Author Topic: Noise  (Read 1653 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 92merc

  • BismarckWeather.net
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 934
  • BismarckWeather.net
    • BismarckWeather.net
Noise
« on: May 10, 2016, 03:12:51 PM »
After looking at some other questions I had about my Blitz settings, I've noticed my live data has noise on it.  I thought it may be H Field related.  But I disconnected that and the noise is still there.

So my next theory is power related.  I don't see the 5V meter on the signals page.  It probably disappeared after v7.  Is it really gone or am I missing something?
https://www.BismarckWeather.net
Davis VP2, Cumulus, WeatherDisplay, Blitzortung, Bloomsky, Saratoga Scripts, NOAA Stream via PI

Offline W3DRM

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3322
    • Carson Valley Weather
Re: Noise
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2016, 03:32:26 PM »
After looking at some other questions I had about my Blitz settings, I've noticed my live data has noise on it.  I thought it may be H Field related.  But I disconnected that and the noise is still there.

So my next theory is power related.  I don't see the 5V meter on the signals page.  It probably disappeared after v7.  Is it really gone or am I missing something?

The voltage/GPS 1PPS signal is still available at least through 8.0-b3. See the attached image for where to find it on the Signals page. It's at the bottom...
« Last Edit: May 10, 2016, 03:34:55 PM by W3DRM »
Don - W3DRM - Minden, Nevada --- Blitzortung ID: 808 --- FlightRadar24 ID: F-KRNO2
Davis Wireless VP2, WD 10.37s101,
StartWatch, VirtualVP, VPLive, Win10 Pro
--- Logitech HD Pro C920 webcam
--- RIPE Atlas Probe - 32849

Offline 92merc

  • BismarckWeather.net
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 934
  • BismarckWeather.net
    • BismarckWeather.net
Re: Noise
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2016, 03:43:43 PM »
Which one?  V_in, V_ref?  I've tried both of those.  Nothing ever comes up on my screen.
https://www.BismarckWeather.net
Davis VP2, Cumulus, WeatherDisplay, Blitzortung, Bloomsky, Saratoga Scripts, NOAA Stream via PI

Offline Cutty Sark Sailor

  • WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3127
    • Frankfort Weather - TwinHollies WeatherCenter
Re: Noise
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2016, 05:27:35 PM »
It's V In ,...  make sure "auto" is checked... might see noting otherwise.
 

Offline 92merc

  • BismarckWeather.net
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 934
  • BismarckWeather.net
    • BismarckWeather.net
Re: Noise
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2016, 05:43:32 PM »
Yep, have those checked.  I might have to wait until I get home.  Maybe remotely it isn't working.
https://www.BismarckWeather.net
Davis VP2, Cumulus, WeatherDisplay, Blitzortung, Bloomsky, Saratoga Scripts, NOAA Stream via PI

Offline 92merc

  • BismarckWeather.net
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 934
  • BismarckWeather.net
    • BismarckWeather.net
Re: Noise
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2016, 10:24:48 AM »
While at home, I was able to see the V_in just fine.  But it didn't reveal anything.  So I swapped out my existing USB power supply for an IPad power adapter.  Looking at the V_in, it is worse than the Anaker USB power adapter I bought.  But the bigger deal is that it had NO effect on the noise.

So now I'll wait until everyone leaves the house and start flipping breakers to see if the noise is in my house.
https://www.BismarckWeather.net
Davis VP2, Cumulus, WeatherDisplay, Blitzortung, Bloomsky, Saratoga Scripts, NOAA Stream via PI

Offline W3DRM

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3322
    • Carson Valley Weather
Re: Noise
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2016, 11:16:23 AM »
It's V In ,...  make sure "auto" is checked... might see noting otherwise.

What "auto" are you referring to? I don't see any auto setting on my RED.
Don - W3DRM - Minden, Nevada --- Blitzortung ID: 808 --- FlightRadar24 ID: F-KRNO2
Davis Wireless VP2, WD 10.37s101,
StartWatch, VirtualVP, VPLive, Win10 Pro
--- Logitech HD Pro C920 webcam
--- RIPE Atlas Probe - 32849

Offline 92merc

  • BismarckWeather.net
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 934
  • BismarckWeather.net
    • BismarckWeather.net
Re: Noise
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2016, 11:23:22 AM »
Upper right corner of the Signals page.
https://www.BismarckWeather.net
Davis VP2, Cumulus, WeatherDisplay, Blitzortung, Bloomsky, Saratoga Scripts, NOAA Stream via PI

Offline 92merc

  • BismarckWeather.net
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 934
  • BismarckWeather.net
    • BismarckWeather.net
Re: Noise
« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2016, 11:32:06 AM »
This is on the 8.0b3 version of firmware.  Not sure if you've upgraded or not.
https://www.BismarckWeather.net
Davis VP2, Cumulus, WeatherDisplay, Blitzortung, Bloomsky, Saratoga Scripts, NOAA Stream via PI

Offline W3DRM

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3322
    • Carson Valley Weather
Re: Noise
« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2016, 11:37:06 AM »
Found it - thanks! It is on the 8.0-b3 firmware. Look just below the signals themselves and to the right of the channel readings. Easy to miss...
Don - W3DRM - Minden, Nevada --- Blitzortung ID: 808 --- FlightRadar24 ID: F-KRNO2
Davis Wireless VP2, WD 10.37s101,
StartWatch, VirtualVP, VPLive, Win10 Pro
--- Logitech HD Pro C920 webcam
--- RIPE Atlas Probe - 32849

Offline 92merc

  • BismarckWeather.net
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 934
  • BismarckWeather.net
    • BismarckWeather.net
Re: Noise
« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2016, 01:07:02 PM »
I just noticed something else weird.  I was checking other live signals on Sferics.us .  I noticed the 976 Eau Claure and 1387 Benton stations are showing the same noise signals I'm showing on my page.

I'm thinking there is something in the new 8 firmware that is causing the issue.  Either that or the 7.4 never showed it and it was there.

But apparently, I'm not the only one seeing those same short ripples.
https://www.BismarckWeather.net
Davis VP2, Cumulus, WeatherDisplay, Blitzortung, Bloomsky, Saratoga Scripts, NOAA Stream via PI