Author Topic: VWS & WRM200  (Read 3228 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Hoopers

  • Hoopers
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
VWS & WRM200
« on: March 28, 2013, 08:33:08 AM »
Has anyone got VWS to work properly with the Oregon WRM200? My WRM918 worked perfectly with VWS but it had to be retired after about 6 years and I replaced it with a WRM200. VWS mostly works but every now and again it produces massive spikes, mostly in Rain but also OutTemp. I'm running the latest VWS on an XP machine, and as I say, everything worked perfectly with my WRM918. Has anybody any tips on how to get round this problem?

Offline Fortnerw

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: VWS & WRM200
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2013, 08:12:47 PM »
I too have just installed a WMR200A and previously I had a 100N. Desk unit stopped receiving rain info. I am running vws 14.01 pg 46 I am having an erronous rain reading sent to wunderground of .42 inches. It does not show up on my computer screen or the wmr200 desk unit. I will be looking to see if I can find were it is coming from and let you know if I do.

Offline Hoopers

  • Hoopers
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: VWS & WRM200
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2013, 04:19:44 AM »
I gave up on the WMR200 and bought a Davis Vantage Vue, which works perfectly with VWS. So it's Ebay for my almost new WMR200! It is annoying that I've had to take a financial hit when both Ambient and Oregon say that they are compatible, when they aren't. Still, you live and learn.

Offline stevebrtx

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 582
    • Buchanan Dam Weather
Re: VWS & WRM200
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2013, 10:32:24 AM »
The 200 is notorious for spikes etc. and the receiver dropping out. For the spikes, go into Settings menu on VWS and Range and set some limits that are reasonable. I have 2 of the barking dogs, sad they continue to market such a miserable product. I went to the Pro 2, a year old now and absolutely zero problems.

Offline Fortnerw

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: VWS & WRM200
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2013, 06:02:30 PM »
Thanks Hoopers and stevebrtx. It is a shame paying that much money and get a piece of garbage. I am going to try the wrannty route. Some people have no problems. I think the problem is in the console. The first time I set it up the atomic clock locked on. This was always working on the 100n. I have had to reset the console a few times and it has never locked on since the first time. I think the problem must be the datalogger. I am not sure what value that should be on. Must get on the tele with tech services(oh Joy)

Offline stevebrtx

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 582
    • Buchanan Dam Weather
Re: VWS & WRM200
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2013, 08:31:33 AM »
My first one was definitely the console, the data logger couldn't even record at 15 min intervals, it would pick odd times etc. I finally went back to my 100 console and it works great. The second 200 is better, still not in the same universe as the Davis. Living in MX you accept the risk of bringing something down and having it fail and there is no way to return it for warranty so you just take the hit.

Offline Fortnerw

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: VWS & WRM200
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2013, 06:07:00 PM »
I think you are right. I probably will have to change to a new system. On the wmr 200 console can anyone tell me what the lights on the bottom of the console mean. Occassionaly the rain light will come on. Right now the middle light that looks like a check mark is on. I cannot see anything different and in the useless manual these lights are not addressed. Any help will be appreciated and aid me in talking to customer tech help. Thanks

Offline Fortnerw

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: VWS & WRM200
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2013, 03:00:02 PM »
I finally was able to send my wmr200 console for waranty. I received the console from them. It does seem to be a new console. So far (3days) it has not dropped any sensors and seems to be operating normal. I am still having problems with ambient weather exchange system dropping my unit daily around 1 pm and shows back up around 6 pm. I also upload to Weather Bug and it works 100%. On this console and the 1st one I have not had a reading in the wind chill area. Just has --F. Has anyone else had reading in this area on the console. On my computer screen with the VWS software it does show windchill. Does anyone know the fix. Just saw the new OS weather station 649.00. Looks like Davis Vue package. Don't believe I would put that much money into OS.

Offline stevebrtx

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 582
    • Buchanan Dam Weather
Re: VWS & WRM200
« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2013, 04:08:43 PM »
If I recall, it has to be below a certain temp for wind chill to show, someone will correct me if I'm wrong. Yes, OS plowed their field deep and narrow with the 200, their reputation lies buried there for many of us - quite frankly at any price. Once you've gone to Davis, there's no reason to go back.

Offline Fortnerw

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: VWS & WRM200
« Reply #9 on: August 23, 2013, 06:38:25 PM »
Thanks Stevebrtx, I was thinking that may be the case and since I got the unit in April that low temp has not occured here in Hot Dang Middle Georgia. Thanks again for the info

Offline Fortnerw

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: VWS & WRM200
« Reply #10 on: August 27, 2013, 05:34:30 PM »
Received an email from OS today stating the temp has to be 50degrees or lower and wind speed at least 3 mph before wind chill is displayed. This does make sense although the plastic overlay that covers the wmr console to protect the screen shows the wind chill reading 70degrees so on would think it would be reading all the time. Naturally that info is not in the user manual. So now I know. It will be along time before the temp here in hot dang middle Ga will be below 50 degrees but I can wait!!

Offline Beaudog

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1217
Re: VWS & WRM200
« Reply #11 on: August 27, 2013, 07:06:00 PM »
Wind chill is not normally calculated above 50F because there is almost no possibility of you getting frost bite at those themperatures.

From the wind chill wiki.

The equivalent formula in US customary units is:[11]
T_{\rm wc}=35.74+0.6215 T_{\rm a}-35.75 V^{+0.16}+0.4275 T_{\rm a} V^{+0.16}\,\!where T_{\rm wc}\,\! is the wind chill index, based on the Fahrenheit scale, T_{\rm a}\,\! is the air temperature, measured in F, and V\,\! is the wind speed, in mph.[12]
Windchill temperature is defined only for temperatures at or below 10 C (50 F) and wind speeds above 4.8 kilometres per hour (3.0 mph).[11]

As the air temperature falls, the chilling effect of any wind that is present increases. For example, a 16 km/h (9.9 mph) wind will lower the apparent temperature by a wider margin at an air temperature of −20 C (−4 F), than a wind of the same speed would if the air temperature were −10 C (14 F).

Offline Fortnerw

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: VWS & WRM200
« Reply #12 on: August 27, 2013, 10:45:10 PM »
Thanks for the info beaudog! Since the overlay on the console had 70 degrees and the computer screen displaying VWS info with a windchill indicator reading close to 70 degrees with the outside temp reading 69.8 degrees I was just trying to determine if the -- on my console meant not working or computing or not receiving. Seems to be nailed down now. Thanks

 

anything