WXforum.net

Weather Station Hardware => Boltek/NexStorm Lightning Detectors => Topic started by: josecmorales on February 12, 2021, 10:45:59 AM

Title: Boltek standalone.
Post by: josecmorales on February 12, 2021, 10:45:59 AM
Hi there.

I want to install a lighting detector, but need to be standalone and send data to internet to shown in a website!, is boltek capable to do that?
Title: Re: Boltek standalone.
Post by: sacreyweather on February 12, 2021, 12:06:22 PM
All Boltek detectors require a computer as an interface and if you want it on the net, said computer will need to be on at all times to run the software to upload it from.

John
Title: Re: Boltek standalone.
Post by: JupiterJoe on February 12, 2021, 01:02:06 PM
You need to look into Microsferics(coming soon) or Blitzortung(waiting list).
Title: Re: Boltek standalone.
Post by: josecmorales on February 12, 2021, 01:06:37 PM
All Boltek detectors require a computer as an interface and if you want it on the net, said computer will need to be on at all times to run the software to upload it from.

John

Wooo bad new for me!

You need to look into Microsferics(coming soon) or Blitzortung(waiting list).

Im in list but dont have any answer, Microsferics sound good!
Title: Re: Boltek standalone.
Post by: JupiterJoe on February 12, 2021, 01:15:19 PM
I do believe, however, that the new Microsferics does need a computer as well. I'm sorry, I misread your first post. However, you may be able to look into a mini computer or something like that, just to run the client program. Even Blitzortung needs a power source and network connection, so you you have to be somewhat dependent on that one way or the other. So sorry I misunderstood you.
It took me 2 years to get my Blitzortung.
Microsferics will come pre-assembled and ready to go. Looks like this spring some time. :)
I have been with Microsferics for a long time. My old version still uses my Boltek as an antenna, but the new system doesn't need that.
All Boltek detectors require a computer as an interface and if you want it on the net, said computer will need to be on at all times to run the software to upload it from.

John

Wooo bad new for me!

You need to look into Microsferics(coming soon) or Blitzortung(waiting list).

Im in list but dont have any answer, Microsferics sound good!
Title: Re: Boltek standalone.
Post by: racenet on July 03, 2021, 07:55:34 PM
I do believe, however, that the new Microsferics does need a computer as well. I'm sorry, I misread your first post. However, you may be able to look into a mini computer or something like that, just to run the client program. Even Blitzortung needs a power source and network connection, so you you have to be somewhat dependent on that one way or the other. So sorry I misunderstood you.
It took me 2 years to get my Blitzortung.
Microsferics will come pre-assembled and ready to go. Looks like this spring some time. :)
I have been with Microsferics for a long time. My old version still uses my Boltek as an antenna, but the new system doesn't need that.
All Boltek detectors require a computer as an interface and if you want it on the net, said computer will need to be on at all times to run the software to upload it from.

John

Wooo bad new for me!

You need to look into Microsferics(coming soon) or Blitzortung(waiting list).

Im in list but dont have any answer, Microsferics sound good!

V5 of the TOA hardware does not require a computer. It simply connects to your router. Orders are now open for the new hardware. Info on ordering can be found on the Astrogenic support forum.