Author Topic: Ambient Weather WS-1401-IP OBSERVER to WEEWX  (Read 1637 times)

Offline santeewxman

Ambient Weather WS-1401-IP OBSERVER to WEEWX
« on: August 13, 2019, 11:30:42 AM »
Greetings,
I have the WS-1401 and would like to log data from it.  I am new to Ubuntu/Linux, but I was able to install WeeWx on Ubuntu. Went through setup process, but am not seeing any data.
Initially I picked the Fine Offset driver which upon further review might not be the right one. Switched to Simulator, but still not able to access the html page.
I downloaded an Observer IP drive for WeeWx off of GITHUB but I do not see an option to install the driver.
Any assistance appreciated.

Jeff

Offline bthoven

• Europa Cafe' Private Observatory
Ambient Weather WS-1401-IP OBSERVER to WEEWX
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2019, 12:09:10 PM »
I have an oem version of it with 433Mhz. I replaced its firmware with Aercus weathersleuth 2.1.9 firmware which allows me to redirect the weather packets to my ubuntu server, instead of going to Wunderground (but you will lose the Ambient Weather Dashboard). Then install Interceptor driver https://github.com/matthewwall/weewx-observerip to receive the packets and feed them to Weewx.

Another way which needs more effort
https://obrienlabs.net/redirecting-weather-station-data-from-observerip/#socket
« Last Edit: August 13, 2019, 12:21:16 PM by bthoven »

Offline santeewxman

Re: Ambient Weather WS-1401-IP OBSERVER to WEEWX
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2019, 04:40:32 PM »
Thanks for the info.  Forgot to mention that I have the 1401 feeding into a Weatherbridge.  Was hoping that would make it easier to log data but doesn't seem that way.

Offline jb92563

« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2020, 06:36:15 PM »