Author Topic: Barometer placement inside a nema4 enclosure  (Read 314 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sho23

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • KN6DZN
    • LinkedIn
Barometer placement inside a nema4 enclosure
« on: April 21, 2021, 12:43:45 PM »
Is the placement inside of a (fairly) waterproof box hampers the sensor reading? Should I be running an air hose to the outside somewhere?

We've installed a few out there, and they do react, but perhaps that's simply because some of our penetration into said enclosure isn't perfect.

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

Offline WA7FWF

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • Blitzortung 1196
Re: Barometer placement inside a nema4 enclosure
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2021, 07:17:55 PM »
   It needs to breath to properly work, your enclosure creates a smoothing effect and a delay depending on how fast the air can leak in or out. If your sensor  has a port on it for a hose the proper thing to do would be to put tubing on it  going outside and then attached to a gill plate. You could just stick the hose out but if the wind is blowing the hose can act as a venturi and cause bad readings.

Kevin

Offline CW2274

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5908
    • Conditions @ CW2274 West Tucson-Painted Hills Ranch
Re: Barometer placement inside a nema4 enclosure
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2021, 07:30:09 PM »
but if the wind is blowing the hose can act as a venturi and cause bad readings.
Excellent point as it would create a probable vacuum at times, at least enough to yo-yo the data.

Offline doubleohwhatever

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 199
Re: Barometer placement inside a nema4 enclosure
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2021, 07:59:13 PM »
If we need to put a pressure sensor inside of an enclosure, we toss at least two of these on the enclosure:

https://www.amazon.com/BUD-Industries-IPV-1116-IP32-Vent/dp/B00L3QU294/


Offline zeppline

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • Las Vegas Weather Guy
Re: Barometer placement inside a nema4 enclosure
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2021, 12:22:14 PM »
Drill a 1/16th hole in the bottom of the enclosure:

Rainwise MKlll w/ cc3000 logger Win10

Offline sho23

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • KN6DZN
    • LinkedIn
Re: Barometer placement inside a nema4 enclosure
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2021, 07:44:34 PM »
Gotcha, thank you all for confirming our meh install.

This next station is going to be in the snow high country and will be under snow--- so we'll be paying a lot of attention on all the conduit waterproof-ness. So I'm planning to do it better this time around.

Current revised plan: have the barometer in a small enclosure up on the tower behind a solar panel. The small enclosure (https://www.campbellsci.com/enc100) have a small vent and that might be enough. I do like the ip32 vent linked but am worried about how weatherproof it is. We'll see!