Author Topic: Has anyone had their GW1000 mac address change?  (Read 268 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Daali

  • weather n00b
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 203
    • The weather in Jefferson, GA
Has anyone had their GW1000 mac address change?
« on: January 22, 2022, 11:15:33 AM »
Long story short:  Yesterday, my ecowitt gw1000 custom uploads were working fine, but my meteobridge sites(WU/PWS/WINDY/etc) had stopped.  ecowitt and meteobridge are reserved ips via mac, but the ecowitt's IP was not correct in WS View.  Wondering why in the hell the reservation did not take, I see mac has slightly changed; the last 4 bytes were in the original.  Power cycled the GW1000 and the mac came back correct.

What's your guess, Router or GW1000 flaked out?

Offline Gyvate

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1761
Re: Has anyone had their GW1000 mac address change?
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2022, 11:38:06 AM »
my best guess is the router ...
if the IP address changes at the GW1000 end, it has received a different one.
IP addresses with the GW1000 are not static, the GW1000 takes what is offered by the router, usually  the DHCP server on the router, hence the router must have provided (for whatsoever reason) a different IP address. The MAC address of the GW1000 is almost impossible to change, (it might be faked though), especially not temporarily.

But you were not clear in your statements - what changed ? The IP or the MAC ? What was wrong in WS View ? IP or MAC ?
If the IP, how would the MAC "come back" after a power cyle ?
And where did the MAC change ? In WS View or in your router ?
WS2350 1.6.4, GW1000(3) 1.7.4, WH2650 WiFi (2) 1.7.4 (test/backup), GW1100 2.1.7, GW2000(3) 2.1.7, HP2551 1.6.4/1.8.1;
Ecowitt WS90(2), WS80, WH40, WH65, WH31(5), WH31-EP, WN30, WH32, WH32-EP, WH32B, WH57 [Lightning] (1), WH41 [PM2.5] (2), WH51 (5), WH45, WH55 (2)
MeteobridgePro(2)[test,prod 5.4 Aug 2 2022, 14798 - Blake-Larsen Sun Recorder - RPi4/weewx 4.8.0/CumulusMX 3196/MB RPi4(2826)
Barani Meteoshield Pro, MetSpec Rad02 - Ecowitt 5763,34418;WU ISAARB3(WH4000SE), ISAARB22(HP2553), http://meshka.eu

Offline Daali

  • weather n00b
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 203
    • The weather in Jefferson, GA
Re: Has anyone had their GW1000 mac address change?
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2022, 12:05:11 PM »
Quote
But you were not clear in your statements - what changed ? The IP or the MAC ? What was wrong in WS View ? IP or MAC ?
If the IP, how would the MAC "come back" after a power cyle ?
And where did the MAC change ? In WS View or in your router ?

Sorry about that.  In the WS View app I noticed the IP had changed, which led me to the router.  In the router is where I saw the reservation MAC(not online in router) and the current "wrong IP" GW1000 with a slightly different MAC(with no reservation).   I power cycled the GW1000 before I went back and looked at WS View, so I do not know if it truly had changed on the GW device.

The GW1000 was really unaffected, it was working fine; at some point, there had to be a blip when the IP changed.
The meteobridge was lost of course, since it had lost its station source.

I am leaning heavy on the router flaking out for whatever reason.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2022, 12:06:49 PM by Daali »

Offline Rover1822

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1194
    • Mini Wind and Solar Data project
Re: Has anyone had their GW1000 mac address change?
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2022, 12:21:23 PM »
The router shouldn't change the MAC, that is device supplied from the attached device. There are devices and operating systems that will/can change the MAC of their NIC. Doze can do it, you have the option to random your MAC in later versions.

I find it hard to believe that the GW1000 would change its MAC. I mean maybe it can , I don't see why that would be needed in any context, and unusual in a IoT device.

Interesting.

Ambient:
  WS-2000
  PM 2.5(2)
  WH31B(2)
  WH40E
  WH31P
EcoWitt:
  GW1100
  GW1000(4)
  WH31(2)
  WH57
  WH51(12),
  WH40
  WH5360B
  WN34S
  WittBoy Ws90 + GW2000
Personal Sites: Weather Cam

Offline Daali

  • weather n00b
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 203
    • The weather in Jefferson, GA
Re: Has anyone had their GW1000 mac address change?
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2022, 12:29:02 PM »
The only thing I can fathom at this point, the router memory got partially corrupted.  When the GW1000 lease time was up, it checked and did not match the reservation, so it pumped a new IP.  Weird, will have to watch for any other weirdness. 

Offline davidefa

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 359
Re: Has anyone had their GW1000 mac address change?
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2022, 12:47:15 PM »
As you said wsview ( or arp ) would have shown the reply from the gw1000

Offline Daali

  • weather n00b
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 203
    • The weather in Jefferson, GA
Re: Has anyone had their GW1000 mac address change?
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2022, 06:10:21 PM »
I've convinced myself this router's memory got corrupted.  I found the ghost mac in my clipboard, look at how close they were.
only the xx's were different.  I thought 4 but really it was half of it.
MAC address: xx:xx:xx:E6:1E:ED


Offline davidefa

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 359
Re: Has anyone had their GW1000 mac address change?
« Reply #7 on: January 22, 2022, 07:29:04 PM »
The first 3 bytes identify the hardware manufacturer ( espressif ) and should be ec:fa:bc for esp8266 ( if I'm not wrong ), at least for the first 16M esp8266
« Last Edit: January 22, 2022, 07:32:07 PM by davidefa »