Author Topic: Editing Cumulus  (Read 10625 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Farmtalk

  • Fitzweather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4716
    • Fitzweather
Editing Cumulus
« on: May 28, 2012, 04:13:25 PM »
What I am wanting to do is edit the interface of cumulus to where my solar sensor related equipment does not show, and then my rainfall data, including graphs, do not show up, does anyone know how to do this???

Thanks! 8-)
Weather Software-> GREarth, GRAnalyst 2.xx, MRLevel3, GRLevel 3 2.xx, Bufkit, GRLevel2, WXSim, and Radarscope.
Weather Station-> Ambient Weather WS-1090 Fine Offset
Weather Station Software-> Weather Display 10.37S, Cumulus 1.94
CoCoRaHS ID->  WV-KN-27
Administrator-> www.fitzweather.org

Offline tobyspond

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 204
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2012, 04:49:48 PM »
Hi Joseph,

Not sure I totally understand what you want to do.  Do you want to remove the solar data from the index page?  If so, just edit the indexT.htm file by removing the solar data:

 <!-- Solar data. If you don't have a solar sensor, you may wish to delete everything from here to the next comment -->
  <tr class="td_temperature_data">
    <td>Solar Radiation</td>
    <td><#SolarRad>&nbsp;W/m&sup2;</td>
    <td>Evapotranspiration Today</td>
    <td><#ET>&nbsp;<#rainunit></td>
  </tr>
  <!-- End of solar data -->
  <tr>

If you want to remove the rain graph, your edit the trendT.htm file and remove the graphs you do not want.

I strongly suggest that before you make any edits, you save the originals and work from a copy.

Kerry

Offline Farmtalk

  • Fitzweather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4716
    • Fitzweather
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2012, 05:05:42 PM »
Ok, Ill work from a copy, if I have any problems, Ill repost  :-)
Weather Software-> GREarth, GRAnalyst 2.xx, MRLevel3, GRLevel 3 2.xx, Bufkit, GRLevel2, WXSim, and Radarscope.
Weather Station-> Ambient Weather WS-1090 Fine Offset
Weather Station Software-> Weather Display 10.37S, Cumulus 1.94
CoCoRaHS ID->  WV-KN-27
Administrator-> www.fitzweather.org

Offline Farmtalk

  • Fitzweather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4716
    • Fitzweather
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2012, 06:28:44 PM »
Ok, I think I have the "trends" page complete, but it did not change when I uploaded it (?)
Weather Software-> GREarth, GRAnalyst 2.xx, MRLevel3, GRLevel 3 2.xx, Bufkit, GRLevel2, WXSim, and Radarscope.
Weather Station-> Ambient Weather WS-1090 Fine Offset
Weather Station Software-> Weather Display 10.37S, Cumulus 1.94
CoCoRaHS ID->  WV-KN-27
Administrator-> www.fitzweather.org

Offline tobyspond

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 204
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2012, 06:38:02 PM »
Joseph,

You do not upload any of the T.htm files.   Cumulus
 automatically does the update.  The T stands for template.  Once you make changes to the template, the htm file changes. On the next update, your page should show the changes.

Have you searched the Cumulus forum and wiki?

Kerry

Offline Farmtalk

  • Fitzweather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4716
    • Fitzweather
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2012, 06:56:36 PM »
Yeah I looked at the forum but didnt see anything :-(

And nothing happened when cumulus updated, is there something i need to do other than edit trendsT??
Weather Software-> GREarth, GRAnalyst 2.xx, MRLevel3, GRLevel 3 2.xx, Bufkit, GRLevel2, WXSim, and Radarscope.
Weather Station-> Ambient Weather WS-1090 Fine Offset
Weather Station Software-> Weather Display 10.37S, Cumulus 1.94
CoCoRaHS ID->  WV-KN-27
Administrator-> www.fitzweather.org

Offline neondesert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 628
    • http://www.neondesertweather.com
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2012, 07:10:12 PM »
Yeah I looked at the forum but didnt see anything :-(

And nothing happened when cumulus updated, is there something i need to do other than edit trendsT??

What exactly are you trying to change (edit) on your trends page, Joe?  :???:
Larry
"But it's a DRY Heat!"


Offline Farmtalk

  • Fitzweather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4716
    • Fitzweather
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2012, 07:20:01 PM »
For my trends page, I am trying to get rid of all the rain graphs, the rain rate, daily rain fall, etc
Weather Software-> GREarth, GRAnalyst 2.xx, MRLevel3, GRLevel 3 2.xx, Bufkit, GRLevel2, WXSim, and Radarscope.
Weather Station-> Ambient Weather WS-1090 Fine Offset
Weather Station Software-> Weather Display 10.37S, Cumulus 1.94
CoCoRaHS ID->  WV-KN-27
Administrator-> www.fitzweather.org

Offline tobyspond

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 204
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #8 on: May 28, 2012, 07:46:54 PM »
Joseph,

The likely reason is that your copy has a different name or it is not in the cumulus/web folder on your computer.  Create a folder named originals and move the original trend page there.  Keep your edited version in the web folder.   That should do it.

BTW the answer to your solar question is located here:

http://wiki.sandaysoft.com/a/FAQ
http://wiki.sandaysoft.com/a/FAQ#I_don.27t_have_a_solar_sensor._How_do_I_remove_the_solar_data_from_the_supplied_web_pages.3F

Good luck,

Kerry


Offline neondesert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 628
    • http://www.neondesertweather.com
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #9 on: May 28, 2012, 08:16:03 PM »
Joseph,

The likely reason is that your copy has a different name or it is not in the cumulus/web folder on your computer.  Create a folder named originals and move the original trend page there.  Keep your edited version in the web folder.   That should do it.

What Kerry said...  :-)

BTW the answer to your solar question is located here:

http://wiki.sandaysoft.com/a/FAQ
http://wiki.sandaysoft.com/a/FAQ#I_don.27t_have_a_solar_sensor._How_do_I_remove_the_solar_data_from_the_supplied_web_pages.3F

Again, what he said.  :-)    Seriously though, I think Kerry will agree in that READING the WIKI will answer 99% of your questions with Cumulus
and the website templates.  It is very thorough. 
Larry
"But it's a DRY Heat!"


Offline Farmtalk

  • Fitzweather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4716
    • Fitzweather
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #10 on: May 28, 2012, 08:57:30 PM »
Ok I will read it again :grin: :grin:
Weather Software-> GREarth, GRAnalyst 2.xx, MRLevel3, GRLevel 3 2.xx, Bufkit, GRLevel2, WXSim, and Radarscope.
Weather Station-> Ambient Weather WS-1090 Fine Offset
Weather Station Software-> Weather Display 10.37S, Cumulus 1.94
CoCoRaHS ID->  WV-KN-27
Administrator-> www.fitzweather.org

Offline Farmtalk

  • Fitzweather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4716
    • Fitzweather
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #11 on: May 29, 2012, 02:49:35 PM »
Ok, I think Ive done most of the editing, but I didnt find anything on which folder i need to upload to, and which ones to actually upload, this has me a little confused #-o
Weather Software-> GREarth, GRAnalyst 2.xx, MRLevel3, GRLevel 3 2.xx, Bufkit, GRLevel2, WXSim, and Radarscope.
Weather Station-> Ambient Weather WS-1090 Fine Offset
Weather Station Software-> Weather Display 10.37S, Cumulus 1.94
CoCoRaHS ID->  WV-KN-27
Administrator-> www.fitzweather.org

Offline tobyspond

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 204
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #12 on: May 29, 2012, 05:55:07 PM »
Hi Joseph,

You should not need to upload any files.  By editing the T.htm files and Cumulus does the uploading.  I checked your trends page and it is the same as the original.  Did you make the changes to trendsT.htm?  That is the file you need to change.

If you are still having difficulty can you post your code and/or explain what you have done/changes you have made?

Kerry

Offline Farmtalk

  • Fitzweather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4716
    • Fitzweather
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #13 on: May 29, 2012, 06:57:05 PM »
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" http-equiv="Content-Type" />
<meta name="Description" content="<#location> weather data" />
<meta name="Keywords" content="Cumulus, <#location> weather data, weather, data, weather station" />
<title><#location> weather</title>
<script type="text/javascript">
function changeImage(im) {
   document.images["graphs"].src = im + "?" + new Date().getTime();
}
</script>

<link href="weatherstyle.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
</head>

<body>
<div id="content">
<h1><#location> weather</h1>
<h2 style="text-align: left; text-transform: none;">&nbsp;Latitude&nbsp;<#latitude>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Longitude&nbsp;<#longitude>&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Elevation&nbsp;<#altitude></h2>
<p>These graphs present the temperature, pressure, and wind speed trends for the last <#graphperiod> hours. </p>
<p>The thumbnail graphs are sampled every ten minutes. Click on a thumbnail to display the corresponding larger graph in the panel above it. The large graphs are sampled every minute. </p>
<p> <img src="images/wind.png" name="graphs" id="graphs" title="Weather Graphs" alt="Weather Graphs"/></p>
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" id="Graph_menu">
  <tr>
    <td colspan="5">Click on a thumbnail to show a large graph in the panel above.</td>
  </tr>
  <tr>
    <td class="td_thumbnails"><a onclick='changeImage("images/wind.png")'><img src="images/windsm.png" alt="Wind Graph Thumbnail" width="150" height="100" border="0" /></a></td>
    <td class="td_thumbnails"><a onclick='changeImage("images/temp.png")'><img src="images/tempsm.png" alt="Temperature Graph Thumbnail" width="150" height="100" border="0" /></a></td>
    <td class="td_thumbnails"><a onclick='changeImage("images/intemp.png")'><img src="images/intempsm.png" alt="Inside Temperature Graph Thumbnail" width="150" height="100" border="0" /></a></td>
    <td class="td_thumbnails"><a onclick='changeImage("images/press.png")'><img src="images/presssm.png" alt="Pressure Graph Thumbnail" width="150" height="100" border="0" /></a></td>
  <tr>
    <td class="td_thumbnails"><a onclick='changeImage("images/windd.png")'><img src="images/winddsm.png" alt="Wind Direction Thumbnail" width="150" height="100" border="0" /></a></td>
    <td class="td_thumbnails"><a onclick='changeImage("images/tempm.png")'><img src="images/tempmsm.png" alt="Temp Min/Max Graph Thumbnail" width="150" height="100" border="0" /></a></td>
    <td class="td_thumbnails"><a onclick='changeImage("images/hum.png")'><img src="images/humsm.png" alt="Humidity Graph Thumbnail" width="150" height="100" border="0" /></a></td>
  </tr>
  <tr>
    <td colspan="5" class="td_navigation_bar">:<a href="index.htm">now</a>::<a href="gauges.htm">gauges</a>::<a href="today.htm">today</a>::<a href="yesterday.htm">yesterday</a>::<a href="thismonth.htm">this&nbsp;month</a>::<a href="thisyear.htm">this&nbsp;year</a>::<a href="record.htm">records</a>::<a href="trends.htm">trends</a>:<#forum><#webcam></td>
  </tr>
</table>
<p class="credits"><br/>
Page updated <#update><br/>
powered by
<a href="http://sandaysoft.com/products/cumulus" target="_blank">Cumulus</a> v<#version> (<#build>)
</p>
</div>
</body>
</html>


This is my edited code for the trendsT.htm page
Weather Software-> GREarth, GRAnalyst 2.xx, MRLevel3, GRLevel 3 2.xx, Bufkit, GRLevel2, WXSim, and Radarscope.
Weather Station-> Ambient Weather WS-1090 Fine Offset
Weather Station Software-> Weather Display 10.37S, Cumulus 1.94
CoCoRaHS ID->  WV-KN-27
Administrator-> www.fitzweather.org

Offline tobyspond

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 204
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #14 on: May 29, 2012, 08:02:32 PM »
I copied your code and tested it on my computer and it works fine for me. 

Where is this file located?  It should be in C:\Cumulus\web.  Is it still named trendsT.htm?  If not rename the file.

Kerry

Offline Farmtalk

  • Fitzweather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4716
    • Fitzweather
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #15 on: May 29, 2012, 08:40:09 PM »
Yeah thats where it is located, so I just must be uploading wrong somehow :-k

Im uploading to my root directory, is that where im going wrong??
« Last Edit: May 29, 2012, 08:42:45 PM by farmtalk »
Weather Software-> GREarth, GRAnalyst 2.xx, MRLevel3, GRLevel 3 2.xx, Bufkit, GRLevel2, WXSim, and Radarscope.
Weather Station-> Ambient Weather WS-1090 Fine Offset
Weather Station Software-> Weather Display 10.37S, Cumulus 1.94
CoCoRaHS ID->  WV-KN-27
Administrator-> www.fitzweather.org

Offline tobyspond

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 204
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #16 on: May 29, 2012, 09:54:35 PM »
Joseph,

You do not upload the T.htm files.  If that is what you are talking about.  Cumulus does the processing.

Check the name with the original, make sure it is spelled correctly.  It might be with a capital T.  I'm not at my computer so I cannot verify the spelling.

Kerry

Offline Farmtalk

  • Fitzweather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4716
    • Fitzweather
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #17 on: May 29, 2012, 09:59:18 PM »
Yeah I checked my web files; everything looks to be spelled correct, ill check and see if Ive uploaded and T files that I should not have, but otherwise, i cant see what im doing wrong :-k, its got to be something super simple probably
Weather Software-> GREarth, GRAnalyst 2.xx, MRLevel3, GRLevel 3 2.xx, Bufkit, GRLevel2, WXSim, and Radarscope.
Weather Station-> Ambient Weather WS-1090 Fine Offset
Weather Station Software-> Weather Display 10.37S, Cumulus 1.94
CoCoRaHS ID->  WV-KN-27
Administrator-> www.fitzweather.org

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4542
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #18 on: May 29, 2012, 11:01:52 PM »
Unless you have changed some of your folders and the Cumulus Configuration Internet settings from the default install, all your standard templates (indexT.htm, todayT.htm, trendsT.htm, etc) should be in your c:\cumulus\web folder.  You can edit any of these standard template T.htm files keeping the name and location the same.  Cumulus will process these template T.htm files at the interval that you have specified and then update your website with the changed names of index.htm, today.htm, trends.htm, etc. each reflecting the edit that you have done in any of the T.htm templates.

The index.htm, today.htm. trends.htm currently in your www.fitzweather.com/cumulus website folder are the original templates and from looking in the "View source" they have no edit to them as yet and are showing current data so updating correctly.

In your www.fitzweather.com root you also have the index.htm file (showing the NOW data) which appears to be an edited version by removing the solar code, but last updated May 18.  This unused file can be removed from your root folder.

I expect all you need to do is edit the template T.htm files you want changed, then just save the edited file without changing name, and in due course the edited pages will be on your website.  Like many Cumulus users my indexT.htm file (www.komokaweather.com/weather/index.htm) has been significantly edited.

BUT you should first copy and save, as another name - i.e. indexT-old.htm, the existing T.htm file(s) you plan to edit as backup(s), and use notepad++ to edit, instead of a graphical editor which may cause strange charactors to be placed in the file that can cause the page to crash.

Paul
« Last Edit: May 29, 2012, 11:14:09 PM by PaulMy »
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus 24-FARS Wireless
Envoy/USB DataLogger/Cumulus v.1.9.4   -   Vue Console/WiFiLogger/CumulusMX
Komoka, ON  Canada
www.komokaweather.ca   www.komokaweather.com   www.komokaweather.com/weather28/  
www.komokaweather.com/pws/index.php
Blitzortung Station #1076 www.lightningmaps.org/blitzortung7/america/index.php?bo_page=statistics&bo_show=network&lang=en&bo_station_id=969


Offline Farmtalk

  • Fitzweather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4716
    • Fitzweather
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #19 on: June 04, 2012, 05:55:59 PM »
Thanks everybody! Ill hopefully start working on this soon again! Ive been very busy :-(
Weather Software-> GREarth, GRAnalyst 2.xx, MRLevel3, GRLevel 3 2.xx, Bufkit, GRLevel2, WXSim, and Radarscope.
Weather Station-> Ambient Weather WS-1090 Fine Offset
Weather Station Software-> Weather Display 10.37S, Cumulus 1.94
CoCoRaHS ID->  WV-KN-27
Administrator-> www.fitzweather.org

Offline Farmtalk

  • Fitzweather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4716
    • Fitzweather
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #20 on: June 07, 2012, 10:57:23 AM »
Ok so what I did was just edit the IndexT.htm file to start with, and I finished that, but when I uploaded it, nothing changed??? I should not have any solar data or precipitation data on my homepage. :-k
Weather Software-> GREarth, GRAnalyst 2.xx, MRLevel3, GRLevel 3 2.xx, Bufkit, GRLevel2, WXSim, and Radarscope.
Weather Station-> Ambient Weather WS-1090 Fine Offset
Weather Station Software-> Weather Display 10.37S, Cumulus 1.94
CoCoRaHS ID->  WV-KN-27
Administrator-> www.fitzweather.org

Offline tobyspond

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 204
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #21 on: June 07, 2012, 12:04:55 PM »
Joseph,

You do not upload the indexT file; Cumulus processes the Templates files into the standard htm pages automatically. 

Kerry


Offline Farmtalk

  • Fitzweather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4716
    • Fitzweather
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #22 on: June 07, 2012, 12:11:17 PM »
Ok, so you are saying to just save the edited file and Cumulus will process it.....is there anything else I need to do?
Weather Software-> GREarth, GRAnalyst 2.xx, MRLevel3, GRLevel 3 2.xx, Bufkit, GRLevel2, WXSim, and Radarscope.
Weather Station-> Ambient Weather WS-1090 Fine Offset
Weather Station Software-> Weather Display 10.37S, Cumulus 1.94
CoCoRaHS ID->  WV-KN-27
Administrator-> www.fitzweather.org

Offline tobyspond

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 204
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #23 on: June 07, 2012, 12:14:41 PM »
Yes save the edited file (it should be in the cumulus/web directory) and Cumulus does the rest.  That's it, really!

Offline Farmtalk

  • Fitzweather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4716
    • Fitzweather
Re: Editing Cumulus
« Reply #24 on: June 07, 2012, 12:22:47 PM »
Ok I think I may know what I am doing wrong...I have been saving the files under the file Fitzweather => Cumulus =>

Should I be saving it under the actual file which is under my "C" Drive???
Weather Software-> GREarth, GRAnalyst 2.xx, MRLevel3, GRLevel 3 2.xx, Bufkit, GRLevel2, WXSim, and Radarscope.
Weather Station-> Ambient Weather WS-1090 Fine Offset
Weather Station Software-> Weather Display 10.37S, Cumulus 1.94
CoCoRaHS ID->  WV-KN-27
Administrator-> www.fitzweather.org