Author Topic: Barometric Pressure.  (Read 320 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ocala

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4074
Barometric Pressure.
« on: October 03, 2021, 06:15:55 PM »
My phone comes equipped with a barometer sensor. Had it about 3 months now. It has always mirrored my VP2
This past week I visited my brother in Vermont. While there I went to the highest point in Vermont. Killington Peak. Just over 4000 ft. I pulled out the phone to see the pressure and I was quite surprised to see it at 25.884. Does it have to calibrated to a particular elevation to get the correct reading. I didn't do any calibration to it and like I said it matched my Florida VP2 at 75ft.
I should mention this is based on the altimeter setting not sea level pressure.
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
« Last Edit: October 03, 2021, 06:26:03 PM by ocala »
The blues had a baby and they named it Rock & Roll

Offline CW2274

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5979
    • Conditions @ CW2274 West Tucson-Painted Hills Ranch
Re: Barometric Pressure.
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2021, 06:38:55 PM »
Should look before I type. It's an altimeter. Why only to 30" up top?

Offline ocala

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4074
Re: Barometric Pressure.
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2021, 06:49:58 PM »
It's a sliding scale. Just checked it now at it tops out at 31.
The blues had a baby and they named it Rock & Roll

Offline Jim_S

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
Re: Barometric Pressure.
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2021, 06:51:03 PM »
Check your settings. It looks to me like it's showing station pressure not relative pressure.

Offline CW2274

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5979
    • Conditions @ CW2274 West Tucson-Painted Hills Ranch
Re: Barometric Pressure.
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2021, 06:57:10 PM »
It's a sliding scale. Just checked it now at it tops out at 31.
Ahh, okay, 31 I'll buy.

Offline CW2274

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5979
    • Conditions @ CW2274 West Tucson-Painted Hills Ranch
Re: Barometric Pressure.
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2021, 07:01:16 PM »
Check your settings. It looks to me like it's showing station pressure not relative pressure.
I'm assuming it's strickly an altimeter so station pressure/absolute is all it does. It's not meant as a barometer.

Offline Jim_S

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
Re: Barometric Pressure.
« Reply #6 on: October 03, 2021, 07:12:44 PM »
I have the iPhone version but I assume they're similar.
Click the 3 bars in the upper left corner and select "Settings" (on mine it's the first choice)
Under "Barometer Settings" select Mean Sea Level Pressure and also Reference altitude from GPS.

Edited to add a link to their user's guide which can probably answer your questions better than I can.
« Last Edit: October 03, 2021, 07:33:20 PM by Jim_S »

Offline ocala

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4074
Re: Barometric Pressure.
« Reply #7 on: October 04, 2021, 03:39:17 PM »
Thank you Jim. Found the settings. All is well now.
The blues had a baby and they named it Rock & Roll

Offline Jim_S

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
Re: Barometric Pressure.
« Reply #8 on: October 04, 2021, 03:49:37 PM »
Thank you Jim. Found the settings. All is well now.
Thank you for showing me this app. It has some great features. I've enjoyed playing with it.