Author Topic: Help to decide what Weather Station to buy - New to this hobby!  (Read 2262 times)

Offline TEMPO

Help to decide what Weather Station to buy - New to this hobby!
« on: February 05, 2022, 05:23:01 AM »
Hi everyone!
I am new to this hobby. I got interested some weeks ago and started reading about the various stations available on the market. Not easy to decide. Unfortunately, there are no dealers in my country. I can only purchase such station online. I am from Malta, so I need one with a European Radio Frequency, preferably an Ultrasonic one. Not 'All In One' station, so that I can have only the sensors I am interested in. I would like the Air Quality and Lightning sensors in particular.

I also need to decide on its position. I don't know if it is a good idea to install the station on a pole of about 2 meters high that I have on the flat roof of  a 2 storey house. Houses in Malta are built with flat roofs and much more convenient to install poles on the roof. So the station will be about 10 meters or more above the street level and about 2 meters above the building.

I was thinking of the Froggit HP1000SE PRO Ultrasonic because of the radio frequency for Malta. But not sure about reception through brick walls and concrete ceilings since the console will be inside the building, 2 floors down. Any idea if such reception can be possible with the station up on a roof?

Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks.

TEMPO

« Last Edit: February 05, 2022, 05:43:18 AM by TEMPO »

Offline broadstairs

• Forecaster
Re: Help to decide what Weather Station to buy - New to this hobby!
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2022, 05:44:54 AM »