Author Topic: Temp probe with SHT35  (Read 5668 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rover1822

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1076
    • Mini Wind and Solar Data project
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #25 on: May 20, 2020, 04:06:02 PM »
Is this thing grill rated ? I need a grill probe

:)

I am kidding

Ambient:WS-2000,PM 2.5 x2,WH31B x2,WH40E,WH31P
EcoWitt: GW1100,GW1000 x4,WH31 x2,WH57,WH51 x12, WH40,WH5360B,WN34S,WittBoy
Web Sites: WU, Ambient Weather , Ecowitt.net , Ecowitt.net (TEST)
Personal Sites: Weather Cam

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6822
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #26 on: May 20, 2020, 04:21:13 PM »
Okay no more Grilling talk on this thread. I've moved the posts over to Chit Chat section.

Carry over here on this thread to talk about Grilling
https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=39506.0
« Last Edit: May 20, 2020, 04:24:44 PM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge on Raspberry Pi
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline GHammer

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
    • Woodmar Weather
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #27 on: June 26, 2020, 02:18:31 PM »
Anyone know how to mount this probe in the RS0001 shield?
I may have to get a Davis shield at long last.
Wireless Vantage Pro2 Plus with 24hr FARS, WLL

Offline kenthcwx

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
    • Twitter Account
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #28 on: June 26, 2020, 02:36:04 PM »
Anyone know how to mount this probe in the RS0001 shield?
I may have to get a Davis shield at long last.

I'd get a Davis Shield or Meteoshield Pro for it. Gonna be wasted otherwise using it on a shield that costs less than the actual temperature sensor by a decent mile. RS0001 shields don't really give the accuracy you need it to be in my opinion. They are only cheap things & will probably overread the temperature by a good bit.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2020, 02:40:27 PM by kenthcwx »
Froggit WH4000
MeteoShield Professional
Ecowitt WH32-EP
Ecowitt WH51
Ecowitt WH40
Ecowitt WN30
Ecowitt GW1000

Offline GHammer

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
    • Woodmar Weather
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #29 on: June 26, 2020, 05:00:00 PM »
Well, for now it is in the RS, but I agree with getting a proper shield for it. In fact, ordering one now.

GW1000 and 2 2551 consoles picked it up with no problems. Here it showed a +5% humidity difference, and a -0.2 F temp difference. But that is over the 5 minutes reporting cycle at ecowitt.net.

Here's a question though. How well do you think the display/transmitter is going to hold up against weather? Seems open to the elements to me.
Wireless Vantage Pro2 Plus with 24hr FARS, WLL

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6822
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #30 on: June 26, 2020, 08:25:36 PM »
Here's a question though. How well do you think the display/transmitter is going to hold up against weather? Seems open to the elements to me.

Even with a proper radiation shield the transmitter with LCD display needs to go into a weather box. Look for posts by mauro63 on this forum in this very thread, he has shared some pictures of doing just this. See here:
https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=39275.msg404372#msg404372
« Last Edit: June 26, 2020, 08:28:15 PM by galfert »
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge on Raspberry Pi
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline funsutton

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • Weather Underground
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #31 on: June 26, 2020, 11:50:21 PM »
As I just recently purchased a Davis shield, I have to say I was impressed when I first pulled it out of the box. It's build quality is great and so far I've loved having down low where I can not only get to it, but check my temp readings to make sure they are where they should be.

May ambient sensor fits in it nicely, but I can appreciate wanting a more 'naked' sensor or a probe that doesn't have a casing around it. I'll probably upgrade to that if Ambient ever gets in the game with one.

Offline GHammer

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
    • Woodmar Weather
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #32 on: June 27, 2020, 02:05:18 PM »
I received my WH32-EP and have it in service. I'd like to share some thoughts about it.
As it came with no instructions whatsoever, you could think it for use outdoors and don't need to protect it. That thought would be incorrect.

With mauro63 and galfert assistance, I have ordered a weatherproof box for the display/transmitter unit of the WH32-EP
This one:
https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B075DG55KS/?coliid=I2S82AZKQ313JQ&colid=RD68HV70GPRH&psc=1&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it
It has the internal size to accept the display unit.

You will also need somewhere to mount the sensor portion. Currently I have it in the Ecowitt RS0001 which is not a good shield for this sensor. It has no mounting plate so the sensor will flop inside and rest on the plates of the shield. It also doesn't have good performance.

Ideally, you'd get a Barani MeteoShield Professional, but I have went with the Davis 7714 for budget reasons.

Thanks to all who pointed these needed items out when I asked.
Wireless Vantage Pro2 Plus with 24hr FARS, WLL

Offline Daniel785

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #33 on: June 28, 2020, 07:03:57 AM »
Anyoune got a link to a weather box which will fit the WH-32 EP?

Offline GHammer

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
    • Woodmar Weather
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #34 on: June 28, 2020, 08:00:05 AM »
Anyoune got a link to a weather box which will fit the WH-32 EP?
The post directly above has a link to one and you can find that one or a similar one in the UK
Wireless Vantage Pro2 Plus with 24hr FARS, WLL

Offline Daniel785

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #35 on: June 28, 2020, 08:04:30 AM »
I've just seen🙄 my bad thank you!

Offline Daniel785

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #36 on: June 28, 2020, 08:05:44 AM »
Also does anyone know what the battery life is like on the
 WH-32 EP?

Offline Mandrake

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1084
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #37 on: June 28, 2020, 08:13:13 AM »
Should be the same as the WH32/31 which is pretty good.
I have not seen my drop a battery bar yet in 16 months.
If you are using the new WH32-EP which is the external model then I recommend that you purchase the Lithium AA batteries as these will operate in colder conditions better than Alkaline.
G1ZFO

Ecowitt HP2551A + WH65 Tri-Wing (Wunderground: IGUILDFO67)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Wunderground: IGUILDFO68)
Ecowitt GW1000 (Mk2) test environment driving CumulusMX on a RPi 3b
Ecowitt GW2000 (Test)
Ecowitt WS90 Wittboy - Test
Ecowitt WH51 (x6) Soil Moisture Sensor
Ecowitt WH41 PM2.5 AQM Sensor
Ecowitt WH31 (x8) Thermo/Hygro Sensor
Ecowitt WS80 Ultrasonic Anemometer (pre-prod test)
Ecowitt WH57 Lightning Sensor -test
Ecowitt WH32-EP (SHT35) + Davis 7714 Screen
Ecowitt WH45 CO2/PM2.5/PM10 -Test
Ecowitt WN34 Soil Temp Sensor -Test
Ecowitt WN34 Water Temp Sensor -Test
Ecowitt WN35 Leaf Moisture

Offline KD7GFL

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #38 on: June 28, 2020, 09:26:15 AM »
I received my WH32-EP and have it in service. I'd like to share some thoughts about it.
As it came with no instructions whatsoever, you could think it for use outdoors and don't need to protect it. That thought would be incorrect.

With mauro63 and galfert assistance, I have ordered a weatherproof box for the display/transmitter unit of the WH32-EP
This one:
https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B075DG55KS/?coliid=I2S82AZKQ313JQ&colid=RD68HV70GPRH&psc=1&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it
It has the internal size to accept the display unit.

You will also need somewhere to mount the sensor portion. Currently I have it in the Ecowitt RS0001 which is not a good shield for this sensor. It has no mounting plate so the sensor will flop inside and rest on the plates of the shield. It also doesn't have good performance.

Ideally, you'd get a Barani MeteoShield Professional, but I have went with the Davis 7714 for budget reasons.

Thanks to all who pointed these needed items out when I asked.

I have a WH32-EP on order, but have not received it.  I have already received a Davis 7714 for the probe, but have not ordered a weatherproof box for the display/control yet.

Is there a reason you went with the 5.9 x 5.9 x 2.8 inch (150 x 150 x 70 mm) size?   I believe the smaller 5.9 x 4.3 x 2.8 inch (150 x 110 x 70 mm) size is big enough to fit the display/control which I have the dimensions to be 4.85 X 1.65 X .55 in.  Is there a need for a larger box?

I was actually considering a box with a clear door: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07RPNWD47/ref=twister_B07RPNWC8V?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

Any thoughts pro or con on that option?






« Last Edit: June 28, 2020, 09:58:21 AM by drtinphx »
CWOP: KD7GFL (AV640)
WU: KMOAUXVA6
Ambient Weather: KD7GFL

Equipment: GW1000, WS-68, WH40 (w/WH65 Funnel for improved accuracy), WH32-EP (Davis 7714), WH-31 X 2, WH-32, WH-57, HP2551-C, and an Ambient WeatherBridge.

Offline GHammer

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
    • Woodmar Weather
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #39 on: June 28, 2020, 10:03:32 AM »
I received my WH32-EP and have it in service. I'd like to share some thoughts about it.
As it came with no instructions whatsoever, you could think it for use outdoors and don't need to protect it. That thought would be incorrect.

With mauro63 and galfert assistance, I have ordered a weatherproof box for the display/transmitter unit of the WH32-EP
This one:
https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B075DG55KS/?coliid=I2S82AZKQ313JQ&colid=RD68HV70GPRH&psc=1&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it
It has the internal size to accept the display unit.

You will also need somewhere to mount the sensor portion. Currently I have it in the Ecowitt RS0001 which is not a good shield for this sensor. It has no mounting plate so the sensor will flop inside and rest on the plates of the shield. It also doesn't have good performance.

Ideally, you'd get a Barani MeteoShield Professional, but I have went with the Davis 7714 for budget reasons.

Thanks to all who pointed these needed items out when I asked.

I have a WH32-EP on order, but have not received it.  I have already received a Davis 7714 for the probe, but have not ordered a weatherproof box for the display/control yet.

Is there a reason you went with the 5.9 x 5.9 x 2.8 inch (150 x 150 x 70 mm) size?   I believe the smaller 5.9 x 4.3 x 2.8 inch (150 x 110 x 70 mm) size is big enough to fit the display/control which I have the dimensions to be 4.85 X 1.65 X .55 in.  Is there a need for a larger box?

I was actually considering a box with a clear door: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07RPNWD47/ref=twister_B07RPNWC8V?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

Any thoughts pro or con on that option?

First, I did go with the 4.3 option, don't know why the square one was linked.

I don't see a way for the cable to pass through the box you asked about. For my install, I'm not likely to look at the display anyway.
Wireless Vantage Pro2 Plus with 24hr FARS, WLL

Offline KD7GFL

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #40 on: June 28, 2020, 10:20:02 AM »
I figured it would be simple enough to drill a hole in the bottom panel for the probe to pass through and use some silicon to reseal around the wire once install is complete.

My thoughts were that I could see the display while passing by in the yard and also the door would make battery changes simple.  The cost is only $4 more so not a big difference.

Was thinking about ordering one for the lightning detector also.
CWOP: KD7GFL (AV640)
WU: KMOAUXVA6
Ambient Weather: KD7GFL

Equipment: GW1000, WS-68, WH40 (w/WH65 Funnel for improved accuracy), WH32-EP (Davis 7714), WH-31 X 2, WH-32, WH-57, HP2551-C, and an Ambient WeatherBridge.

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6822
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #41 on: June 28, 2020, 12:11:11 PM »
I wonder how clear and see through that clear cover lasts after a year in the sun. If you get it...please post a year from now and share a picture.
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge on Raspberry Pi
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline KD7GFL

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #42 on: June 28, 2020, 04:38:10 PM »
I wonder how clear and see through that clear cover lasts after a year in the sun. If you get it...please post a year from now and share a picture.

I just posted that question to Amazon and when I was finished I noticed someone else had posted a similar question earlier today  [tup]

Thinking I know who that was.  :grin:

Going to wait a few days before purchasing one to see what the feedback will be.
CWOP: KD7GFL (AV640)
WU: KMOAUXVA6
Ambient Weather: KD7GFL

Equipment: GW1000, WS-68, WH40 (w/WH65 Funnel for improved accuracy), WH32-EP (Davis 7714), WH-31 X 2, WH-32, WH-57, HP2551-C, and an Ambient WeatherBridge.

Offline GHammer

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
    • Woodmar Weather
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #43 on: June 28, 2020, 05:32:15 PM »
I just mounted my box. Took maybe 5 minutes. Drilled a couple of pilot holes in the box, slit one cover with a razor, passed the probe through. Used sheet metal screws to fasten it to it's support. Coiled the probe cable into the box, placed the transmitter box in, 4 screws in the top. Took silicone to the cover I slit.
Took longer to write than to do it.
Looks way better to boot, wife approved now!
Wireless Vantage Pro2 Plus with 24hr FARS, WLL

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6822
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #44 on: June 28, 2020, 05:54:24 PM »
Please share pictures of your install.
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge on Raspberry Pi
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline galfert

  • Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6822
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #45 on: June 28, 2020, 06:00:19 PM »
I wonder how clear and see through that clear cover lasts after a year in the sun. If you get it...please post a year from now and share a picture.

I just posted that question to Amazon and when I was finished I noticed someone else had posted a similar question earlier today  [tup]

Thinking I know who that was.  :grin:

Going to wait a few days before purchasing one to see what the feedback will be.
Yep, that was me.
Ecowitt GW1000 | Meteobridge on Raspberry Pi
WU: KFLWINTE111  |  PWSweather: KFLWINTE111
CWOP: FW3708  |  AWEKAS: 14814
Windy: pws-f075acbe
Weather Underground Issue Tracking
Tele-Pole

Offline GHammer

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
    • Woodmar Weather
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #46 on: June 29, 2020, 01:32:20 PM »
Please share pictures of your install.

Here's the completed install. Using the RS shield until the Davis arrives.

Wireless Vantage Pro2 Plus with 24hr FARS, WLL

Offline KD7GFL

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #47 on: June 29, 2020, 03:44:09 PM »
I thought the reason to have a radiation shield was for the sensor to be out in the open and away from structures.
CWOP: KD7GFL (AV640)
WU: KMOAUXVA6
Ambient Weather: KD7GFL

Equipment: GW1000, WS-68, WH40 (w/WH65 Funnel for improved accuracy), WH32-EP (Davis 7714), WH-31 X 2, WH-32, WH-57, HP2551-C, and an Ambient WeatherBridge.

Offline GHammer

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
    • Woodmar Weather
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #48 on: June 29, 2020, 03:52:49 PM »
I thought the reason to have a radiation shield was for the sensor to be out in the open and away from structures.

Could be, but that's where mine is mounted.
Wireless Vantage Pro2 Plus with 24hr FARS, WLL

Offline GHammer

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 191
    • Woodmar Weather
Re: Temp probe with SHT35
« Reply #49 on: June 30, 2020, 09:41:05 AM »
Here's a question though. How well do you think the display/transmitter is going to hold up against weather? Seems open to the elements to me.

Even with a proper radiation shield the transmitter with LCD display needs to go into a weather box. Look for posts by mauro63 on this forum in this very thread, he has shared some pictures of doing just this. See here:
https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=39275.msg404372#msg404372


Color me confused. Lucy says the LED is 'rainproof'

"Thanks for your reminding of the instruction to protect the LCD display.
It's rainproof and if you install it vertically, you may no need to worry about the waterproof issue."
Wireless Vantage Pro2 Plus with 24hr FARS, WLL

 

anything