Author Topic: Cumulus Setup Help  (Read 6440 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Farmtalk

  • Fitzweather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4716
    • Fitzweather
Cumulus Setup Help
« on: December 26, 2011, 01:01:49 PM »
Ok so I got easyweather working well, and I submitted my weather station to wunderground (Though its not receiving yet), Im trying to get cumulus to work but im not quite sure what to put for "easyweather.dat" and "station model" on the left side....i put easyweather (using dat. file) on the top left where it displays the list of weather station types...Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

My station is a WS-1090 SOLAR

--Farmtalk-- 8-)
« Last Edit: December 26, 2011, 01:07:33 PM by farmtalk »
Weather Software-> GREarth, GRAnalyst 2.xx, MRLevel3, GRLevel 3 2.xx, Bufkit, GRLevel2, WXSim, and Radarscope.
Weather Station-> Ambient Weather WS-1090 Fine Offset
Weather Station Software-> Weather Display 10.37S, Cumulus 1.94
CoCoRaHS ID->  WV-KN-27
Administrator-> www.fitzweather.org

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
Re: Cumulus Setup Help
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2011, 01:41:14 PM »
you should be able to set cumulus to work directly with the Fine Offset type station
and not have to have easy weather running at the same time
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline neondesert

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 628
    • http://www.neondesertweather.com
Re: Cumulus Setup Help
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2011, 01:45:57 PM »
Weather Display was typing about the same time as I was but we are in agreement.
Since the Weatherwise stations are basically re-badged Fine Offset models try using the Fine Offset (WH1080 etc) station type.

One other note, if you click on help at the bottom of a screen (such as Station Settings) it will bring up a page that gives detail on each of the settings.

The help file states that Easyweather setting is an obsolete alternative for stations which use the Easyweather software and is used when running Cumulus at the same time as
EasyWeather so Cumulus can 'piggy-back' off the EasyWeather data file.  It is preferable to choose the 'Fine Offset etc' setting
instead for these stations so that Cumulus can drive them directly - but you must not try to run Easyweather at the same time when you choose this option.

Note that if you really must use the Easyweather setting, you will have to run both Easyweather and Cumulus 24/7 (all the time) as otherwise you will get gaps in your data and many of your statistics
will be meaningless.  It is strongly recommended that you don not use the 'Easyweather' setting.

 
Larry
"But it's a DRY Heat!"


Offline Farmtalk

  • Fitzweather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4716
    • Fitzweather
Re: Cumulus Setup Help
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2011, 01:49:06 PM »
Yep I changed it to the Fine Offset and its working great!!! Thanks! Off to try and get it to work on my website now (Coding is not my forte' :lol:)
Weather Software-> GREarth, GRAnalyst 2.xx, MRLevel3, GRLevel 3 2.xx, Bufkit, GRLevel2, WXSim, and Radarscope.
Weather Station-> Ambient Weather WS-1090 Fine Offset
Weather Station Software-> Weather Display 10.37S, Cumulus 1.94
CoCoRaHS ID->  WV-KN-27
Administrator-> www.fitzweather.org

Offline Farmtalk

  • Fitzweather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4716
    • Fitzweather
Re: Cumulus Setup Help
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2011, 01:50:26 AM »
Anyone know of any good tutorials for putting cumulus onto a website such as a template by Ken??
Weather Software-> GREarth, GRAnalyst 2.xx, MRLevel3, GRLevel 3 2.xx, Bufkit, GRLevel2, WXSim, and Radarscope.
Weather Station-> Ambient Weather WS-1090 Fine Offset
Weather Station Software-> Weather Display 10.37S, Cumulus 1.94
CoCoRaHS ID->  WV-KN-27
Administrator-> www.fitzweather.org

Offline jay_hoehn

  • WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 655
    • Jay's Woodcrafts
Re: Cumulus Setup Help
« Reply #5 on: December 27, 2011, 04:41:39 PM »
If you follow the notes by Ken you should have no problem, the instructions are clear.  I have set up the templates using VWS, WD, and Cumulus.  Had minor issues that Ken was able to solve.  Try it out yourself and then if it doesn't work ask.  We are here to help.

Jay
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus
VVP
Weather Display


Offline Farmtalk

  • Fitzweather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4716
    • Fitzweather
Re: Cumulus Setup Help
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2011, 11:41:56 AM »
Sounds great and thanks!! I will start the process this evening! Tested to make sure PHP5 works and it does, so I will start reading the directions this evening

Thanks again, 8-)

--Farmtalk--
Weather Software-> GREarth, GRAnalyst 2.xx, MRLevel3, GRLevel 3 2.xx, Bufkit, GRLevel2, WXSim, and Radarscope.
Weather Station-> Ambient Weather WS-1090 Fine Offset
Weather Station Software-> Weather Display 10.37S, Cumulus 1.94
CoCoRaHS ID->  WV-KN-27
Administrator-> www.fitzweather.org