Author Topic: Difference between HP2551CA Display & GW1100 using the same WS69E Outdoor array.  (Read 756 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AJW

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Iíve got a HP2551CA with a WS69E Outdoor 7-in-1 array.
Recently I replaced my Router and had to get the HP2551CA to reconnect via wifi. Dayís of stuffing around reading everything on this forum didnít work, I couldn't get it to connect.
I sent an e-mail to Ecowitt Support outlining everything, but I got no reply.
In the end I decided to stop wasting any more time and I got a Ecowitt GW1100 Gateway was a replacement for uploading my weather data.
This connected without an issue with my new Router.
So now the HP2551CA is connected via RF like before to the WS69E just as an internal display.
And the GW1100 uploads the data so I can see it on my phone and Ecowitts website.
Unfortunately I lost all my weather data for a few years as there didnít seem to be a way to backup and restore the data.

My main issue is the difference between some of the data thatís shown on the HP2551CA Display Vs whatís uploaded from the GW1100 Gateway.
So for today the HP2551CA is saying the Max Outdoor temp was 35.3 C.
But the GW1100 is saying the Max temp Outdoor temp was 33.4 C.
Similar with wind gust HP2551CA  - Max Daily Gust was 7.2 km/h
GW1100 is saying 25.6 km/h.

Seeing as both the Display & Gateway should be getting the same data from the WS69E Outdoor array - what Iím I missing?

« Last Edit: December 20, 2022, 04:06:01 PM by AJW »

Offline Gyvate

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2460
While the temperature difference could come from different posting intervals - to Ecowitt.net 1-5 min - the max daily gust difference is stranger.
Or did you reboot/restart the HP2551 console during the day ? The Max Daily Gust is recorded from the recording start over a day - and if the console restarts in between, it will only take the Max Daily gust after the restart.
Maybe your console tends to reboot by itself ??
Did you upgrade the WiFi firmware (latest version of EasyWeather: 1.6.4 or Pro: 5.1.0) ? And also the device firmware ? (latest version 1.8.7)
As for the temperature - does the console by any chance have a calibration offset for the temperature or have the temperature compensation feature activated (and the GW1100 not or vice versa) ?
WS2350 1.6.5, GW1000(3) 1.7.6, WH2650 WiFi (2) 1.7.6 (test/backup), GW1100 2.2.3, GW2000(3) 2.2.3, HP2551 1.9.0, WN910 1.2.2;
Ecowitt WS90(2), WS80, WH40, WH65, WH31(5), WH31-EP, WN30, WN34L, WN35, WH32, WH32-EP, WH32B, WH57 [Lightning], WH41 [PM2.5] (2), WH51 (4), WH45, WH55
MeteobridgePro(2)[test,prod] 5.5 Oct 27 2022, 14855 - Blake-Larsen Sun Recorder - RPi4/weewx 4.8.0/CumulusMX 3244/Meteobridge RPi4B-2GB(2977)
Barani Meteoshield Pro, MetSpec Rad02 - Ecowitt 5763,34418;WU ISAARB3(WH4000SE), ISAARB22(HP2553), http://meshka.eu

Offline AJW

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
It also rained late in the day and there was quite a difference as well like 3mm (Display) to 15mm (Gateway).
I did also up the posting interval on the HP2551 to 1min so it's the same as the Gateway.
Not seeing any reboots on the display, but I'm also not looking at it all the time either.
The only thing I can think is either the Display or the Gateway don't have a good enough signal to the Outdoor Weather station and there's data missing.
Although the Gateway graphs on the web don't show any flat spots where there hasn't been any data.
And the odd thing is the display is showing Higher Daily Max temps than the Gateway, so if the Display was losing connection I would think it would show lower temps.
Can't see any offsets in either unit, or temperature compensation.

This is what I tried to get the Display to connect to my new Router: -
-Re-entered the SSID at least 3 times
-Re-entered the Password 3 times.
-Rebooted the HP2551 Console multiple times.
-Rebooted the Router multiple times.
-Turned off the 5G Radios in the Asus RT-AX86U Router
-Updated the Firmware to V1.8.6
-I have separate 2.4G & 5G SSID names, Iím entering the correct name for the 2.4G network.
-The Router shows that the SSID is visible to the network.
-Changed the 2.4G channel bandwidth between 40MHz & 20MHz
Basically everything I could find on this site about not reconnecting to a router I tried.
I'm a Electronics tech, so I'm used to playing around with Networking etc.

Offline Gyvate

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2460
some of these ASUS routers have shown some issues with the consoles lately ...
you could try the following: set up a guest WLAN network and try to connect the HP2551 to it.
WS2350 1.6.5, GW1000(3) 1.7.6, WH2650 WiFi (2) 1.7.6 (test/backup), GW1100 2.2.3, GW2000(3) 2.2.3, HP2551 1.9.0, WN910 1.2.2;
Ecowitt WS90(2), WS80, WH40, WH65, WH31(5), WH31-EP, WN30, WN34L, WN35, WH32, WH32-EP, WH32B, WH57 [Lightning], WH41 [PM2.5] (2), WH51 (4), WH45, WH55
MeteobridgePro(2)[test,prod] 5.5 Oct 27 2022, 14855 - Blake-Larsen Sun Recorder - RPi4/weewx 4.8.0/CumulusMX 3244/Meteobridge RPi4B-2GB(2977)
Barani Meteoshield Pro, MetSpec Rad02 - Ecowitt 5763,34418;WU ISAARB3(WH4000SE), ISAARB22(HP2553), http://meshka.eu

Offline kheller2

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
Please make sure your sensor ID's are the same on the GW1110 and the HP2551CA.  Also please make sure you have updated the WiFi firmware via the ws-view app, (you mentioned 1.8.6 which is the console firmware, not the Wi-Fi) and make sure you don't have the checkbox enabled next to the old boat anchor array picture on the GW1100.  And you verified you have the same (if any) data offsets configured on both devices?
Ambient Consoles: WS-2000, WS-1900, WS-1200, WS-2902C, WS-3000-X3, WS-0900-IP(observerIP), WS-1001-WIFI
Ambient Arrays: WH65B
Ambient Sensors: WH31E(3), WH31B(2), WH32B, WH31SM(2), WH31PGW, AQIN, WH31LA(3)
Ambient Spares: WH24B(2), WH25B.
Ecowitt: HP2551BU, GW1000B(dead), GW1100B(2), GW2000B
Ecowitt Sensors: WH51, WN34BL, WN34(2), WH31, WH41, WH40

Offline AJW

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Thanks for the advise from Kheller2 I've made some progress.
It looks like it was an ID issue.
So I now have the Outdoor array info matched on the Display (HP2551CA)  & Gateway (GW1110 Ecowitt Website)
No idea where it was getting the data from if the ID was incorrect?
I did notice the signal was a bit low, I put that down to having our metal roof replaced + metal backed insulation causing RF attenuation.
Maybe someone next door has one and it was picking up theirs?

The only thing I've got to sort out is the Indoor Temp/Humidity.
I have a WH32 Temp/Humidity sensor which seems to match correctly on the HP2551CA Display.
But on the GW1110 Ecowitt Website the values are different - I'm guessing it's using the sensor physically connected to the GW1100 and not the WH32.
When I go to the Gateway Sensor page I can't see any RF sig from the WH32.
Is this something that can be fixed or is it a Sensor hierarchy issue?

Offline Gyvate

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2460
you may need to actively register your WH32 with your GW1100 !
Check your HP2550 for the sensor ID - there it is registered (so I read) as the T/H sensor.
And the physically connected sensor is the indoor (!!) T/H sensor.
WS2350 1.6.5, GW1000(3) 1.7.6, WH2650 WiFi (2) 1.7.6 (test/backup), GW1100 2.2.3, GW2000(3) 2.2.3, HP2551 1.9.0, WN910 1.2.2;
Ecowitt WS90(2), WS80, WH40, WH65, WH31(5), WH31-EP, WN30, WN34L, WN35, WH32, WH32-EP, WH32B, WH57 [Lightning], WH41 [PM2.5] (2), WH51 (4), WH45, WH55
MeteobridgePro(2)[test,prod] 5.5 Oct 27 2022, 14855 - Blake-Larsen Sun Recorder - RPi4/weewx 4.8.0/CumulusMX 3244/Meteobridge RPi4B-2GB(2977)
Barani Meteoshield Pro, MetSpec Rad02 - Ecowitt 5763,34418;WU ISAARB3(WH4000SE), ISAARB22(HP2553), http://meshka.eu

Offline olicat

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1214
  • GWxx00, HPx5x1C, WN1900C, WN1980C & FOSHKplugin
    • FOSHKplugin
Hi!

Quote
The only thing I've got to sort out is the Indoor Temp/Humidity.
I have a WH32 Temp/Humidity sensor which seems to match correctly on the HP2551CA Display.
When it comes to indoor temperature and humidity, these differences can also be explained.
The HP2551C uses a WH32B sensor for these values and the GWxxxx uses the values of the sensors directly attached to the cable. The HP2551C cannot access the data of the GWxxx and the GWxxxx unfortunately cannot see the WH32B. I had suggested this to Ecowitt a long time ago but unfortunately it has not been implemented yet.

However, the difference can be eliminated by calibration.

Regards, Oliver

Offline kheller2

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
I thought you could also desolder the GW1100 sensor cable and then it would use the WH32B.
Ambient Consoles: WS-2000, WS-1900, WS-1200, WS-2902C, WS-3000-X3, WS-0900-IP(observerIP), WS-1001-WIFI
Ambient Arrays: WH65B
Ambient Sensors: WH31E(3), WH31B(2), WH32B, WH31SM(2), WH31PGW, AQIN, WH31LA(3)
Ambient Spares: WH24B(2), WH25B.
Ecowitt: HP2551BU, GW1000B(dead), GW1100B(2), GW2000B
Ecowitt Sensors: WH51, WN34BL, WN34(2), WH31, WH41, WH40

Offline AJW

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Just noticed that the House2 doors up has a weather station in a tree outside their house.
I'd say when I reset my HP2551, trying to sort out my wifi connection issue, it decided to connect to this and not my array on my roof!
That would make sense with the difference in temp, wind, rain etc & the slightly sketchy Signal.
No idea why it thought that was better to connect to than the much closer one.

Offline Gyvate

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2460
that's why it is recommended to do the console sensor pairing when the array is still close to the console, just 1 m or so away.
Then you note down the sensor ID of the array, especially when you have neighbor stations around, to be on the safe side and can tell the console which one to take. You can force the console to take a special sensor ID. But then your GW1100 could have the right one - make sure they both use the same sensor ID for the outdoor array.

If you need to figure out which ID is yours, in the end, you'll have to take the outdoor array far enough way (e.g. drive it 1 km away away from your console) and what remains will be your neighbor array.
« Last Edit: December 08, 2022, 04:48:23 AM by Gyvate »
WS2350 1.6.5, GW1000(3) 1.7.6, WH2650 WiFi (2) 1.7.6 (test/backup), GW1100 2.2.3, GW2000(3) 2.2.3, HP2551 1.9.0, WN910 1.2.2;
Ecowitt WS90(2), WS80, WH40, WH65, WH31(5), WH31-EP, WN30, WN34L, WN35, WH32, WH32-EP, WH32B, WH57 [Lightning], WH41 [PM2.5] (2), WH51 (4), WH45, WH55
MeteobridgePro(2)[test,prod] 5.5 Oct 27 2022, 14855 - Blake-Larsen Sun Recorder - RPi4/weewx 4.8.0/CumulusMX 3244/Meteobridge RPi4B-2GB(2977)
Barani Meteoshield Pro, MetSpec Rad02 - Ecowitt 5763,34418;WU ISAARB3(WH4000SE), ISAARB22(HP2553), http://meshka.eu

Offline Gyvate

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2460
I thought you could also desolder the GW1100 sensor cable and then it would use the WH32B.
you could, but that's not a standard user procedure  8-)
WS2350 1.6.5, GW1000(3) 1.7.6, WH2650 WiFi (2) 1.7.6 (test/backup), GW1100 2.2.3, GW2000(3) 2.2.3, HP2551 1.9.0, WN910 1.2.2;
Ecowitt WS90(2), WS80, WH40, WH65, WH31(5), WH31-EP, WN30, WN34L, WN35, WH32, WH32-EP, WH32B, WH57 [Lightning], WH41 [PM2.5] (2), WH51 (4), WH45, WH55
MeteobridgePro(2)[test,prod] 5.5 Oct 27 2022, 14855 - Blake-Larsen Sun Recorder - RPi4/weewx 4.8.0/CumulusMX 3244/Meteobridge RPi4B-2GB(2977)
Barani Meteoshield Pro, MetSpec Rad02 - Ecowitt 5763,34418;WU ISAARB3(WH4000SE), ISAARB22(HP2553), http://meshka.eu

Offline AJW

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
I've been soldering for 38years, so I'm up for de-soldering the sensor on the Gateway so there's just one indoor sensor feeding data to the Display & the Gateway.
The Sensor is a WH32B (WH32 indoor?) as it does Temp/Hum/Pressure.
Does anyone know if that will work?

Offline olicat

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1214
  • GWxx00, HPx5x1C, WN1900C, WN1980C & FOSHKplugin
    • FOSHKplugin
Hi!

It is supposed to work.
But so far I can't remember any confirmation. Therefore, I would be very happy if you would try it out.
In the worst case, you would have to solder the wires back on.

Oliver

Offline Gyvate

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2460
Ecowitt technicians have stated that when a GW1100, a GW2000 or a HP2560 console doesn't find its internal T/H sensor, it (the firmware) will accept a WH32B. They would mthen behave like a WH2650 or a WH2680 which don't have an inbuilt T/H sensor.
Would be interesting to see this happen live, see a screen shot or copy of the sensor ID page after unsoldering the T/H sensor cable in both cases
WS2350 1.6.5, GW1000(3) 1.7.6, WH2650 WiFi (2) 1.7.6 (test/backup), GW1100 2.2.3, GW2000(3) 2.2.3, HP2551 1.9.0, WN910 1.2.2;
Ecowitt WS90(2), WS80, WH40, WH65, WH31(5), WH31-EP, WN30, WN34L, WN35, WH32, WH32-EP, WH32B, WH57 [Lightning], WH41 [PM2.5] (2), WH51 (4), WH45, WH55
MeteobridgePro(2)[test,prod] 5.5 Oct 27 2022, 14855 - Blake-Larsen Sun Recorder - RPi4/weewx 4.8.0/CumulusMX 3244/Meteobridge RPi4B-2GB(2977)
Barani Meteoshield Pro, MetSpec Rad02 - Ecowitt 5763,34418;WU ISAARB3(WH4000SE), ISAARB22(HP2553), http://meshka.eu

Offline AJW

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Finally got around to removing the T/H sensor on the GW1100.
Removed the 4 screws at the back, one holding the PCB.
Flipped over the PCB, de-soldered the 4 wires from the sensor - multi-stranded enamelled wire like a headphone lead.
Put it back together and powered it up.
Initially I couldn't see any signal from the WH32B, left it for about 2-5min then it came up and I was getting data on the Ecowitt Website.

So now I have one indoor Temp/Hum/Pressure sensor that will connect to my GW1100 & HP2551CA.
As a bonus I don't have a senor + wire hanging out of the GW1100 , so it looks a lot neater plugged into a wall mounted plug-pack.

Thanks for peoples help on this.

Offline Gyvate

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2460
Finally got around to removing the T/H sensor on the GW1100.
Removed the 4 screws at the back, one holding the PCB.
Flipped over the PCB, de-soldered the 4 wires from the sensor - multi-stranded enamelled wire like a headphone lead.
Put it back together and powered it up.
Initially I couldn't see any signal from the WH32B, left it for about 2-5min then it came up and I was getting data on the Ecowitt Website.

So now I have one indoor Temp/Hum/Pressure sensor that will connect to my GW1100 & HP2551CA.
As a bonus I don't have a senor + wire hanging out of the GW1100 , so it looks a lot neater plugged into a wall mounted plug-pack.

Thanks for peoples help on this.
Would be interesting to see what your Sensors ID page (WebUI or WS View Plus, maybe both  ;)) for the GW1100 now looks like ...
Could you post a screenshot ?
WS2350 1.6.5, GW1000(3) 1.7.6, WH2650 WiFi (2) 1.7.6 (test/backup), GW1100 2.2.3, GW2000(3) 2.2.3, HP2551 1.9.0, WN910 1.2.2;
Ecowitt WS90(2), WS80, WH40, WH65, WH31(5), WH31-EP, WN30, WN34L, WN35, WH32, WH32-EP, WH32B, WH57 [Lightning], WH41 [PM2.5] (2), WH51 (4), WH45, WH55
MeteobridgePro(2)[test,prod] 5.5 Oct 27 2022, 14855 - Blake-Larsen Sun Recorder - RPi4/weewx 4.8.0/CumulusMX 3244/Meteobridge RPi4B-2GB(2977)
Barani Meteoshield Pro, MetSpec Rad02 - Ecowitt 5763,34418;WU ISAARB3(WH4000SE), ISAARB22(HP2553), http://meshka.eu

Offline Gyvate

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2460
your links produce a 404 error (not found)  :sad:
maybe better to attach the pictures to the post
WS2350 1.6.5, GW1000(3) 1.7.6, WH2650 WiFi (2) 1.7.6 (test/backup), GW1100 2.2.3, GW2000(3) 2.2.3, HP2551 1.9.0, WN910 1.2.2;
Ecowitt WS90(2), WS80, WH40, WH65, WH31(5), WH31-EP, WN30, WN34L, WN35, WH32, WH32-EP, WH32B, WH57 [Lightning], WH41 [PM2.5] (2), WH51 (4), WH45, WH55
MeteobridgePro(2)[test,prod] 5.5 Oct 27 2022, 14855 - Blake-Larsen Sun Recorder - RPi4/weewx 4.8.0/CumulusMX 3244/Meteobridge RPi4B-2GB(2977)
Barani Meteoshield Pro, MetSpec Rad02 - Ecowitt 5763,34418;WU ISAARB3(WH4000SE), ISAARB22(HP2553), http://meshka.eu

Offline AJW

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Does this work.
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

Offline AJW

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Here's the Gateway wires that I desoldered:-
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

Offline Gyvate

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2460
thanks  [tup]
that's much better - the WH32B/WH32 indoor 3-in-1 is shown on the Sensors ID page (under the WH40) with a "P" in the buttom right corner (that's the T/H/P sensor). Under it the WH32/WH32 outdoor symbol.
So the interface has switched from GW1100 to WH2685 mode - as predicted by Ecowitt.  =D>

Would be interesting to see if the GW1100 shows in its Web Interface still as GW1100 or as WH2685 .....
« Last Edit: December 20, 2022, 04:27:45 PM by Gyvate »
WS2350 1.6.5, GW1000(3) 1.7.6, WH2650 WiFi (2) 1.7.6 (test/backup), GW1100 2.2.3, GW2000(3) 2.2.3, HP2551 1.9.0, WN910 1.2.2;
Ecowitt WS90(2), WS80, WH40, WH65, WH31(5), WH31-EP, WN30, WN34L, WN35, WH32, WH32-EP, WH32B, WH57 [Lightning], WH41 [PM2.5] (2), WH51 (4), WH45, WH55
MeteobridgePro(2)[test,prod] 5.5 Oct 27 2022, 14855 - Blake-Larsen Sun Recorder - RPi4/weewx 4.8.0/CumulusMX 3244/Meteobridge RPi4B-2GB(2977)
Barani Meteoshield Pro, MetSpec Rad02 - Ecowitt 5763,34418;WU ISAARB3(WH4000SE), ISAARB22(HP2553), http://meshka.eu

Offline AJW

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
The Ecowitt Web interface is still showing GW1100C.

Maybe they should put the T/H/P Sensor on a connector so it can be unplugged by the user.
Although it would add a small cost to implement this.
If someone didn't have a soldering Iron you could cut the wires off the circuit board.
But because of the stranded insulated wire it's harder to resolder if you cut the wires.

Offline AJW

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Also just noticed this, might have been there before, with the battery widget showing the T&RH&P sensor battery.
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

Offline kheller2

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 375
Those without soldering skills could just cut the sensor off itself at the sensor end and make sure the wires aren't shorted. A razor blade, cutting board and electrical tape... horribly ugly, but quick!  I prefer the pluggable connector approach, well, really I wish it was just a toggle box in the software.
Ambient Consoles: WS-2000, WS-1900, WS-1200, WS-2902C, WS-3000-X3, WS-0900-IP(observerIP), WS-1001-WIFI
Ambient Arrays: WH65B
Ambient Sensors: WH31E(3), WH31B(2), WH32B, WH31SM(2), WH31PGW, AQIN, WH31LA(3)
Ambient Spares: WH24B(2), WH25B.
Ecowitt: HP2551BU, GW1000B(dead), GW1100B(2), GW2000B
Ecowitt Sensors: WH51, WN34BL, WN34(2), WH31, WH41, WH40

Offline Gyvate

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2460
The Ecowitt Web interface is still showing GW1100C.

Maybe they should put the T/H/P Sensor on a connector so it can be unplugged by the user.
Although it would add a small cost to implement this.
If someone didn't have a soldering Iron you could cut the wires off the circuit board.
But because of the stranded insulated wire it's harder to resolder if you cut the wires.
the pressure sensor of the GW1x00 is soldered on the mainboard - see picture - the little square piece with the hole in it.
So only the T/H part could be pluggable - but that would be enough I guess.
WS2350 1.6.5, GW1000(3) 1.7.6, WH2650 WiFi (2) 1.7.6 (test/backup), GW1100 2.2.3, GW2000(3) 2.2.3, HP2551 1.9.0, WN910 1.2.2;
Ecowitt WS90(2), WS80, WH40, WH65, WH31(5), WH31-EP, WN30, WN34L, WN35, WH32, WH32-EP, WH32B, WH57 [Lightning], WH41 [PM2.5] (2), WH51 (4), WH45, WH55
MeteobridgePro(2)[test,prod] 5.5 Oct 27 2022, 14855 - Blake-Larsen Sun Recorder - RPi4/weewx 4.8.0/CumulusMX 3244/Meteobridge RPi4B-2GB(2977)
Barani Meteoshield Pro, MetSpec Rad02 - Ecowitt 5763,34418;WU ISAARB3(WH4000SE), ISAARB22(HP2553), http://meshka.eu

 

anything