Author Topic: APRS HELP PLZ  (Read 5520 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SHANE

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • http://WWW.TRI-COUNTYWEATHER.COM
APRS HELP PLZ
« on: September 22, 2007, 12:44:42 PM »
HELP PLZ I HAVE WEATHER DISPLAY AND I AM SENDING TCPIP AND I AM NOT SEEING IT ON MY TMD700A KENWOOD AND NO 1 IS SEEING IT ON THERE RIGS ITS ON THE INTERNET FINE

Online ocala

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4165
Re: APRS HELP PLZ
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2007, 01:54:07 PM »
Shane what is your APRS number?
The blues had a baby and they named it Rock & Roll

Offline SHANE

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • http://WWW.TRI-COUNTYWEATHER.COM
Re: APRS HELP PLZ
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2007, 03:43:35 PM »
ITS WX5TCW

Online ocala

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4165
Re: APRS HELP PLZ
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2007, 07:28:23 PM »
Your web site is current but your right,  there is no data going to APRS.
I don't use WD but I'm guessing it must be one of the settings for APRS is wrong. I checked the status page for CWOP and there are no current problems
Look in the help file for WD in regards to setting it for APRS. Also check the log file for WD too
Seems like it should be an easy fix since the data is getting to your web site.
The blues had a baby and they named it Rock & Roll

Offline SHANE

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • http://WWW.TRI-COUNTYWEATHER.COM
Re: APRS HELP PLZ
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2007, 07:37:03 PM »
OK I WILL LOOK AND THANK YOU

Offline SLOweather

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3457
    • http://www.sloweather.com
Re: APRS HELP PLZ
« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2007, 08:38:03 PM »
Shane,

Please turn off caps lock. It looks like you are shouting. Thanks!

RE APRS, if you are not sending on RF APRS  locally, but only gating it on to the Internet via WD, you will not see it locally on RF unless someone with a home RF APRS station and and an Internet connection gates it back on to RF for you.

Depending on your station, it can be easy to split the data, run an APRS program on your weather computer, and connect it to a TNC and radio on 144.39 and send the APRS data over RF that way. That's what I do.

73,

Chris KD6DSI

Offline SHANE

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • http://WWW.TRI-COUNTYWEATHER.COM
Re: APRS HELP PLZ
« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2007, 08:50:41 PM »
I WANT TO SET UP A RF BUT NO 1 IN MY HOME AREA WILL HELP ME SET IT UP THE TELL ME I DONT NEAD TO DO IT   LOL THAY WANT TO BE THE ONLY PPL WITH APRS LOL DONT NO WERE TO START NOT A LOT OF CASH LOL  AND SORRY FOR CAPS WILL GITE A NEW KEYBORD SOON