Author Topic: can you help ? cumulus output  (Read 1577 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline weather34

  • its just my hobby
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 890
    • Weather34 Meteobridge MB-SMART
can you help ? cumulus output
« on: March 30, 2016, 07:48:19 AM »
can you help me ?

i am trying finish of a template to use cumulus output , i just want to understand does the cumulus software allow you to choose what
type of unit or data in terms metric or non metric . or does use a default output.

i just need to know whether i need to add conversions  example from celsius to fahrenheit or vice versa .

example of what I'm seeing this shows metric and non metric is this the default or is it able to be set to upload in non metric

29/03/16 13:04:12 12.3 63 5.4 5.0 3.0 199 0.0 0.0 1009.79 SSW 2 mph C mb mm 38.0 +0.35 90.6 90.6 8.0 20.2 41 12.3 +0.9 12.4 11:44 4.6 07:23 6.0 01:10 17.0 01:40 1009.79 12:03 1005.55 00:24 3.0.0 3038 12.0 12.3 11.7 0.0 0.97 895 269 0.0 6 1 0 W 800 ft 9.7 3.4 635 1

I'm sorry I don't use the software but observing a few users output I'm a bit confused .

many thanks

brian
"It is better to fail in originality than to succeed in imitation."--Herman Melville

https://weather34.com/homeweatherstation/meteobridge-mb-smart.html

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8590
    • Meteotemplate
Re: can you help ? cumulus output
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2016, 07:51:39 AM »
Hi Brian,¨
yes unfortunately Cumulus is not standardized, the units can differ, the good thing is that one of the fields always gives you which units are currently being used. What is more problematic is however the date and time and decimal separators. Those are also based on user OS settings.

Offline weather34

  • its just my hobby
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 890
    • Weather34 Meteobridge MB-SMART
Re: can you help ? cumulus output
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2016, 07:58:18 AM »
Hi Brian,¨
yes unfortunately Cumulus is not standardized, the units can differ, the good thing is that one of the fields always gives you which units are currently being used. What is more problematic is however the date and time and decimal separators. Those are also based on user OS settings.

so can you tell me ?

i need to understand does the cumulus software allow the user to determine what format i.e metric or non metric for specific data , in the output above its shows metric celsius and non metric wind ,so i am try determine is this set by the user in the software prior to upload . if so i don't need to add conversions to the template it can be done by the user at software level.

"It is better to fail in originality than to succeed in imitation."--Herman Melville

https://weather34.com/homeweatherstation/meteobridge-mb-smart.html

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8590
    • Meteotemplate
Re: can you help ? cumulus output
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2016, 08:12:06 AM »
Hi Brian,
I also only rely on what I was told, but if I remember correctly, the units are something you can choose as a user and it is then included in the fields following the numbers (you see it in the example you gave, there is C, mb etc.) So you simply check that field and make a conversion if necessary. Just be careful about the date/time and decimal separator.

Date and time can have various separators, but I think is always given as DD MM YY - two digit abbreviation for yr, but the separators vary. I am unfortunately not sure what all the possibilities are. And decimal can be a comma or a dot (period).

When I did my scripts I mostly worked with this:
http://wiki.sandaysoft.com/a/Realtime.txt

Offline weather34

  • its just my hobby
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 890
    • Weather34 Meteobridge MB-SMART
Re: can you help ? cumulus output
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2016, 08:22:05 AM »
ok no problem seen that page I'm not using date/time output i deducted one number from the output to get the corresponding value
$cumulus[2]  outputs temperature ,in the sheet it is 3

3   8.4   outside temperature   <#temp>

thanks anyway think ill wait till someone can confirm . can anyone actually using cumulus give an answer please ?

brian
"It is better to fail in originality than to succeed in imitation."--Herman Melville

https://weather34.com/homeweatherstation/meteobridge-mb-smart.html

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5855
    • LiVE WEATHER
Re: can you help ? cumulus output
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2016, 08:32:44 AM »
You use settings to determine what units you want.
Randy

Offline weather34

  • its just my hobby
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 890
    • Weather34 Meteobridge MB-SMART
Re: can you help ? cumulus output
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2016, 08:34:14 AM »
You use settings to determine what units you want.

thanks thats just what i wanted to hear . 

many thanks
"It is better to fail in originality than to succeed in imitation."--Herman Melville

https://weather34.com/homeweatherstation/meteobridge-mb-smart.html

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4518
    • KomokaWeather
Re: can you help ? cumulus output
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2016, 09:38:59 AM »
Hi Brian,
I am not at home to look at my Cumulus settings screens but if I recall each?!? of the data measurements can have a unit of measure set.  I.e. wind in MPH and temp in C, pressure in inHg or hPa.

I can double check tonight if needed.

Paul
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus 24-FARS Wireless
Envoy/USB DataLogger/Cumulus v.1.9.4   -   Vue Console/WiFiLogger/CumulusMX
Komoka, ON  Canada
www.komokaweather.ca   www.komokaweather.com   www.komokaweather.com/weather28/  
www.komokaweather.com/pws/index.php
Blitzortung Station #1076 www.lightningmaps.org/blitzortung7/america/index.php?bo_page=statistics&bo_show=network&lang=en&bo_station_id=969


Offline weather34

  • its just my hobby
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 890
    • Weather34 Meteobridge MB-SMART
Re: can you help ? cumulus output
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2016, 09:48:38 AM »
Hi Brian,
I am not at home to look at my Cumulus settings screens but if I recall each?!? of the data measurements can have a unit of measure set.  I.e. wind in MPH and temp in C, pressure in inHg or hPa.

I can double check tonight if needed.

Paul

hi paul

i released a version feel free to tweak and add extras etc , as I don't use cumulus i can't be of much help, but I'm out the range of regular internet for two months or more from april 4th so please just feel free to iron out bugs or add enhancements etc share your findings good or bad  .  I'm sure there will be a few  , everything is driven by the values of the txt output slightly different to what you have been using but hopefully it will work ok and remember the deduct the number scenario we discovered a few weeks back so if you want to change things remember that. 

take care and have fun...


brian

"It is better to fail in originality than to succeed in imitation."--Herman Melville

https://weather34.com/homeweatherstation/meteobridge-mb-smart.html

 

anything