Author Topic: Bloomsky/Wunderground Pressure Bugs  (Read 1788 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nincehelser

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3337
Bloomsky/Wunderground Pressure Bugs
« on: January 20, 2016, 05:29:00 PM »
To keep things simple, I've re-directed my Bloomsky image and data to the same wunderground station, KNEPERU3.

According to the Bloomsky app on my iPhone, the pressure is 30.39 inHg.

However, on wunderground the pressure is showing as 30.08 inHg on the summary data toward the top of the page.

Stranger still, the table data and graph on wunderground is showing 29.18 inHg.

Pressure from my Acurite station is 30.08 inHg.  The nearby airport is also 30.08 inHg. 

???

Looking at the Bloomsky data portal, it's showing 988mb, which converts to about 29.18 inHg.  (I can't figure out how to change units on the portal)

So it seems the data portal and wunderground are in agreement (except for the summary data), but it's 0.9 inHg from what it should be.

The app seems to be 0.31 inHg from what it should be, and 1.21 inHg different from the data portal and wunderground.


« Last Edit: January 20, 2016, 05:40:20 PM by nincehelser »

Offline waysta

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
Re: Bloomsky/Wunderground Pressure Bugs
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2016, 07:56:40 PM »
Hi nincehelser, good catch.  I have not been watching the barometer, waiting for Bloom Sky and/or WU to give us an elevation adjustment capability (possibly in the works).  Mostly I have been hoping WU won't toss us off the map because the uncorrected baro is so far off.  Or, worse yet, factor a Bloom Sky barometer into WU quality control or averages.

I think I might have temperature issues too (Bloom Sky too warm by a few degrees in sun light), but have not studied them yet.  It is a wonderful sky camera.

I went to check mine.  The Bloom Sky phone app stopped working (maybe you got someone working on the problem).  It is now erratic, sometimes closing itself, and showing infinite update with no data or picture.  Also, now the data portal says 502 Bad Gateway nginx.  I hope I didn't get booted  :-(

My WU Bloom Sky barometer says 29.74, which agrees with the graph (the data looks hours incomplete).

My Bloom Sky web page is still working and says 1028 (30.36)

My RainWise AgroMet (+0.59 altitude corrected) reads 30.13 (equiv. to 29.54 uncorrected).  The RainWise follows the local AirForce Base as best as I can tell.  They went over to most civilian operations and only report hourly, with delayed reports.  I need to study the comparison over a few days when the barometer is reasonably steady.  However, I am getting very good QA reports at CWOP, just tuned from +0.58 to +0.59 earlier today as an experiment to very slightly slew in closer on my QA plot if possible.

So, looks like some problems to be sorted out on the Bloom Sky barometer readings.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2016, 08:13:19 PM by waysta »

Offline nincehelser

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3337
Re: Bloomsky/Wunderground Pressure Bugs
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2016, 08:04:35 PM »
I've been having problems with the app closing unexpectedly a few seconds after opening this evening, too.  Never saw that behavior before.

Offline waysta

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
Re: Bloomsky/Wunderground Pressure Bugs
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2016, 08:17:03 PM »
okay, it's back ... check data again across the board.

Bloom Sky data portal 1007 (29.74)
Bloom Sky Web App 1028 (30.36)
Bloom Sky iPhone App 30.35 (1028)
Bloom Sky WU 29.74 (1007)

RainWise WU 30.12 (1020) (uncorrected (-0.59) 29.53 (1000)) (RainWise iPhone App 30.12)
« Last Edit: January 20, 2016, 08:26:45 PM by waysta »

Offline nincehelser

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3337
Re: Bloomsky/Wunderground Pressure Bugs
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2016, 08:28:22 PM »
My pressure results are still the same.  However, the summary pressure on wunderground now matches the table and graph data.

I've no idea how they're coming up with these numbers.  It doesn't seem to be the absolute pressure like it used to be.

My temps seem too warm, also.  However, the Bloomsky is only about 10 feet from the house.  My other sensors are about 50 and 150 feet out.  The further you get from the house, the colder it gets.

I'm guessing temp/humidity on these things is always going to be kind of iffy, especially since most are probably going to site them for the best view, and not best temp sensing.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2016, 08:32:26 PM by nincehelser »

Offline VaJim

  • Virginia Beach Backyard Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 736
    • Virginia Beach Backyard Weather
Re: Bloomsky/Wunderground Pressure Bugs
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2016, 08:29:29 PM »
I'm pretty sure the folks at Bloomsky are aware of the pressure glitch.  I know I mentioned it to them a few weeks ago.  I believe it'll be addressed with the next app.

Offline waysta

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
Re: Bloomsky/Wunderground Pressure Bugs
« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2016, 08:32:13 PM »
I suspect it's new small company growing pains.  It is a remarkably clever design, and at the least a wonderful sky camera in this price class.

At least it's not like those two aerospace companies where a space mission was lost from them using different units!

I doubt many present Bloom Sky users are looking for much more than the pictures and possibly barometer trends. 
« Last Edit: January 20, 2016, 08:38:08 PM by waysta »

Offline waysta

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
Re: Bloomsky/Wunderground Pressure Bugs
« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2016, 08:33:25 PM »
I'm pretty sure the folks at Bloomsky are aware of the pressure glitch.  I know I mentioned it to them a few weeks ago.  I believe it'll be addressed with the next app.

The new issue is not the elevation correction, but that different Bloom Sky sources are simultaneously reporting very different barometer readings.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2016, 08:41:09 PM by waysta »

Offline nincehelser

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3337
Re: Bloomsky/Wunderground Pressure Bugs
« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2016, 08:37:16 PM »
One thing I wish they'd add to the app image is a pressure trend indicator. 


Offline VaJim

  • Virginia Beach Backyard Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 736
    • Virginia Beach Backyard Weather
Re: Bloomsky/Wunderground Pressure Bugs
« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2016, 08:38:18 PM »
for the record..my #1 Bloomsky is reporting pressure at 30.40 while the Rainwise is at 30.19.  That's about the difference I've seen since Bloomsky #1 first install on Dec 25th.

Offline waysta

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
Re: Bloomsky/Wunderground Pressure Bugs
« Reply #10 on: January 20, 2016, 08:45:36 PM »
Check across the board all four Bloom Sky sources - Bloom Sky data portal, Bloom Sky Web App, Bloom Sky iPhone App, Bloom Sky WU.  nincehelser noticed that they are different. 

I get

Bloom Sky data portal 1007 (29.74) = Bloom Sky WU 29.74 (1007); while
Bloom Sky Web App 1028 (30.36) = Bloom Sky iPhone App 30.35 (1028)

They are both different than RainWise, the elevation + error issue, a different issue

(unless they are experimenting with elevation correction, starting from a reading that is not absolutely calibrated; for example, my local correction is about 0.59, and even though both numbers are in error, the difference is 0.62, interesting.)
« Last Edit: January 20, 2016, 08:54:53 PM by waysta »

Offline VaJim

  • Virginia Beach Backyard Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 736
    • Virginia Beach Backyard Weather
Re: Bloomsky/Wunderground Pressure Bugs
« Reply #11 on: January 20, 2016, 08:57:10 PM »
....my phone app is a 30.40 while the web app (map thingy) is at 1030 mb = 30.42

Offline waysta

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
Re: Bloomsky/Wunderground Pressure Bugs
« Reply #12 on: January 20, 2016, 10:40:17 PM »
yes, that is one pair.  The other pair with probably different numbers is the dashboard and the WU page for the station.

The dashboard (very cool if you haven't had a chance to look at it yet) is at:
https://dashboard.bloomsky.com

The graphs in the "data view" are quite nice.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2016, 10:59:42 PM by waysta »

 

anything