Author Topic: ME and the METOBRIDGE  (Read 4320 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Beaudog

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1217
ME and the METOBRIDGE
« on: July 10, 2013, 02:50:04 PM »
Well I got a little bored and wondered about bridges and the like. So, got a TL MR3020 off of Amazon for 30 bucks.

I was amazed when I got how really small it is  3x3in approximately.

I downloaded the firmware from metobridge  http://www.meteohub.de/files/meteobridge-tl-mr3020-v1.2.bin  and started the upgrade. It was too easy and took about 3 minutes.

Gone one TL 3020   welcome one meteobridge.   It took me a few minutes to find the meteobridge IP , mainly because of my nonstandard network. But, once I got into the bridge I followed the instructions found here  http://www.meteobridge.com/wiki/index.php/Getting_Started  and was on my way.

First step was network setup. I elected to give it a static IP so I would not have to go hunting for it again.

The next step was to tell it what station I had.  It got kinda flakey here because I did not want to connect directly to my Vanatge Pro and have all of my up loads to go all crazy. So, I made a few guesses and signed it up as a WLIP going thru Virtual VP.   Took a few tries to get the IP and port number correct but surprise surprise it started downloading live data from VVP.

I elected to test it by uploading to PWS and CWOP using my callsign again so as to not screwup my real data going to WU and my CWOP account.

It was easy and simple except the meteobridge did not like the way I tried to enter coordinates so took about 3 or 4 tries before I got to accept the coordinates.

The thing will up load to every weather site I heard of and a few I never heard of:
•   Weather Underground
•   Weather Underground Weather Cam
•   AWEKAS
•   WeatherBug Backyard
•   WeatherForYou (also known as PWSweather)
•   UK MetOffice WOW
•   Windfinder
•   Citizen Weather Observer Program (CWOP)
•   Open Weather Map
•   Previmeteo

I really like the way the thing gives green check marks when your up loads and passwords go thru.
Next my first real glitch. I entered new pass words in place of the default ones. Bong I could not log back on. I don’t know if fumble fingered the passwords or what but nothing worked and so I had to reset the silly thing and do it all over agin.  It took it what I thought was a long time, 5 minutes or longer to reset. I think it may have downloaded new firmware in the process.

I let it run for a while and started checking the data uploads and (ratsfritz) it is doing just what I was afraid it would do and not reporting barometer correctly.

It was reporting sea level exactly 0.10 inches low but altimeter to CWOP was just really low.  I used the built in barometer corrector and bumped up the sea level to match the correct pressure but the CWOP altimeter is still way low.  Look at the chart.

So I don’t know where the problem is. I have not yet tried to connect directly to the console because I don’t want the bridge to change any of my console settings (not sure if it will do that but some other programs do).
So that’s where I am at right now. The thing seems to do exactly what is supposed to do except for CWOP.  So for somebody looking for an easy way to send data to all the weather sites without having a computer running it may be a viable alternative.

I got to play with it some more

Offline CNYWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2298
    • CNYWeather
Re: ME and the METOBRIDGE
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2013, 02:54:00 PM »
$30 bucks??  :shock:


I've been intrigued by these. My desktop thats runs the site is 6 years old and I've been looking for a simpler
alternative. I'd love the 5 second updates so thats my only hangup and I'll await something to get around that
by one of the weather wizards.
Tony




Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7549
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: ME and the METOBRIDGE
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2013, 02:56:13 PM »
IIRC there was a thread aboUt CWOP pressures recently.  That might answer your Q.  I have used it to upload to  a number of sites and it works well.  Hey for under a hundred bucks  all-in...  I also set up a no-ip.com PF and remote into the Metobridge.  Way cool.  Plus I am starting to write  phone templates (and other templates).  Could be really nice phone app once I am done.

BTW, did you have any issues with using a hub in-between?  Or does that only apply to direct connects?
Need low cost IP monitoring?  http://wirelesstag.net/wta.aspx?link=NisJxz6FhUa4V67/cwCRWA or PM me for 50% off Wirelesstags!!

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7549
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: ME and the METOBRIDGE
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2013, 02:57:36 PM »
$30 bucks??  :shock:


I've been intrigued by these. My desktop thats runs the site is 6 years old and I've been looking for a simpler
alternative. I'd love the 5 second updates so thats my only hangup and I'll await something to get around that
by one of the weather wizards.

I paid about the same for TP link.  You will likely have to add 6-7 bucks for  a decent USB hub (1.2 to 2.0) conversion.  Still, even with the 49 Euro license you are right in the $100 buck range.  PLUS only 1 watt of power.  Not even my Netbook does that well.
Need low cost IP monitoring?  http://wirelesstag.net/wta.aspx?link=NisJxz6FhUa4V67/cwCRWA or PM me for 50% off Wirelesstags!!

Offline Beaudog

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1217
Re: ME and the METOBRIDGE
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2013, 03:04:46 PM »
The router do da is $30 can be had cheaper I think. You get 14 days of free trial on the firmware and then gotta buy the license. 49 Euro.

I have not connected directly so am getting the data from my wirless network thus no hub in use.

I think there is a way to reflash the TL3020 back to original but have not bothered to look.

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7549
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: ME and the METOBRIDGE
« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2013, 03:44:52 PM »
Something like this should work.  http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tl-mr3020#restoring.original.firmware  Have not tried it though.  I guess  if you brick it you could try to return it.    I think BestBuy would take it back.  ;)
Need low cost IP monitoring?  http://wirelesstag.net/wta.aspx?link=NisJxz6FhUa4V67/cwCRWA or PM me for 50% off Wirelesstags!!

Offline txweather.org

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1597
    • Texas Weather
Re: ME and the METOBRIDGE
« Reply #6 on: July 10, 2013, 05:42:50 PM »
I been using Metebridge my self... I have not yet fully migrated to it due to my sons summer project and it's requirement. beaudog where did you get that graph from?

TIA!

----
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus +FARS|Meteobridge Nano SD|Meteohub|Meteobridge MR-3020|WU KTXSPRIN75/PWS JRARGWX75/CWOP EW2972/WBB TXWDVUE75/Blitzortung ID: 1142|AWEKAS: 12095
Donations are welcome: https://paypal.me/ffuentesb

Offline Beaudog

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1217
Re: ME and the METOBRIDGE
« Reply #7 on: July 10, 2013, 05:52:37 PM »
The graph is from CWOP  I use my callsign to upload things I am testing so that my registered uploads that have quality control applied do not get messed up.  I had VP live and the metobridge reporting at the same time.   Everything except for the altimeter is the same.
http://www.findu.com/cgi-bin/wxpage.cgi?call=N4DMS

My quality controlled upload
http://www.findu.com/cgi-bin/wxpage.cgi?call=DW1254


Offline txweather.org

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1597
    • Texas Weather
Re: ME and the METOBRIDGE
« Reply #8 on: July 10, 2013, 05:56:54 PM »
ah ok. cool.

Thanks

----
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus +FARS|Meteobridge Nano SD|Meteohub|Meteobridge MR-3020|WU KTXSPRIN75/PWS JRARGWX75/CWOP EW2972/WBB TXWDVUE75/Blitzortung ID: 1142|AWEKAS: 12095
Donations are welcome: https://paypal.me/ffuentesb