Author Topic: Meteotemplate - new free website template  (Read 492941 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8592
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #25 on: August 11, 2015, 08:46:40 AM »
I just checked what is/isnt possible and I think the K- and A- indices should most likely be possible to implement. I will write it down as something for future update of the plugin

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8592
    • Meteotemplate
New plugin - Eclipses
« Reply #26 on: August 11, 2015, 12:31:07 PM »
A new plugin is now available called "Eclipses".

Features:

 - view information about solar and lunar eclipses using interactive sortable and filterable tables
 - calculate solar and lunar eclipse dates and view detailed info
 - information about solar and lunar eclipses in general, including some interesting facts
 - detailed statistics

Installation:
- no need to set up anything, just follow the standard procedure for installing updates described in the wiki

Demo: http://www.meteotemplate.com/template/plugins/eclipses/eclipses.php
Download: http://www.meteotemplate.com/web/plugins.php
Info/comments: http://meteotemplate.com/blog/?p=153

Offline Skyview

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 404
  • Former Aviation Weather Observer
    • Fuquay Varina Weather
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #27 on: August 11, 2015, 02:37:45 PM »
Just installed Eclipses plugin and it seems to be working great. Thanks!

Offline sacreyweather

  • Echo Valley Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1785
    • Echo Valley Weather
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #28 on: August 12, 2015, 09:41:25 PM »
Hi Jachym,

I have installed the eclipses plugin, but I am not showing any information. You can see it here.

Thanks,

John
CWOP: D2073, GR2AE, GR3, Cumulus, PWSweather,  CoCoRaHS: AR-SL-23  

Saline Weather on Twitter
Blitzortung Station 1387

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8592
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #29 on: August 13, 2015, 05:17:02 AM »
Hi,

just checked your site. It is caused by an error warning being displayed in the Ajax call, which messes up the final JSON.

The problem is you do not have timezone configured in your php.ini.

Try following the instructions here, or find out more about this problem:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/16765158/date-it-is-not-safe-to-rely-on-the-systems-timezone-settings

If you are unable to get it fixed let me know and you can just turn off error reporting on that page, which will also solve the problem.

Offline sacreyweather

  • Echo Valley Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1785
    • Echo Valley Weather
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #30 on: August 13, 2015, 10:53:08 AM »
Thanks Jachym. I will get that changed this evening.

John
CWOP: D2073, GR2AE, GR3, Cumulus, PWSweather,  CoCoRaHS: AR-SL-23  

Saline Weather on Twitter
Blitzortung Station 1387

Offline Colin

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 179
    • Colin's Weather
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #31 on: August 14, 2015, 02:58:02 AM »
Hello Jachym,

Have been looking at Meteotemplate, and noticed a Windows executable file named curl.exe in the Update folder. What is this file for?
I have a Mac so it's not something I can run of course.
Regards
Colin
Davis Vantage Pro 2 - USB Data Logger - Meteobridge
Porepunkah, Victoria, Australia
https://www.weather.manorts.com
https://www.punkaweather.com
www.meteo.manorts.com

Offline Skyview

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 404
  • Former Aviation Weather Observer
    • Fuquay Varina Weather
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #32 on: August 14, 2015, 03:08:03 AM »
I'll let Jachym respond to what he specifically uses it for, but in the mean time I thought this might help:

http://curl.haxx.se/

Offline Colin

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 179
    • Colin's Weather
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #33 on: August 14, 2015, 04:47:05 AM »
Thanks for the link Skyview.
A bit of reading to do until Jachym replies.

Regards
Colin
Davis Vantage Pro 2 - USB Data Logger - Meteobridge
Porepunkah, Victoria, Australia
https://www.weather.manorts.com
https://www.punkaweather.com
www.meteo.manorts.com

Offline Skyview

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 404
  • Former Aviation Weather Observer
    • Fuquay Varina Weather
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #34 on: August 14, 2015, 05:11:54 AM »
I believe he is using it for Cumulus updates but not sure what else if any.

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8592
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #35 on: August 14, 2015, 06:17:54 AM »
Hi Colin,

no worries, it says in the wiki too, this file is only as sort of "last reserve" for those that cannot/dont want to set up a CRON job and use Cumulus, which can otherwise not run the script at regular intervals.

I basically wrote the documentation and included this file at a time when I havent yet discovered the free CRON service, which I now recommend. So at that time, Cumulus could only be updated using either CRON run by your own server or your webhosting provider and since not all providers allow imnutely crons I needed a way of solving this problem.

Curl is a little program that can be run by standard Windows Task Scheduler and so you can perform the updates this way.

But I guess that now that I found that free service there really is absolutely no need to use this, even for Cumulus users.

So dont worry, the file is not used by the actual template at all.

Offline Colin

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 179
    • Colin's Weather
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #36 on: August 14, 2015, 06:38:12 AM »
Thanks for the info.
I wasn't worried about it - just curious.

Regards
Colin
Davis Vantage Pro 2 - USB Data Logger - Meteobridge
Porepunkah, Victoria, Australia
https://www.weather.manorts.com
https://www.punkaweather.com
www.meteo.manorts.com

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4580
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #37 on: August 16, 2015, 07:57:16 PM »
Got eclipses added and it was easy as pie!  Thanks Jachym,

Paul
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus 24-FARS Wireless
Envoy/USB DataLogger/Cumulus v.1.9.4   -   Vue Console/WiFiLogger/CumulusMX
Komoka, ON  Canada
www.komokaweather.ca   www.komokaweather.com   www.komokaweather.com/weather28/  
www.komokaweather.com/pws/index.php
Blitzortung Station #1076 www.lightningmaps.org/blitzortung7/america/index.php?bo_page=statistics&bo_show=network&lang=en&bo_station_id=969


Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8592
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #38 on: August 16, 2015, 08:51:35 PM »
You are welcome, Im glad you like it :-)

New plugins on the way :)

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8592
    • Meteotemplate
Meteotemplate - updated to version 1.2
« Reply #39 on: August 18, 2015, 11:04:51 AM »
This is just to let you know I have just released an update of Meteotemplate to version 1.2. This update includes several important bug fixes, little design tweaks, security fixes and the banner now uses different data source, which not only does not require API key, but based on testing of several users, provides much more accurate results. Also the settings dialog box no longer flashes on each page upon loading.

Also, the template is now available in new languages!

Detailed instructions as to how to update and also list of all changes available in the blog:
http://meteotemplate.com/blog/?p=158

Demo available at meteotemplate.com has also been updated.

Offline weather34

  • its just my hobby
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 943
    • Weather34 Meteobridge MB-SMART
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #40 on: August 18, 2015, 11:53:21 AM »
hi jachym

this is a non starter for me , using ipad i attach a screenshot
Todays plan... drink coffee ... ignore negativity ... smile ...

https://weather34.com/homeweatherstation/meteobridge-mb-smart.html

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8592
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #41 on: August 18, 2015, 12:04:04 PM »
Hi,
yes, well portrait mode is problematic I am aware of that, and also I am aware of the fact that I have people reporting it does not behave well on Apple devices (Safari). The problem is that unlike all the other browsers, I cannot test Apple because I dont have any device from Apple.

Most of the web should work in at least landscape mode - the only problem is the weather station section, which also works relatively ok in landscape, but not on Apple.

My current plan is to make a plug in which will add a "mobile section" to the web, which will use jQuery Mobile and display the most important data and graphs. Hopefully I will get to it soon (the problem is people are requesting and suggesting new stuff every day so I have to prioritize :D)

Offline weather34

  • its just my hobby
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 943
    • Weather34 Meteobridge MB-SMART
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #42 on: August 18, 2015, 12:11:05 PM »
it may help , you can use online browser test sites to analyse the output of various browsers/os it has helped me a few times with samsung (android) ,windows mobile tablets which I dont own but some of my clients do .  also dreamweaver allows you to code for many devices.

does it use bootstrap ?
Todays plan... drink coffee ... ignore negativity ... smile ...

https://weather34.com/homeweatherstation/meteobridge-mb-smart.html

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8592
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #43 on: August 18, 2015, 12:29:11 PM »
Hi,
yes that is exactly what I do, I use these online viewers, but there is one big problem with that... you see a screenshot, but you cant access the console to see why something is not displaying properly, or sometimes you just see a blank page - you know something is wrong, but you cant tell what it is.

No I dont use bootstrap.

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4580
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #44 on: August 18, 2015, 11:21:10 PM »
Hi Jachym,
I have updated to v.1.2 and everything seems ok except I am getting this warning:
Warning:  fread(): Length parameter must be greater than 0 in /home/content/96/5379896/html/j-template/header.php on line 58
 
Line 58 in header.php is:
$json = fread($cached,filesize($baseURL."headerCache.txt"));
 
I had emptied the template's root "cache" folder and also deleted the headerCache.txt in the template's root.  A new aerisForecast.txt was recreated in the "cache" folder and a new headerCache.txt file with 0 size in the template's root (I have deleted this file and then refreshed and each time it recreates a 0 size headerCache.txt and then the warning pops up).
 
I have double checked that I have uploaded the new header.php.  Do I need to wait a while longer or did I miss something?
www.komokaweather.com/j-template/index.php
Thanks,
Paul
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus 24-FARS Wireless
Envoy/USB DataLogger/Cumulus v.1.9.4   -   Vue Console/WiFiLogger/CumulusMX
Komoka, ON  Canada
www.komokaweather.ca   www.komokaweather.com   www.komokaweather.com/weather28/  
www.komokaweather.com/pws/index.php
Blitzortung Station #1076 www.lightningmaps.org/blitzortung7/america/index.php?bo_page=statistics&bo_show=network&lang=en&bo_station_id=969


Offline Skyview

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 404
  • Former Aviation Weather Observer
    • Fuquay Varina Weather
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #45 on: August 19, 2015, 12:42:36 AM »
Paul,

That happened to me when I was testing it pre-release. I guess the issue is not unique to me then.

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8592
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #46 on: August 19, 2015, 05:01:12 AM »
Hi Jachym,
I have updated to v.1.2 and everything seems ok except I am getting this warning:
Warning:  fread(): Length parameter must be greater than 0 in /home/content/96/5379896/html/j-template/header.php on line 58
 
Line 58 in header.php is:
$json = fread($cached,filesize($baseURL."headerCache.txt"));
 
I had emptied the template's root "cache" folder and also deleted the headerCache.txt in the template's root.  A new aerisForecast.txt was recreated in the "cache" folder and a new headerCache.txt file with 0 size in the template's root (I have deleted this file and then refreshed and each time it recreates a 0 size headerCache.txt and then the warning pops up).
 
I have double checked that I have uploaded the new header.php.  Do I need to wait a while longer or did I miss something?
www.komokaweather.com/j-template/index.php
Thanks,
Paul

Hi Paul, did you see the post about the update in the blog? I think this could be due to the fact your location was not recognized, see if the post about the update helps, it describes how this new Yahoo banner works, I suspect it did not recognize the station location you have in your config.php, which is why it did not load. Try putting "ca" for stationCountry and "Komoka, On" for stationLocation.

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4580
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #47 on: August 19, 2015, 07:19:07 AM »
Thanks Jachym,
I did read the blog and maybe misunderstood a little.  I will relook at your suggestion when I am home this evening.
 
Paul
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus 24-FARS Wireless
Envoy/USB DataLogger/Cumulus v.1.9.4   -   Vue Console/WiFiLogger/CumulusMX
Komoka, ON  Canada
www.komokaweather.ca   www.komokaweather.com   www.komokaweather.com/weather28/  
www.komokaweather.com/pws/index.php
Blitzortung Station #1076 www.lightningmaps.org/blitzortung7/america/index.php?bo_page=statistics&bo_show=network&lang=en&bo_station_id=969


Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4580
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #48 on: August 19, 2015, 09:55:59 PM »
Well, after several trials for stationLocation (tried 'Komoka' 'Komoka, ON' 'Komoka, Ont' 'Komoka, Ontario' none of which worked) I have finally got it working and with a valid headerCache,txt file by using stationLocation 'London' which is our local airport.  Is there any way I can have it show Komoka instead of London in the header?  It did do that with the header.php in version 1.1.
 
Paul
 
EDIT:
Just downloaded the created headerCache.txt file, when using stationLocation 'London', and see that it includes: http://us.rd.yahoo.com/dailynews/rss/weather/London__CA/*http://weather.yahoo.com/forecast/CAXX0255_f.html and then entering the URL: https://weather.yahoo.com/forecast/CAXX0255_f.html part in browser it displays for me a correct Yahoo forecast for:
Komoka
ON, Canada
 
Possibly Yahoo recognizes my computer's location?
 
Paul
« Last Edit: August 19, 2015, 10:26:14 PM by PaulMy »
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus 24-FARS Wireless
Envoy/USB DataLogger/Cumulus v.1.9.4   -   Vue Console/WiFiLogger/CumulusMX
Komoka, ON  Canada
www.komokaweather.ca   www.komokaweather.com   www.komokaweather.com/weather28/  
www.komokaweather.com/pws/index.php
Blitzortung Station #1076 www.lightningmaps.org/blitzortung7/america/index.php?bo_page=statistics&bo_show=network&lang=en&bo_station_id=969


Offline Skyview

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 404
  • Former Aviation Weather Observer
    • Fuquay Varina Weather
Re: Meteotemplate - new free website template
« Reply #49 on: August 20, 2015, 02:44:30 AM »
Is there any way I can have it show Komoka instead of London in the header?  It did do that with the header.php in version 1.1.

Paul,

Search header.php for this:

Code: [Select]
                                       <td style="border: 0 solid #000000" align="center">
<span id="title1">
<?php 
echo $pageName
?>

</span>
<?php
echo "<br><span id='title2'>".$stationLocation."</span>";
?>

</font>
</td>

and replace the:
Code: [Select]
<?php echo "<br><span id='title2'>".$stationLocation."</span>";?> line with whatever you want it to display between the span tags. You could alternatively  just comment that out with a # symbol. That's what I did on my site, because my site title is Fuquay Varina Weather and my location is Fuquay Varina, so I thought it looked redundant and odd to have it there twice, so I just commented out the location line and increased the font size of the title. Hope this helps.

 

anything