Author Topic: 5GHZ Connectivity?  (Read 330 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline seatrump

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
5GHZ Connectivity?
« on: January 11, 2022, 03:38:41 PM »
I've own two Davis Vantage Vue weather stations.  One, I left in China when I left, one blew away in Hurricane Irma in the Turks and Caicos.   That second one I used meteobridge and reported to weather underground.  Not willing to repeat that - it stopped working whenever we lost power, which was frequently....

Moved back to Seattle and got an Ambient Weather 1001.  It stopped connecting to my wifi when I upgraded my house to a mesh network.  All attempts to resolve this never worked.  I gave up eventually.   Now the rain gauge is faulty.   I took it down, cleaned it out etc.  Still no go. 

So I'm in the market for a new weather station.  Budget is flexible.   Was close to the AW 5000 but looks like it it has the same problems with mesh networks.  It seems kind of unbelievable to me that weather stations are staying so far behind the technology is this area. 

Anyone have a recommendation for a system that connects quickly and easily and allows reporting to the internet?  Thanks!

Online Mattk

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1712
Re: 5GHZ Connectivity?
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2022, 05:44:44 PM »
Just to clarify, you do mean 5GHZ WiFi (I believe?) not 5G (as such)?

I can't recall ever seeing a 5GHZ WiFi weather station that would connect directly to a 5GHZ network? I run both 2.4 & 5GHZ networks with stations but 5GHZ does require some intermediary hardware. Mesh networks you are also going to find a little proprietary, what "mesh network" are you running?
 

Offline seatrump

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: 5GHZ Connectivity?
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2022, 06:30:22 PM »
Every other wireless device I have connect fine to my Eero Mesh network.  Weather stations, at least from Ambient Weather, will only connect if I bring them down and connect them to the primary node and turn off the 5Ghz network.    They seem to be stuck in the past technologically. 

Is there a weather station out there that is plug and play.  Connects to my network without endless fiddling.   Despite engaging Ambient Weather support, I never got my WS1001 to connect to my home network after I switched to using Eeros.  AW just stopped responding when we'd tried all the things listed on their webpage.   You can see why I'd be reluctant to go down that road again.....

Offline WeatherHost

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3584
Re: 5GHZ Connectivity?
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2022, 08:20:37 PM »
If you mean 5.8, I don't know of much that connects to it reliably other than tech-techy tech stuff.  2.4 still seems to be the top cheeze for consumer stuff for real people.


Offline Bashy

  • brecklandweather.com/pws2021
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1369
  • brecklandweather.com/index.php
    • Breckland Weather
Re: 5GHZ Connectivity?
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2022, 11:43:01 PM »
Try connecting the Ambient again but turn off the 5ghz band in the mesh settings just until its connected, then turn it back on or some have a timeout and will revert back to both bands... Many 2.4ghz only devices will only connect this way, the 5ghz takes priority for some reason during setup connection
Kind regards
Bashy

Offline box

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
Re: 5GHZ Connectivity?
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2022, 03:45:19 AM »
I have had this issue when using a phone/Bluetooth to set up a new WiFi device
The issue is where the 2.4 and 5 Ghz networks have the same SSID,   simply rename one or switch the 5ghz signal off for a few minutes

Offline Bashy

  • brecklandweather.com/pws2021
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1369
  • brecklandweather.com/index.php
    • Breckland Weather
Re: 5GHZ Connectivity?
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2022, 03:50:08 AM »
I dont recommend renaming them separately, that could cause connectivity issues when a device switches from one band to the other, example would be a mobile phone/tablet, connected to the 5ghz when nearer the router/AP and then switching to the 2.4ghz when at the end of the garden, 1 it may not auto switch as its a different SSID and 2 if you're using the phone and it does switch, it can drop the connection. Thats my take on it anyway...
Kind regards
Bashy

Offline box

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
Re: 5GHZ Connectivity?
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2022, 05:59:18 AM »
I dont recommend renaming them separately, that could cause connectivity issues when a device switches from one band to the other, example would be a mobile phone/tablet, connected to the 5ghz when nearer the router/AP and then switching to the 2.4ghz when at the end of the garden, 1 it may not auto switch as its a different SSID and 2 if you're using the phone and it does switch, it can drop the connection. Thats my take on it anyway...

Good point

I think you can get around that by connecting your device on the two SSIDs separately (even though its the same router)

IIRC my ISP had issues with some Apple Devices and that was the workaround, although its supposedly fixed now. It only affected visitors as we are an Apple free zone :roll:

not sure if thats the issue here

 

anything