Author Topic: Power problem  (Read 7411 times)

Offline Axelvold

• Forecaster
    • Axelvold's weather and photo
Power problem
« on: July 24, 2009, 12:37:52 PM »
Is there a thermostat in the power supply in a pc?
My pc shut down and then it wont start for half houer or more.
Lars Magnusson
Axelvold / Sweden
55° 57' 41" N / 13° 6' 1" E
WX Station: Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus

Offline Lautermilch

Re: Power problem
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2009, 12:43:00 PM »

I am a long time computer tech.

Power supplies are known to die here in Florida within 2-3 years as the power here is not that good. By that I mean the voltage flucuates and that kills motors and power supplies.

If it is dead, the good news it most of the time there is no other damage. Just remove it carefully and take note of the colors of the wires and take it to a computer store and they can match it. there is some differences with 20 and 24 connectors to the motherboard and 4 or 5 connectors for the CPU power so it pays to match it in person.

Andrew, Charlie, Katrina, Wilma

Offline W3DRM

• Forecaster
    • Emmett Weather
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2009, 12:48:46 PM »
Get yourself an inexpensive UPS system that will isolate your PC from the line voltage variations and spikes. If it is heat caused though, look into why the PC is running hot. Could be a bad fan or simply a dirty PC too. Open it up and CAREFULLY vacuum out all of the dust that has collected. You may be surprised at how much dust gets inside your PC.

Make sure you turn-off it off AND unplug it BEFORE you do any vacuuming or open up the case.
Don - W3DRM - Emmett, Idaho --- Blitzortung ID: 808 --- FlightRadar24 ID: F-KBOI7
Davis Wireless VP2, WD 10.37s150,
StartWatch, VirtualVP, VPLive, Win10 Pro
--- Logitech HD Pro C920 webcam (off-line)
--- RIPE Atlas Probe - 32849

Offline wxtech

• Weather Equipment Technician
  • Forecaster
  • USAF Weather Equipment Maintenance Tech (retired)
    • Lexington, Ga. Weather