Weather Related Organizations > WeatherUnderground

WU is not meeting my expectations... so...

(1/5) > >>

rrwcf:
I've been contributing excellent data to WU for over 10 years.  I've dropped a lot of $$ getting it "right" (gear, phone pole, time spent, perseverance, even a dedicated PC).

In the last three weeks I've written to "them" asking, "Why can't I have the new phone apps for free without paying for a subscription?"
A couple of the new apps are nice but WHY SHOULD I PAY A SUBSCRIPTION?  The PWS network is the backbone of their service, right?

I get no responses from "them."

Even the wunderground.com site keeps logging me off - and I HATE their ads.  (btw, I also hate their fake science diatribes.)

As someone else said on this forum, "It's like a drug..."  But I'm ready to quit WU. 

I've been using Weatherlink, and I like it.  The improvements to it are excellent.

If I left WU, none of "them" would ever even know it.

UNLESS... a bunch of dissatisfied PWS providers organized a coordinated two-week long BOYCOTT.

Also, wasn't there a "Topic" thread here on WXForum entitled something like "Complaints about WU" and wasn't there a WU rep on the thread trying to answer complaints?

Finally, I don't complain about a lot of things but WU left me, I didn't leave "them" - but I could easily see that as a possibility.

DaleReid:
I cannot share bad experiences since I have never contributed to WU nor look at their stuff except when a kind soul gives me their address and I go look.  Some I've saved (up in Alaska and a few other places) but in general have no experience with being a 'sharer' of my data.

As you point out, they get a lot of data from the scattered users.