Author Topic: Help with wxssgauges  (Read 1206 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline alanlehman

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Help with wxssgauges
« on: January 25, 2018, 10:12:07 PM »
I am trying to get wxssgauges.php up and running with my MeteobridgePro.

At present I do not have a weather station connected - it is at a remote location, but I was get it configured before delivering the Meteobridge to the facility. I'm using the internal barometer readings in an attempt to verify that it is working.

wxssgauges.php displays only a blank page.
ssg/gauges-ss-basic.htm displays properly formatted gauges, but the barometer displays 990.0

The MeteobridgePro appears to be uploading data via conds.php using MBrealtime-template.txt properly. The barometric pressure displays and updates properly on wxindex.php.

In gauges.js, I set weatherProgram     : 4,

but MBrealtimegauges.txt does not look right:

{"date":"20:52:19",
"dateFormat":"m/d/y",
"temp":"[th0temp-act]",
"tempTL":"[th0temp-dmin]",
"tempTH":"[th0temp-dmax]",
"intemp":"104.9",
"dew":"[th0dew-act]",
"dewpointTL":"--",
"dewpointTH":"--",
"apptemp":"32",
"apptempTL":"32",
"apptempTH":"32",
"wchill":"[wind0chill-act]",
"wchillTL":"--",
"heatindex":"32",
"heatindexTH":"32",
"humidex":"32",
"wlatest":"0.0",
"wspeed":"0.0",
"wgust":"0.0",
"wgustTM":"0.0",
"bearing":"0",
"avgbearing":"0",
"press":"30.10",
"pressTL":"30.07",
"pressTH":"30.22",
"pressL":"28.55",
"pressH":"30.90",
"rfall":"0.00",
"rrate":"0.00",
"rrateTM":"--",
"hum":"[th0hum-act.0]",
"humTL":"--",
"humTH":"--",
"inhum":"13.0",
"SensorContactLost":"0",
"forecast":"Conditions updated: 20:52:19",
"tempunit":"F",
"windunit":"mph",
"pressunit":"inHg",
"rainunit":"in",
"temptrend":"--",
"TtempTL":"04:13",
"TtempTH":"04:13",
"TdewpointTL":"04:13",
"TdewpointTH":"04:13",
"TapptempTL":"00:00",
"TapptempTH":"00:00",
"TwchillTL":"04:13",
"TheatindexTH":"n/a",
"TrrateTM":"00:00",
"ThourlyrainTH":"00:00",
"LastRainTipISO":"n/a",
"hourlyrainTH":"0.0",
"ThumTL":"04:13",
"ThumTH":"04:13",
"TpressTL":"16:44",
"TpressTH":"00:00",
"presstrendval":"0.00",
"Tbeaufort":"F0",
"TwgustTM":"04:13",
"windTM":"0.0",
"bearingTM":"0",
"timeUTC":"2018,01,26,02,52,19",
"BearingRangeFrom10":"359",
"BearingRangeTo10":"0",
"UV":"--",
"UVTH":"--",
"SolarRad":"--",
"CurrentSolarMax":"--",
"SolarTM":"--",
"domwinddir":"--",
"WindRoseData":"[0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0]",
"windrun":"0.0",
"version":"3.5",
"build":"11855",
"ver":"10"}

Any help would be most appreciated.
Alan

Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9257
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: Help with wxssgauges
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2018, 11:04:18 AM »
The key was you saying "At present I do not have a weather station connected"

Because there is no weather station to draw data from, the Meteobridge software is unable to convert the tags for temperature, humidity, rain, wind, winddir into actual values, so leaves those variables as unprocessed tags like [th0temp-act].

Since those are not numbers, the gauges.js file gets numeric exceptions when processing them, so the gauges won't display correctly.  You'll need to have a weather station attached for you to see a fully-functional SteelSeries gauge set.
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline alanlehman

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Help with wxssgauges
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2018, 10:05:33 PM »
Thanks Ken. I get that I need the sensors to have the corresponding gauges work. Do you think the lack of the weather station would inhibit the barometer which is integral to the Meteobridge from working?

Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9257
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: Help with wxssgauges
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2018, 11:13:53 PM »
The barometer seems to be working
Code: [Select]
"press":"30.10",
"pressTL":"30.07",
"pressTH":"30.22",
"pressL":"28.55",
"pressH":"30.90",

"TpressTL":"16:44",
"TpressTH":"00:00",
"presstrendval":"0.00",

all indicate values and not unparsed weather tags from Meteobridge, so I'd say the barometer is working -- the rest of the sensors (temperature, humidity, wind speed, wind dir, and rain) will require a weather station to be active.
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline alanlehman

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Help with wxssgauges
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2018, 01:02:20 AM »
Thanks again. I went to the weather station location yesterday but I couldn't get the receiver in my MBPro to work. It'll have to wait until this weekend to try again.

Offline alanlehman

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Help with wxssgauges
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2018, 06:52:55 PM »
I determined that the problem was a bad antenna cable connection. Once repaired the AJAX updates are working reliably.

If I point the browser to ssg/gauges-ss-basic.htm or ssg/gauges-ss-basic-inc.php, gauges display correctly and are updating as expected.

However, wxssgauges.php is still not displaying gauges, just the menu, header and footer, and the radio buttons for choosing units. Looking the at the browser console, it appears to be loading MBreatimegauges.txt every 10 seconds or so. No error appear in the console display.

Thanks again for your help.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2018, 11:18:45 PM by alanlehman »