Author Topic: Webcam image question...  (Read 2472 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 44085weather

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • 44085weather.com
Webcam image question...
« on: April 11, 2017, 04:21:56 PM »
How do you guys and gals get your webcam images to display the current conditions? I was trying to do it with Weather Display but it wants .gif images and my webcam saves .jpg images. Is there a PHP script or something you use? Is there a specific software you use? I am using Blue Iris as my Camera software if that helps you at all. i have mostly Foscam Cameras and a few others 12 in total, but i only want to use 3 or 4 on my website, and only on needs to have the current conditions.

Thanks in advance,

Tom

Offline hankster

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 481
    • NFM Weather
Re: Webcam image question...
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2017, 04:40:23 PM »

Offline 44085weather

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • 44085weather.com
Re: Webcam image question...
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2017, 05:38:37 PM »
Thank you for the video link, but that does not work with Blue Iris or the Foscam Cameras.It just finds the integrated camera on my laptop.

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6230
    • LiVE WEATHER
Re: Webcam image question...
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2017, 05:55:33 PM »
As long as you have BI running you can setup ftp and post directly.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2017, 06:07:22 PM by ValentineWeather »
Randy

Offline 44085weather

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • 44085weather.com
Re: Webcam image question...
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2017, 06:00:16 PM »
But from blue iris how do I get it to add weather information?

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6230
    • LiVE WEATHER
Re: Webcam image question...
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2017, 06:06:34 PM »
I don't with BI only on timelapse using iptimelapse by sybectec. BI does have a 3rd party add on I read about but never tried. 
Randy

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6230
    • LiVE WEATHER
Re: Webcam image question...
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2017, 06:09:42 PM »
Randy

Offline SLOweather

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3457
    • http://www.sloweather.com
Re: Webcam image question...
« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2017, 06:24:10 PM »
Dunno how else it's done, but you could use the weather graphic PHP script that makes things like Valentine's banner:



and edit it to use the web cam image. It's the same basic script I use to label my animated panorama:



Oh yeah, let's see... One other trick I learned for this image:



The text color is dynamic, in order to stand out from the varying background. I forget what I tried first to shift the color. I think it was a simple 50% shift of the 3 RGB values or something. But that makes the complement of gray, uh, gray, so the text disappeared into a foggy picture. So this is a different amount of RGB shift.

I just remembered, some people use ImageSalsa to do the overlay. Not sure if it's still available, and I don't think it's supported anymore.

If you go the PHP route, it will be a fun learning experience. It was for me, as you can see.


Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8604
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Webcam image question...
« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2017, 06:41:31 PM »
What I used in the Meteotemplate banner to overcome the issue of text being hard to read due to various backgrounds, was that I mimicked a shadow.

What I did was simply first draw black text. Then, "above it" draw the same text in white color, but shift it 1 or 2px to the top and left, so you could see the outlines of both black and white.

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6230
    • LiVE WEATHER
Re: Webcam image question...
« Reply #9 on: April 11, 2017, 07:14:02 PM »
I downloaded the Blue Iris tools but can't figure out how to turn the macro on.  #-o
Randy

Offline 44085weather

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • 44085weather.com
Re: Webcam image question...
« Reply #10 on: April 11, 2017, 07:33:42 PM »
Here is the BI tools link on Ipcamtalk.
https://ipcamtalk.com/threads/blue-iris-tools-weather-overlay-watchdog-more.190/
Thanks. Ill play with it this weekend and see what I can do. I've said it before, you guys are great.


Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6230
    • LiVE WEATHER
Re: Webcam image question...
« Reply #11 on: April 11, 2017, 07:46:15 PM »
Think I figured it out. Download latest update to tools and read this for inserting on image.
Randy

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6230
    • LiVE WEATHER
Re: Webcam image question...
« Reply #12 on: April 11, 2017, 08:09:50 PM »
What BI tools macro looks like. I added just a couple conditions not to clutter at top for still images, because time-lapse has everything at bottom.
Randy

Offline W3DRM

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3336
    • Carson Valley Weather
Re: Webcam image question...
« Reply #13 on: April 11, 2017, 08:20:14 PM »
What BI tools macro looks like. I added just a couple conditions not to clutter at top for still images, because time-lapse has everything at bottom.

I really like Jachym's idea of placing the same text on top of each other with one being offset and of a different color. Does BI have that capability? Another way would be to place a solid light or dark background behind where the text will go and then using text of a contrasting color.
Don - W3DRM - Minden, Nevada --- Blitzortung ID: 808 --- FlightRadar24 ID: F-KRNO2
Davis Wireless VP2, WD 10.37s135,
StartWatch, VirtualVP, VPLive, Win10 Pro
--- Logitech HD Pro C920 webcam
--- RIPE Atlas Probe - 32849

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6230
    • LiVE WEATHER
Re: Webcam image question...
« Reply #14 on: April 11, 2017, 08:31:19 PM »
I think BI only has white text, haven't really looked deep into it however.
Randy

Offline corwyyn

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 328
  • Far, far east Mesa, AZ
    • Sleeping Saguaros Weather  Mesa, AZ
Re: Webcam image question...
« Reply #15 on: April 12, 2017, 09:53:04 AM »
I think BI only has white text, haven't really looked deep into it however.

I just checked my install of BI and it has color options. 
Kevin
AD5VG
Blitzortung station 1042

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6230
    • LiVE WEATHER
Re: Webcam image question...
« Reply #16 on: April 12, 2017, 10:01:31 AM »
I think BI only has white text, haven't really looked deep into it however.

I just checked my install of BI and it has color options.

I saw that today also. You can adjust background also making lighter or darker contrast so lots of options on fonts.
Randy

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6230
    • LiVE WEATHER
Re: Webcam image question...
« Reply #17 on: April 12, 2017, 10:03:38 AM »
I tried roman font size 9 here.
Randy

Offline 44085weather

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • 44085weather.com
Re: Webcam image question...
« Reply #18 on: April 13, 2017, 08:24:39 AM »
Thank you all for your help, got 2 of my cams setup.


Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6230
    • LiVE WEATHER
Re: Webcam image question...
« Reply #19 on: April 13, 2017, 08:34:33 AM »
Nice so how do the fonts look at night? I might try the color it looks good daytime.
Randy

Offline 44085weather

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 60
    • 44085weather.com
Re: Webcam image question...
« Reply #20 on: April 13, 2017, 09:23:36 AM »
Nice so how do the fonts look at night? I might try the color it looks good daytime.

I will find out tonight. I hurt my back and have the day off so I got a chance to p lay around on the computer. Check this thread again tonight as those images are pulling from the updating images. I tried the orange and the green ill decide which I like better at night. May try other colors as well I have 12 cameras to play with.

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6230
    • LiVE WEATHER
Re: Webcam image question...
« Reply #21 on: April 13, 2017, 09:30:21 AM »
I put a 10 white opacity background color on mine. It may be enough to counter the nighttime black and have fonts show through. Something to play with anyway.  :-)
Randy

 

anything