status message?  I can change my status message, but it won't fully accept an empty message like the directions say.

This has been a problem for a long time. I just put a period "." in my message. Small enough not to be to noticeable.
WS-1200-IP | ObserverIP | Meteobridge
WU, PWSWeather - KTXCONRO61
CWOP - FW0717
Blitzortung 2100

Offline havtrail

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
    • Haverford Weather Station
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #879 on: September 14, 2018, 08:55:16 PM »
Quote
Does anyone know how to clear their pws status message?  I can change my status message, but it won't fully accept an empty message like the directions say.

This has been a problem for a long time. I just put a period "." in my message. Small enough not to be to noticeable.

This is what I did, too.

Rich K.
Onset HOBO RX3003 Cellular
http://weather.havtrail.com
WU KPAHAVER17

Offline rormeister

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #880 on: September 14, 2018, 10:04:17 PM »
This has been a problem for a long time. I just put a period "." in my message. Small enough not to be to noticeable.

MacOS (and iPad) Option+Space
Windows Alt+0160

These creat a non-breaking space.  I don’t have a Win machine handy, but Opt-Space works on my iPad.

Online galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 842
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #881 on: September 14, 2018, 11:02:35 PM »
If you replace the status with this exact phrase below the message will disappear. It's like a magic phrase:
No Status Message

Try it. It's weird but it is like a variable that makes it disappear. It won't actually end up keeping the phrase.

Now if you are looking at your station under your login then it will still say Status with nothing after it. But for other people it won't show even the Status prompt. Test it by opening up an incognito browser window, or log out of WU.

UPDATE- Forget I said this. It now says the phrase No Status Message. It didn't say it at first and it was blank. I'm not going to even try and figure this out.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2018, 11:11:39 PM by galfert »
WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline optical_man

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • WeatherUnderground
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #882 on: September 15, 2018, 07:55:59 AM »
Well, it's clear that it is a bug.  None of the suggestions remove the status message completely for me.  Alt-0160 is very close, but the "Status:" line still shows up.

The directions to empty the box on the PWS management page don't work either:
Quote
https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/mypws
[attachment id=1 msg=358613]
« Last Edit: September 15, 2018, 08:00:41 AM by optical_man »

Offline Steve Kolenda

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #883 on: September 15, 2018, 08:11:33 AM »
I have a PWS (KSCTAYLO50) on Wunderground which is reporting the wrong wind data. The reported high wind is typically considerably less than the actual on my weather station.  In plotting the two sets of data, there appears to be no factor, as one is no obvious multiple of the other.  Wunderground always under reporting.

Offline optical_man

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • WeatherUnderground
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #884 on: September 15, 2018, 08:52:18 AM »
I have a PWS (KSCTAYLO50) on Wunderground which is reporting the wrong wind data.
This isn't a WU problem.  It must be the software that you are using to upload the data to WU.  I have a Davis vpro2 also and I don't have any data discepancies with WU.

Offline Steve Kolenda

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #885 on: September 15, 2018, 09:07:02 AM »

[/quote]
This isn't a WU problem.  It must be the software that you are using to upload the data to WU.  I have a Davis vpro2 also and I don't have any data discepancies with WU.
[/quote]
OK, can you tell me what software you are using? I am using WeatherLink.

Offline optical_man

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • WeatherUnderground
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #886 on: September 15, 2018, 09:25:30 AM »
OK, can you tell me what software you are using? I am using WeatherLink.
I was afraid you'd ask.  I was fed up like you, but decided to write my own software to upload using rapid fire.  Unfortunately, it probably wouldn't be useful to you unless you have two consoles - one for weatherlink and another dedicated for WU/PWS.  The reason is that my software doesn't depend on archive data, but rather it polls at the fastest rate to not miss any wind or other data events.  Thus requiring a dedicated cosole or envoy.

Online galfert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 842
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #887 on: September 20, 2018, 08:40:33 AM »
Since yesterday, when I try and load my station, I too started seeing this blank white page except for the text below. It takes a few refreshes and then it finally shows me my station dashboard. I guess it is two steps forward with WU and one step back...or is it one step forward and two steps back?   :-k


An error occured:
backend failure
WS-2902A | ObserverIP | WeatherBridge (Meteobridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Tele-Pole flag pole is here (not installed yet)

Offline jackman

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
    • Echo Pines WX Station
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #888 on: September 20, 2018, 02:39:37 PM »
Since yesterday, when I try and load my station, I too started seeing this blank white page except for the text below. It takes a few refreshes and then it finally shows me my station dashboard. I guess it is two steps forward with WU and one step back...or is it one step forward and two steps back?   :-k


An error occured:
backend failure

Same problem here. Arrrgggghhhhh....

Offline WSWeather

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #889 on: September 20, 2018, 03:12:26 PM »
Since yesterday, when I try and load my station, I too started seeing this blank white page except for the text below. It takes a few refreshes and then it finally shows me my station dashboard. I guess it is two steps forward with WU and one step back...or is it one step forward and two steps back?   :-k


An error occured:
backend failure

It's one of those new features the WU drones here keep promising.

Offline clavius

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #890 on: September 20, 2018, 05:33:31 PM »
Since yesterday, when I try and load my station, I too started seeing this blank white page except for the text below. It takes a few refreshes and then it finally shows me my station dashboard. I guess it is two steps forward with WU and one step back...or is it one step forward and two steps back?   :-k


An error occured:
backend failure

I've been seeing the same error on/off over the last few days.
Raspberry Pi3 DIY
Weather Underground Station ID: KCAESCON201

Online ANPweather

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 114
    • Anthem North Parkside, AZ
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #891 on: September 20, 2018, 05:53:09 PM »
I've also seen the same error recently.

Davis Vantage Vue, Davis Pro 2 Console with Wifi Logger
Weather Display software
WU: KAZNEWRI17
PWS: ANTHEMNP
CWOP: EW7526

Offline Jstx

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
  • Baby the Rain Must Fall
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #892 on: September 20, 2018, 05:55:08 PM »
Since yesterday, when I try and load my station, I too started seeing this blank white page except for the text below. It takes a few refreshes and then it finally shows me my station dashboard. I guess it is two steps forward with WU and one step back...or is it one step forward and two steps back?   :-k

An error occured:
backend failure

Exact same thing on my WU page. Can't change it no matter what browser tricks I use to refresh balky webpages. I have seen this error before, and several times recently, but it's in solid now.
FYI, I use the Opera browser for almost all internet access, it's the best browser out there, and has been since the 1990's.

I'm going to try a couple of other options, but WU might have screwed the pooch this time.
Is anyone's WU page(s) working?

Offline WunderTodd (PWS PM)

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Here to listen
    • Weather Underground
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #893 on: September 20, 2018, 05:58:13 PM »
We're aware of the 'backend failure' issue and are investigating.

Appreciate your reports, your patience, and your continued support of WU.

Regards,
ToddG

Offline Glenn

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 358
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #894 on: September 21, 2018, 09:37:43 AM »
I get that error every so often. Hitting refresh on the browser allows the page to load correctly.
Acurite 5 in 1 Pro+
Southern VT
Connecticut

Offline trinity

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #895 on: September 21, 2018, 11:32:24 AM »
Hi,

I'm getting the back end failure also on all the browser I try (listed below).

KTXCOPPE2
Davis Vantage Pro
VWS 15.00
Safari Version 12.0 (13606.2.11)
Chrome Version 69.0.3497.100 (Official Build) (64-bit)
Firefox Quantum 61.0.1 (64-bit)
« Last Edit: September 22, 2018, 09:24:12 PM by trinity »

Offline quailvalleywx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #896 on: September 22, 2018, 11:37:21 AM »
I was seeing "backend failure" frequency was near 100% early Sept 21st while <10% on prior weeks.  Slightly better ~40% failure today.  My neighbor mentioned the page was down and had to explain as more WU problems.  Hopefully ToddG continues to kick someone's/something's backends to get close to 100% functional  :-)

Offline WunderTodd (PWS PM)

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Here to listen
    • Weather Underground
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #897 on: September 22, 2018, 05:49:47 PM »
Hi everyone,

Still working on this one.  May be a couple of days.

PWS Owners:  It is NOT a problem with your PWS.

Thanks again for your patience and understanding.

Online Toxic

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
  • #conligwx
    • conligwx.org
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #898 on: September 22, 2018, 06:00:35 PM »
We're aware of the 'backend failure' issue and are investigating.

Appreciate your reports, your patience, and your continued support of WU.

Regards,
ToddG

All I have seen from WU is apology after apology over the last year.

As to "continued support"?  Todd  - WU is like "flogging a dead horse". 

Do you really think your customer base is going to follow you with the appalling service and lack of support you give PWS Owners?


Online Toxic

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
  • #conligwx
    • conligwx.org
Re: WU - Let us know your issues
« Reply #899 on: September 22, 2018, 06:01:53 PM »

It's one of those new features the WU drones here keep promising.

Yes looks that way.  WU isnt getting new errors, they are hidden features  \:D/