Author Topic: Just got my Bloomsky  (Read 1082 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dennis Rogers

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 211
Just got my Bloomsky
« on: March 04, 2016, 05:00:03 AM »
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]


Attached my new Bloomsky on the fence. First had it in the ground facing North, but found the temps were well out.

On the fence it had a pretty accurate temp, with a degree of the offical temps.

Am from Christchurch,  New Zealand if you care to look up my Bloomsky.

It is facing East, getting some sun in the morning. Facing North and getting sun all day give unrealistic temps, but a more true uv reading. Guess you cannot have it both ways? Accurate temps and UV.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2016, 05:03:33 AM by denodan »

Offline W3DRM

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3320
    • Carson Valley Weather
Re: Just got my Bloomsky
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2016, 10:57:50 AM »
It looks like your unit can be accessed via the following link:
At least, that is the only Bloomsky installation I see in Christchurch, NZ.
Have fun with it! Your temperatures may be affected by the fence so you may want to watch that.
Don - W3DRM - Minden, Nevada --- Blitzortung ID: 808 --- FlightRadar24 ID: F-KRNO2
Davis Wireless VP2, WD 10.37s101,
StartWatch, VirtualVP, VPLive, Win10 Pro
--- Logitech HD Pro C920 webcam
--- RIPE Atlas Probe - 32849

Offline Dennis Rogers

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 211
Re: Just got my Bloomsky
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2016, 12:43:10 PM »
It's pretty good, only about 1 degree out according to the main for cast and may accually be pretty spot on as it is a degree or 2 cooler this side of town.

I am impressed, as it keeps a more consistent temp then my Ambient ws 1001 weather station clone, due to the fact it's in the sun less.

But staking  it in the ground North to always catch the sun all day is hopeless. The temps go through the roof.

I have 2 other simpler weather stations with sensors placed South and in shade, and my Bloomsky still gives the better more consistent temps.

I will asume when I get the morning sun then will see it rise with the sun.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2016, 12:51:39 PM by denodan »

Offline Jumpin Joe

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1023
    • Joe’s Weather
Re: Just got my Bloomsky
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2016, 01:39:15 PM »
I have added you to my favorites.

Welcome!

Joe

Offline Dennis Rogers

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 211
Re: Just got my Bloomsky
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2016, 01:58:26 PM »
Another thing I did, is since it only twists on, a good wind, or time may un twist so as a precaution I tied a bit of fishing line through it to help secure it.

I did see someone on here use cable ties, buy used the fishing line as I can u do it easy if I have to for any reason.

Offline W3DRM

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3320
    • Carson Valley Weather
Re: Just got my Bloomsky
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2016, 02:04:48 PM »
I had a similar concern with mine. It sits out in the open and we often get 40+mph winds here. So far, it hasn't budged a bit.
Don - W3DRM - Minden, Nevada --- Blitzortung ID: 808 --- FlightRadar24 ID: F-KRNO2
Davis Wireless VP2, WD 10.37s101,
StartWatch, VirtualVP, VPLive, Win10 Pro
--- Logitech HD Pro C920 webcam
--- RIPE Atlas Probe - 32849

Offline Dennis Rogers

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 211
Re: Just got my Bloomsky
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2016, 02:07:37 PM »
It looks like your unit can be accessed via the following link:
At least, that is the only Bloomsky installation I see in Christchurch, NZ.
Have fun with it! Your temperatures may be affected by the fence so you may want to watch that.


Thanks wondering how I could access it outside the app.

It is strange. Logging into the dashboard using my Bloomsky account. I cannot access it.. yet shoes I am logged in. Says no station linked and tge message I can buy one.

Tried logging in with facebook and works, am very puzzled.

 

anything