Author Topic: Weather Template and scripts from Leuven/Belgium/Europe  (Read 194356 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der kuil
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1986
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #50 on: July 01, 2013, 02:03:25 PM »
One problem I've encountered  is using the metar for current conditions.  When using this method day and night are backwards.  When I use WD for current conditions day and night are good but the conditions are more accurate from the metar.
Well that sounds strange to me. Very short description: "WD uses metar when it is night.  When you have a solar sensor it uses its own sensor readings. But without solar it falls back to METAR."  At least that is what I understood from all those "glomy' current conditions and their solution-descriptions.
So WD should normally at least be as good as METAR.
No you say that METAR is switching day and night.Retrieving the xml for KDXR (first few lines displayed)
Code: [Select]
<METAR>
<raw_text>KDXR 011653Z 20005KT 7SM -RA BKN100 23/21 A3000</raw_text>
<station_id>KDXR</station_id>
<observation_time>2013-07-01T16:53:00Z</observation_time>
<latitude>41.37</latitude>
<longitude>-73.48</longitude>
The time supplied looks o.k. so I will modify my test site to your settings and test it.
Will be back with more info.
Wim

Offline weatherbee

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 210
    • Sherman Ct. Weather
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #51 on: July 01, 2013, 04:40:39 PM »
When using WD, when I mouse over the icon I get Daytime most of the day.  My clientraw file is saying cloudy right now so it doesn't seem to be picking up the right condition.
Since I don't have a solar sensor my current condition from the current solar description is daytime.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2013, 04:44:59 PM by weatherbee »

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #52 on: July 01, 2013, 04:57:37 PM »
Quote
At least that is what I understood from all those "glomy' current conditions and their solution-descriptions.
that will occur if the solar thresholds for max solar for time of day is not set correctly
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der kuil
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1986
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #53 on: July 02, 2013, 02:46:12 AM »
One problem I've encountered  is using the metar for current conditions.  When using this method day and night are backwards.  When I use WD for current conditions day and night are good but the conditions are more accurate from the metar.
Good morning,
METAR: In your settings you specified a non-existing metar  KXDR.
When you check that at http://aviationweather.gov/adds/metars/ it returns an error.
But when I enter your correct code KDXR it returns sometimes (my morning - your night) an error because the metars are to old. Current time is 07:26:00Z - metar returned is from <observation_time>2013-07-02T00:53:00Z</observation_time>. So nearly 6 hours old. As the script retrieves metars which are less than 3 hours old, you should better switch to an airport/weather station which is supplying metars at night also. If that is not possible, please let me know and I will explain which line you have to change to retrieve older metars.
WD Current Conditions: I can not check your WD returned current conditions because debug mode is set to false.  Therefore the development (test) menu will not show. The other method for checking the tags is the config program but that returns an unknown error. It seems a source could have been changed. I attach the original script.
Can you
1. replace weather2/__config/customize7.php with the attached one?
2. store a copy of your wstesttags.txt (you already put in C:\wdisplay\webfiles\) in the root of your website where WD uploads wstesttag.php?
3. set  wsDebug to true in approximately line 33 in weather2/index.php?

We can then check the WD returned tags and the contents of clientraw much easier.

Succes, Wim
« Last Edit: July 02, 2013, 04:49:31 AM by wvdkuil »

Offline weatherbee

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 210
    • Sherman Ct. Weather
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #54 on: July 02, 2013, 07:13:00 AM »
In wsSettings I had
Code: [Select]
$SITE['METAR'] = 'KDXR'; // #####I thought that airport updated all the time.
I uploaded customize7.php to /weather2/_config
I set debug to true in index.php

If there is anything else need just let me know.
I do appreciate all the work your doing.

I was also thinking for the American template baro and rain should be displayed to 2 decimal points.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2013, 07:21:07 AM by weatherbee »

Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der kuil
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1986
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #55 on: July 02, 2013, 07:40:56 AM »
In wsSettings I had
Code: [Select]
$SITE['METAR'] = 'KDXR'; // #####I thought that airport updated all the time.
I uploaded customize7.php to /weather2/_config
I set debug to true in index.php

If there is anything else need just let me know.
I do appreciate all the work your doing.
Thanks,
Day/Night
I found the error with daytime nighttime. The first USA test site is using 24 hours time (as milatary and like organisations do). So the error with sunrise/sunset time + am/pm did not show up until you started using the template.  I am testing it now and probably tomorrow I post the affected scripts.
The checking was done as string compare with  'H:I' times. But a time starting with a zero is then always nighttime. This is the output:
Code: [Select]
<!-- wsDataGet.php time  is 07:20 - it is  nighttime now; sunrise at 5:24 am  sunset at  8:31 pm -->METAR
Well it seems that not all airports supply metars 24/24 - 7/7.
WD Currewt condition
If you run the wdConfig.php program you can see your settings and the tags as uploaded by WD
These are WD's current descriptions of your weather:
Code: [Select]
wdCurCond "%Currentsolardescription%" Day time
wdCurIcon "%iconnumber%" 2
wdMetarCcn "%weatherreport%" overcast
The WD icon 2 is used for cloudy (there is also more clouds with icon3 - cloudy2) translated to our icon.
But that conflicts with the WD metar report which shows overcast.
I will look into that also.
Extra Menu
I expected the Development menu to show when wsdebug was set.
Can you change line approx. 319 in wsMenuData.xml:
Code: [Select]
from:
<item caption="Development" show="no">
to
<item caption="Development" show="wsDebug">
Wim

Offline weatherbee

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 210
    • Sherman Ct. Weather
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #56 on: July 02, 2013, 08:15:42 AM »
OK, I've changed show =debug.

Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der kuil
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1986
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #57 on: July 02, 2013, 10:57:41 AM »
OK, I've changed show =debug.
Thanks,
WD Current condition
Now 12:20:00Z WD uploads (check at: http://www.shermanctweather.com/weather2/index.php?p=93-2:
Code: [Select]
wdCurCond "%Currentsolardescription%" Day time
wdCurIcon "%iconnumber%" 10
wdMetarCcn "%weatherreport%" overcast - mist
Your page shows the "foggy" background and icon next to the temperature.
I think when there is no solar sensor in the station,  we better use the %weatherreport% tag to display next to the icon.
Code: [Select]
WXSIMI updated the wxsim scripts to get rid of the strange solar graph.
Download: http://www.weerstation-leuven.be/_template2/wsZips/20130702_wsWxsim.zip

Have a nice day,
Wim

Offline weatherbee

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 210
    • Sherman Ct. Weather
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #58 on: July 02, 2013, 11:56:49 AM »
Quote
Your page shows the "foggy" background and icon next to the temperature.
I think when there is no solar sensor in the station,  we better use the %weatherreport% tag to display next to the icon.
Should I change my wstesttags.txt file?  The icon seems to be working better today.
I downloaded wsWxsim.zip and it has fixed the solar graph.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2013, 12:10:00 PM by weatherbee »

Offline Dr Obbins

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1152
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #59 on: July 02, 2013, 09:27:08 PM »
The template is (more or less) adapted for the USA.

The settings for the demo website are Branford, CT|41.30|-72.79| The warnings and forecasts are based on that location. I do not own a weather-station in the USA which could feed the website with data and webcam images.  The realtime data is from Europe/Belgium/Leuven. The update times and high low times are CET, 5 hours earlier than Branford CT time.

Wim
Where is this location changed? Changing the long/lat on the wsSettings.php has no effect.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2013, 09:30:33 PM by Dr Obbins »

Offline weatherbee

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 210
    • Sherman Ct. Weather
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #60 on: July 02, 2013, 09:43:02 PM »
I think I changed the forecast in the advforecast2.php file.

Offline Dr Obbins

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1152
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #61 on: July 02, 2013, 10:22:02 PM »
No luck with that either.   :sad:
Code: [Select]
$NOAAZone = 'kyz074';  // change this line to your NOAA warning zone.
// set $fileName to the URL for the point-printable forecast for your area
 $fileName = "http://forecast.weather.gov/MapClick.php?CityName=Glasgow&state=KY&site=LMK&textField1=36.9991&textField2=-85.9215&e=0&TextType=2";

Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der kuil
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1986
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #62 on: July 03, 2013, 03:16:15 AM »
No luck with that either.   :sad:
Code: [Select]
$NOAAZone = 'kyz074';  // change this line to your NOAA warning zone.
// set $fileName to the URL for the point-printable forecast for your area
 $fileName = "http://forecast.weather.gov/MapClick.php?CityName=Glasgow&state=KY&site=LMK&textField1=36.9991&textField2=-85.9215&e=0&TextType=2";

To all readers: Sorry, just a humble answer is here in place.
Of course you are absolutely correct and adjusting the latitude and longitude in the settings is the only thing one SHOULD have to do.
But I forgot to remove one test line in the script. The script therefore always reads the information of Brandford.
Script weather2/noaa/noaaPlainGenerateHtml.php Line 23 remove comment mark  line 24 replace with a comment mark. Now it is:
Code: [Select]
#$returnArray = $weather->getWeatherData($SITE['latitude'],$SITE['longitude']);
$returnArray = $weather->getWeatherData('41.30068','-72.793671');  // demonstration no info for europe
Change to:
Code: [Select]
$returnArray = $weather->getWeatherData($SITE['latitude'],$SITE['longitude']);
#
Some more information: The forecast information is gathered using latitude and longitude only using the xml feeds. Maybe NOAA/NWS changes the layout someday so, just to have another way of getting the data, I  included the proven Saratoga scripts also in the download. If you change any setting in the advforecast2.php it has no effect until you include this in your menu file:
Code: [Select]
<item nr="401-1" show='yes'
link="noaa/incadvforecast2.php"
caption="oud noaa NWS"
/>
The setting of the forecast area is in the noaa/incadvforecast2.php script.


To Dr Obbins:  In your post I  read that you coded
Code: [Select]
$NOAAZone = 'kyz074';  // change this line to your NOAA warning zone.But the script returns an error
Code: [Select]
<!-- ERROR Severe weatherdata (http://alerts.weather.gov/cap/wwaatmget.php?x=kyz074&y=0) Service returns no good data -->It seems that only capital letters are allowed. So I will add an "upshift" in the code, but for now change that line to
Code: [Select]
$NOAAZone = 'KYZ074';  // change this line to your NOAA warning zone.You will than get your warnings also.
Have a nice day, sorry again for the extra tracing and changing in the scripts,
Wim
Edit typo wrong script
« Last Edit: July 03, 2013, 08:52:29 AM by wvdkuil »

Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der kuil
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1986
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #63 on: July 03, 2013, 05:19:22 AM »

I found the error with daytime nighttime. The first USA test site is using 24 hours time (as milatary and like organisations do). So the error with sunrise/sunset time + am/pm did not show up until you started using the template.  I am testing it now and probably tomorrow I post the affected scripts.
The checking was done as string compare with  'H:I' times. But a time starting with a zero is then always nighttime. This is the output:
Code: [Select]
<!-- wsDataGet.php time  is 07:20 - it is  nighttime now; sunrise at 5:24 am  sunset at  8:31 pm -->
I changed the script so it now correctly calculates daytime nighttime.
Code: [Select]
<!-- wsDataGet.php time  is 1372842620 => 5:10 am  | it is  nighttime | sunrise at 1372843406 => 5:23 am  | sunset at  1372897667 => 8:27 pm -->
<!-- wsDataGet.php time  is 1372843068 => 11:17am  | it is  daylight | sunrise at 1372822412 => 5:33am  | sunset at  1372881455 => 9:57pm -->
To correctly display the am pm values for sunrise and sunset on the startpage another script had to be changed also. The scripts are attached.
Thanks for testing this,
Wim

Offline weatherbee

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 210
    • Sherman Ct. Weather
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #64 on: July 03, 2013, 06:27:00 AM »
Wim,
Thank you.  I have loaded the new files and it is working ok now.

Another thing I noticed on the main page, sunrise sunset is correct on dashboard but wrong on the forecast part.  I've attached a picture to show you.

Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der kuil
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1986
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #65 on: July 03, 2013, 06:33:07 AM »
. . . edited to shorten  . .
Another thing I noticed on the main page, sunrise sunset is correct on dashboard but wrong on the forecast part.  I've attached a picture to show you.
Well, it is correct on the 3 detailed wxsim forecast tabs and wrong on the overview tab (=plaintext.txt) part.
At least I have something to look into this afternoon.
Wim

Offline Dr Obbins

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1152
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #66 on: July 03, 2013, 08:45:14 AM »
To all readers: Sorry, just a humble answer is here in place.
Have a nice day, sorry again for the extra tracing and changing in the scripts,
Wim
No complaints here. I certainly couldn't do any better. (or even come close)  :-)

I didn't have that line #23 or 24 as you posted. When added, it returned an error message. Attached are my files if it helps.

Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der kuil
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1986
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #67 on: July 03, 2013, 08:55:43 AM »
To all readers: Sorry, just a humble answer is here in place.
Have a nice day, sorry again for the extra tracing and changing in the scripts,
Wim
No complaints here. I certainly couldn't do any better. (or even come close)  :-)

I didn't have that line #23 or 24 as you posted. When added, it returned an error message. Attached are my files if it helps.
Thanks for pointing this out. Typed the name of the wrong script.
Should be noaaPlainGenerateHtml.php. I edited the post above also.
Wim

Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der kuil
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1986
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #68 on: July 03, 2013, 09:24:44 AM »
Wim,
Thank you.  I have loaded the new files and it is working ok now.

Another thing I noticed on the main page, sunrise sunset is correct on dashboard but wrong on the forecast part.  I've attached a picture to show you.
Well i try to locate the error, but no succes yet.
There are three pages which display exactly the same information and use more or less the same scripts.
Two of them display correct dates (and therefore correct sunrise sunset times):
http://www.shermanctweather.com/forecast.php
http://www.shermanctweather.com/wsWxsimSA/start3in1.php
But the one we are talking about now is totally wrong, at least at your website it is:
http://www.shermanctweather.com/weather2/index.php?p=12
as it displays Wednesday Dec 31 1969 as first day in the Overview ( plaintext ) tab.

Thes dates are retrieved from the filemtime('') of the cached file cache/wsWxsimParser.php-en-FinmphinHginmi
That filemtime (last time modified) is either 0 (first of januari 1970) or replaced somewhere with a zero in the scripts. But it only happens with the cached file in weather2/cache/wsWxsimParser.php-en-FinmphinHginmi
Not with the other two cached files.
wsWxsimSA/cache/wsWxsimParser.php-en-FinmphinHgcmmi
cache/wsWxsimParser.php-en-FinmphinHginmiles

Can you please check the filetimes and afterward delete the file in weather2/cache/   ?
I want to know if that problem returns with a fresh write to the cache.
Off course it does not happen at my other testsites. If an error would be consistent and reproducible, the life of a programmer would be to boring.
Wim


Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der kuil
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1986
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #69 on: July 03, 2013, 11:18:14 AM »
Wim,

 I have installed your script at http://weatheranmore.com/weather2/. Everything is running well, except there is no value for the barometer, in the ajax dashboard or steelseries gauges. I am using Cumulus (version 1.9.4 b 1080). The pressure values are being uploaded in the tags.php and realtimeTags.txt files, but are not loaded on the pages. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

                                                        Thanks,
                                                               Jerry
Hi Jerry,
Probably a setting error for CU as other sites (WD and MH) are working with inHg without problems.
I will look into it and probably report you tomorrow due to the timedifference.
But can you please set the menufile in such a way that we can use the customize menu. I can than test if for instance the values appear with hPa.
Later on you can remove that menu choice as it is indeed not very usefull in the USA.
Can you also mail me a zip of the tags.php file?
Thanks Wim

Offline weatherbee

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 210
    • Sherman Ct. Weather
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #70 on: July 03, 2013, 11:37:13 AM »
Wim,
I erased that file in the cache but it has rewritten and is still wrong.
Sorry to cause this problem.  Funny it is only on the overview tab, not the other tabs.  3hour interval and 48 hour interval tabs have the right times.
Tom

Offline jerbo

  • Davis Vantage Pro2 with 24 Hour FARS located in the West End of Punxsutawney, PA - The Weather Capital of the World.
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • Punxsutawney West End Weather
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #71 on: July 03, 2013, 12:49:45 PM »
Wim,

 I set the customize menu, but there are still no values. I had the customize menu turned off because it creates a page error. PHP Warning:  Cookie names cannot contain any of the following '=,; \t\r\n\013\014' in weatheranmore.com/weather2/index.php on line 404
and a second PHP Warning:  Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at weatheranmore.com/weather2/index.php:404) in weatheranmore.com/weather2/index.php on line 161.
Also, here are the tags.php and realtimeTags.txt files.

                                               Jerry

Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der kuil
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1986
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #72 on: July 03, 2013, 03:00:12 PM »
Wim,
 I set the customize menu, but there are still no values. I had the customize menu turned off because it creates a page error. PHP Warning:  Cookie names cannot contain any of the following '=,; \t\r\n\013\014' in weatheranmore.com/weather2/index.php on line 404
and a second PHP Warning:  Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at weatheranmore.com/weather2/index.php:404) in weatheranmore.com/weather2/index.php on line 161.
Also, here are the tags.php and realtimeTags.txt files.
Jerry
Hi Jerry,
Thanks for the files,
Cookiename: In your settings the cookiename is specified with special characters, a space. That is not allowed in a cookiename.  The setting in wsSettings.php for cookieName should be changed from "West End Weather" to "WestEndWeather".  Those errors will than disappear.
Inhg as pressunit in CU: The barometer or pressure unit is read from CU with this line:
Code: [Select]
$from = '<#pressunit>'; //  = 'inHg', 'hPa', 'kPa', 'mb'
which is uploaded as
$from = 'in'; //  = 'inHg', 'hPa', 'kPa', 'mb'ed by CU with
The "oficial" unit is inHg so that was what I coded.  I changed the functions and attached you will find an script to update.
Both the Steelseries and the other pages with barometric pressure will contain the correct values.

Please make a backup of weather2/wsFunctions.php
Unzip the attached file and replace the current weather2/wsFunctions.php with the new one.
Succes, Wim

Offline jerbo

  • Davis Vantage Pro2 with 24 Hour FARS located in the West End of Punxsutawney, PA - The Weather Capital of the World.
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • Punxsutawney West End Weather
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #73 on: July 03, 2013, 03:58:00 PM »
Wim,

 Thank you much for your quick response. I found the line of code that you added to wsFunctions.php and inserted it into my website.
Cumulus now has a barometric pressure! I have a couple more things to ask. One is there is an error message in the website log:
PHP Notice:  Undefined variable: pathString in weatheranmore.com/weather2/wsAjaxDataLoad. php on line 11. The second question is it possible to have the rainfall and barometer read two decimal places? For instance 1.15 inches of rain or a barometer reading of 30.01 inHg.

                                                         Thanks again,
                                                                           Jerry

Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der kuil
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1986
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: Weather Template and scripts form Leuven/Belgium/Europe
« Reply #74 on: July 03, 2013, 04:26:39 PM »
Wim,
 Thank you much for your quick response. I found the line of code that you added to wsFunctions.php and inserted it into my website.
Cumulus now has a barometric pressure! I have a couple more things to ask. One is there is an error message in the website log:
PHP Notice:  Undefined variable: pathString in weatheranmore.com/weather2/wsAjaxDataLoad. php on line 11. The second question is it possible to have the rainfall and barometer read two decimal places? For instance 1.15 inches of rain or a barometer reading of 30.01 inHg.
       Thanks again,      Jerry
Hi jerry,
Tomorrow I will look into that error in the logs.
The number of decimal places for values in inch will indeed be changed to 2. That will take a few days testing so probably after the weekend.
Have a nice day, Wim