Author Topic: Separate Temp & Humidity sensor for WS-2000?  (Read 283 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Canam

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Separate Temp & Humidity sensor for WS-2000?
« on: September 13, 2020, 07:09:01 PM »
Is it possible to use a separate outdoor temp and humidity gauge with the WS-2000? I only have two viable spots in my yard for the osprey sensor array--one is okay for wind/solar/uv, but terrible for temp, and the other is the opposite. The built in humidity readings are no longer accurate anyways, so if I could add a separate sensor it would solve both problems nicely. I'm just unclear if the WS-2000 console supports overriding the osprey temp and humidity with that a separate sensor.

Offline Canam

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Separate Temp & Humidity sensor for WS-2000?
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2020, 08:58:43 PM »
Think this is what your looking for.

https://www.ambientweather.com/amwh31.html

How do you set that up to be the main source of temp/humidity readings, and not just a separate channel that can be cycled on the console display?

Offline platokidd

  • top side land of Lincoln
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 200
Re: Separate Temp & Humidity sensor for WS-2000?
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2020, 09:00:58 PM »
Was trying to correct my link / post deleted. My understanding is it will override the outdoor temp and humidity sensor automatically. If you scan through the console to sensors you should see it.

https://www.ambientweather.com/amwh32e.html
« Last Edit: September 13, 2020, 09:03:35 PM by platokidd »
2-WS-2000 | WS-2902A | GW1000 | AW MeteoBridge |
CWOP:FW5295 | :FW6969
WINDY:pws-1f06e86b4 |
PWSweather:343434 | :KILROCKF100
WU:KILPLATO3 | :KILROCKF100

Offline Mandrake

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 797
Re: Separate Temp & Humidity sensor for WS-2000?
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2020, 03:28:17 AM »
Correct about the over-riding.
The sensors all have a sort of hierarchy in the firmware so if you have them all and on the firmware takes certain value from certain sensors and ignores any value from the others.
Retired: Old Maplin N96Y/FO Weather station
G1ZFO

Ecowitt HP2550A + WH65 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO67)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO68)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Mk2) test environment driving CumulusMX on a RPi 3b
Ecowitt WH51 (x4) Soil Moisture Sensor
Ecowitt WH41 PM2.5 AQM Sensor
Ecowitt WH31 (x8) Thermo/Hygro Sensor
Ecowitt WS80 Ultrasonic Anemometer (pre-prod test)
Ecowitt WH57 Lightning Sensor (pre-prod test)

Offline Canam

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Separate Temp & Humidity sensor for WS-2000?
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2020, 01:10:53 PM »
Was trying to correct my link / post deleted. My understanding is it will override the outdoor temp and humidity sensor automatically. If you scan through the console to sensors you should see it.
https://www.ambientweather.com/amwh32e.html
Correct about the over-riding.
The sensors all have a sort of hierarchy in the firmware so if you have them all and on the firmware takes certain value from certain sensors and ignores any value from the others.

Thanks guys, looks like I need to wait until stock is replenished.

Offline platokidd

  • top side land of Lincoln
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 200
Re: Separate Temp & Humidity sensor for WS-2000?
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2020, 11:17:23 PM »
Was trying to correct my link / post deleted. My understanding is it will override the outdoor temp and humidity sensor automatically. If you scan through the console to sensors you should see it.
https://www.ambientweather.com/amwh32e.html
Correct about the over-riding.
The sensors all have a sort of hierarchy in the firmware so if you have them all and on the firmware takes certain value from certain sensors and ignores any value from the others.

Thanks guys, looks like I need to wait until stock is replenished.

It's in stock now.
2-WS-2000 | WS-2902A | GW1000 | AW MeteoBridge |
CWOP:FW5295 | :FW6969
WINDY:pws-1f06e86b4 |
PWSweather:343434 | :KILROCKF100
WU:KILPLATO3 | :KILROCKF100

Online abusuzuki

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Separate Temp & Humidity sensor for WS-2000?
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2020, 07:21:53 AM »
Is the Ambient sensor WH32E the same as Ecowitt WH32-EP that use the SHT35 chip ?

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5760
Re: Separate Temp & Humidity sensor for WS-2000?
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2020, 08:02:34 AM »
Is the Ambient sensor WH32E the same as Ecowitt WH32-EP that use the SHT35 chip ?

No, those are not the same. The standard WH32/E has the SHT30 chip.

You can visually tell them apart because the SHT35 is mounted to an external probe on a long cable.

* Not to be confused with long cable with probe on the end of the GW1000 as that is an SHT30.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2020, 08:06:19 AM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge (WeatherBridge)
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

 

anything