Author Topic: Is there a wxastronomy update  (Read 6910 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tigerbait

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • Ellerbe Weather
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #75 on: February 09, 2023, 04:32:28 PM »
Good afternoon,
I have been trying to get my wxastronomy page to populate also with nothing but a black page.
http://www.sporttiger.com/wxastronomy.php
My old page works fine except can't figure out why date is not up to date. http://www.sporttiger.com/wxastronomybak.php
I have jpgraphs installed in a jpgraphs-4.4.1 folder off my root.  Not sure if that is correct. 
Any help appreciated in advance.

Alan
« Last Edit: February 09, 2023, 04:35:44 PM by tigerbait »
https://www.sporttiger.com
Davis VP2 Weather Display
Saratoga scripts

Offline K6GKM

  • CamWX.com
  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • CamWX
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #76 on: February 09, 2023, 04:36:03 PM »
Can you please post your wxastronomy.php file for us to take a look at?  Not much to go off of looking at your page source.
Grant Miles - Camarillo, CA, USA
Owner/Admin - CamWX.com
SKYWARN Spotter
Davis Vantage Vue, WD, GRLevel3

Offline tigerbait

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • Ellerbe Weather
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #77 on: February 09, 2023, 04:44:17 PM »
Will this work?
https://www.sporttiger.com
Davis VP2 Weather Display
Saratoga scripts

Offline K6GKM

  • CamWX.com
  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • CamWX
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #78 on: February 09, 2023, 04:55:24 PM »
Yep, perfect.  Assuming you have include-wxastronomy.php in the right place, this looks ok.  I use include_once rather than include, but i think include should work just fine.

Code: [Select]
<?php include("include-wxastronomy.php"); ?>
Can you also post up your include_wxastronomy.php?
Grant Miles - Camarillo, CA, USA
Owner/Admin - CamWX.com
SKYWARN Spotter
Davis Vantage Vue, WD, GRLevel3

Offline scudwatcher

  • Billy T. Forecaster Webmaster csraweather.net
  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Amateur Radio KC4SRA csraweather.net
    • CSRA Weather
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #79 on: February 09, 2023, 04:58:28 PM »
GEAUX TIGAHS!  Alan, may I suggest you start by reading this thread from the beginning (really helped me get my page up and cruising).  Please pay attention to Mr. Ken True's instructions and be sure to download sunposa.php V2, make sure the moon NH and sun-arrow.gif images are in your ajax-images folder!  These guys here will certainly help you.  They really helped me!

Offline tigerbait

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • Ellerbe Weather
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #80 on: February 09, 2023, 06:01:31 PM »
Thanks for all the direction guys!! Can't thank you enough as it works like a champ.
One question does the page have to be refreshed by the browser in order to update? Or is there a setting to update the page?

Alan
https://www.sporttiger.com
Davis VP2 Weather Display
Saratoga scripts

Offline tigerbait

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • Ellerbe Weather
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #81 on: February 09, 2023, 11:16:48 PM »
Ok my moondetail1.gif will not update.  I have deleted the file from the root.  That part of the page goes away. Then I recreated in WD & uploaded which it does every 5 minutes.  File attached.
Why does my page still show the moondetail.gif date as 1-24-23?
Thank you,
Alan
https://www.sporttiger.com
Davis VP2 Weather Display
Saratoga scripts

Offline hcorrin

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • Ballaugh Weather
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #82 on: February 10, 2023, 12:35:34 PM »
Tigerbait you moondetail images look update to me
Read reply #46 in this thread to sort the - under then main moon image

Scudwatcher your moondetail imaged are showing 2021 dates so that needs looking into also you need to read reply #46 in this thread

I thought Ken had tweaked the Wxastronomy and the sunspot image works as on mine https://www.hc-iom.co.uk/WD-AJAX1/wxastronomy.php.  But that may be the include-wxastronomy
« Last Edit: February 10, 2023, 12:38:05 PM by hcorrin »

Offline K6GKM

  • CamWX.com
  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • CamWX
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #83 on: February 10, 2023, 12:55:21 PM »
Might be an image cache issue?

Ok my moondetail1.gif will not update.  I have deleted the file from the root.  That part of the page goes away. Then I recreated in WD & uploaded which it does every 5 minutes.  File attached.
Why does my page still show the moondetail.gif date as 1-24-23?
Thank you,
Alan
Grant Miles - Camarillo, CA, USA
Owner/Admin - CamWX.com
SKYWARN Spotter
Davis Vantage Vue, WD, GRLevel3

Offline tigerbait

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • Ellerbe Weather
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #84 on: February 10, 2023, 03:49:29 PM »
Cache issue cleared & working great. 
Thanks to everyone for all the help.

Laissez les bon temps rouler

Alan
https://www.sporttiger.com
Davis VP2 Weather Display
Saratoga scripts

Offline 92merc

  • BismarckWeather.net
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1216
  • BismarckWeather.net
    • BismarckWeather.net
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #85 on: February 10, 2023, 06:10:42 PM »
Thanks Ken, and everyone else who upgraded before me.  My upgrade went without a hitch!

https://www.bismarckweather.net/wxastronomy.php
https://www.BismarckWeather.net
Davis VP2, Cumulus, WeatherDisplay, Blitzortung, Saratoga Scripts, NOAA Stream via PI

Offline zeppline

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • Las Vegas Weather Guy
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #86 on: February 11, 2023, 04:46:21 PM »
Trying to setup  sunposa.php, but I don't know how to get or setup jpgraph V4.4.0. Thanks Joe

Offline scudwatcher

  • Billy T. Forecaster Webmaster csraweather.net
  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Amateur Radio KC4SRA csraweather.net
    • CSRA Weather
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #87 on: February 11, 2023, 05:34:43 PM »
Hey Joe,
  GOOGLE Search jpgraph 4.4.1 and download.  Also, may I suggest reading ALL pages of this thread (really helped me).  Follow Ken True's instructions and download sunposa V2.php (located on PAGE 2).  Hope this gets you on the right track!

Offline hcorrin

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • Ballaugh Weather
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #88 on: February 11, 2023, 06:06:51 PM »

Offline zeppline

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • Las Vegas Weather Guy
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #89 on: February 12, 2023, 04:23:35 PM »
I have 30 moon old where can I find the new ones. or can I just rename them?

Offline scudwatcher

  • Billy T. Forecaster Webmaster csraweather.net
  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Amateur Radio KC4SRA csraweather.net
    • CSRA Weather
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #90 on: February 15, 2023, 04:58:27 PM »
zeppline,
Download the attached file, unzip to your ajax-images file, then upload to your webserver.  This should work. [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

Offline scudwatcher

  • Billy T. Forecaster Webmaster csraweather.net
  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Amateur Radio KC4SRA csraweather.net
    • CSRA Weather
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #91 on: February 15, 2023, 05:13:38 PM »
Gentlemen,
  I have revised my include-wxastronomy.php file as instructed in message # 46, on Line # 459:

FROM:  <span style="color:'.$mC[0].'">'.langtransstr($mN[0]).': '.$mS[0].'</span><br />

TO:  <span style="color:'.$mC[0].'">'.langtransstr($mN[0]).': '.$moontransittime.'</span><br />

In WD, created uploaded moondetail1.gif and moondetail2.gif every 5 minutes.  CLEARED CACHE/COOKIES on GOOGLE CHROME....still not uploading per WD upload schedule...SMH.... Thank you all for your help!

Offline zeppline

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • Las Vegas Weather Guy
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #92 on: February 16, 2023, 04:11:43 PM »
How do I unzip Jpgraph_4.4.1.tar.gz or do I have the wrong file?

Offline 92merc

  • BismarckWeather.net
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1216
  • BismarckWeather.net
    • BismarckWeather.net
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #93 on: February 16, 2023, 04:18:38 PM »
I used the 7 Zip program from the Microsoft Store.
https://www.BismarckWeather.net
Davis VP2, Cumulus, WeatherDisplay, Blitzortung, Saratoga Scripts, NOAA Stream via PI

Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8884
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #94 on: February 16, 2023, 04:19:01 PM »
Unless you have WinZip or 7Zip installed, you're better off downloading the Jpgraph_4.4.1.zip distribution on Windows.
Keep in mind that 4.4.1 works up to PHP 8.1, but breaks on PHP 8.2+ (I have some fixes for that)
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline SteveFitz1

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 511
    • Tyler Texas Weather
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #95 on: February 16, 2023, 05:32:34 PM »
Not to hijack the thread, but since the discussion is about updating wxastronomy.php, I wanted to mention an issue that will impact lots of users of include-wxastronomy.php beginning in 2024.

There is a function in include-wxastronomy.php called getMoonInfo. Within this function is a list of ALL unix timestamps for New Moons, Q1 Moons, Full Moons, and Q3 Moons. In older versions of this script, the years covered by this function are 2009 through 2023. Unless you update that script before the end of 2023, your wxastronomy.php script will fail in 2024. But, there is an easy solution that will take you through 2030. If you have the cloud-base.php script v2.1 (and possible some earlier versions) on your system, simply edit that script and copy the entire getMoonInfo function starting with "function getMoonInfo" and ending with with "// ------------- end of USNO moon data -----------------------------". Then replace this same section of code in your include-wxastronomy.php with the new code. If you don't have a newer cloud-base.php script on your system, I've attached the necessary section of code here. Use it to replace your existing getMoonInfo function.

I checked 4 URLs mentioned in this thread alone to see how many of those sites had updated moon times in their include-wxastronomy.php scripts, and none of then had the updated times. That's why I thought it important enough to bring this to everyone's attention.

Steve

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

Offline hcorrin

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
    • Ballaugh Weather
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #96 on: February 16, 2023, 05:48:58 PM »
Hi
Ken updated the include-wxastronomy.php for php 8.2 and it includes moon info till 2030, post #3 in this thread clearly a lot have not updated yet

Offline SteveFitz1

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 511
    • Tyler Texas Weather
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #97 on: February 16, 2023, 06:16:30 PM »
Thanks for that update. Since I'm not moving to PHP 8.2 yet, I haven't looked at Ken's updated version. Good to know.

Steve

Offline zeppline

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 50
    • Las Vegas Weather Guy
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #98 on: February 17, 2023, 02:40:45 PM »
I have unziped Jpgraph_4.4.1.tar.gz with 7zip and now have Jpgraph_4.4.1.tar do I just rename Jpgraph_4.4.1 then upload to my web site. I am way over my head. Trying to learn. Thanks

Offline scudwatcher

  • Billy T. Forecaster Webmaster csraweather.net
  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Amateur Radio KC4SRA csraweather.net
    • CSRA Weather
Re: Is there a wxastronomy update
« Reply #99 on: February 17, 2023, 04:17:21 PM »
zeppline,
  The .tar.gz file is a compressed archive of individual files within its intended hierarchy.  In other laymen's terms, when the .tar.gz file is unzipped, it should maintain the intended file structure (archive).  When you go to : https://jpgraph.net/download/, you will download the jpgraph-4.4.1.tar.gz (in your post, you have Jpgraph_4.4.1.tar.gz which is Incorrect file name).  When you OPEN the jpgraph.4.4.1.tar.gz ZIPFILE, somewhere in your unzip utility (WINZIP or 7zip), it will say "EXTRACT".  You want to extract (unzip) the .tar.gz file to an assigned folder on your computer.  Once this file is unzipped, to a folder you've assigned on your computer, the unzipped folder name should be "jpgraph-4.4.1" with the associated files and file structure and NOT "Jpgraph_4.4.1.tar".  Somewhere down the line, a mistake was made.  Once you have the folder named "jpgraph-4.4.1", then upload the entire folder with contents to your webserver.  I do not have any experience utilizing 7zip.  I have always utilized WINZIP for my system is WINDOWS based (Windows 11)  I hope this helps!

 

anything