Author Topic: Starting GRLevel 3 using AutoIT  (Read 2272 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tmabell

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 394
    • Mishawaka Weather
Starting GRLevel 3 using AutoIT
« on: May 19, 2016, 07:43:25 PM »
I have been using a script to start GRLevel3 (ver 1) for some time without issue.  As many of you know we have to do that in order to initiate things like web publishing.  The author wont' add functionality so this is what we must do.  Well, after learning that I will need ver 2.5 soon in order to keep the program working I grabbed the trial version.  I installed it on my laptop (Win 7) and my main box (Win XP Pro) - no laughing  :oops:  The program starts fine on Win 7 but not so on XP.  In order for the program to run with out instantly crashing I had to disable advanced text services in XP's compatiblility mode.  Fine, however when started via AutoIT it is no joy.  I tried to reach out in the owner's forum but guess what?  I am not yet an owner and as a result the admins of that board ignore my request to join.  Oh, and the trial forum?  Yes, that one is a 404.  So I am asking anyone who migh have a clue how to solve this to please chime it!  I really don't want to buy the new version if I can't make it work as I need it to.

Thanks!

Offline night

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 156
Re: Starting GRLevel 3 using AutoIT
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2016, 08:14:21 PM »
Have you tried putting a shortcut to GR3 in the startup folder?

Mark

Offline W9LRT

  • Technology Evangelist
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • Weather Geek
    • W9LRT
Re: Starting GRLevel 3 using AutoIT
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2016, 10:45:04 PM »
Startwatch from softwx.com?

Offline tmabell

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 394
    • Mishawaka Weather
Re: Starting GRLevel 3 using AutoIT
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2016, 07:13:05 AM »
Nothing will start it unless "advanced Text Service" is disabled.  Why is that the case?

Offline tmabell

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 394
    • Mishawaka Weather
Re: Starting GRLevel 3 using AutoIT (Solved)
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2016, 08:22:09 AM »
This issue was solved with the use of a simple visual basic script to start GrLevel3.exe.  Now I have AutoIt call that script instead of the application directly and all is working fine.

Offline George Richardson

  • WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1391
    • Smith Mountain Lake Weather
Re: Starting GRLevel 3 using AutoIT
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2016, 09:35:16 AM »
Could you share that script?

Offline tmabell

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 394
    • Mishawaka Weather
Re: Starting GRLevel 3 using AutoIT
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2016, 10:09:05 AM »
Save the following code as a file with the extension .vbs

Dim objShell
Set objShell = CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
Set objExec = objShell.Exec("c:\Program Files\GRLevelX\GRLevel3_2\grlevel3.exe")
Set objShell = Nothing


You may need to modify the path to GrLevel3.exe depending on your OS.
« Last Edit: May 29, 2016, 11:02:20 AM by tmabell »

Offline George Richardson

  • WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1391
    • Smith Mountain Lake Weather
Re: Starting GRLevel 3 using AutoIT
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2016, 01:53:45 PM »
Thank you!

 

anything