Author Topic: Ecowitt sensors plugin for Homebridge released  (Read 1954 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SpatialDude

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Ecowitt sensors plugin for Homebridge released
« on: April 13, 2021, 03:12:39 AM »
Hi

For Ecowitt users also interested in home automation integration, I've just released the first version of a plugin for Homebridge that provides support for Ecowitt sensors.

For those that may not already be aware, Homebridge is an open source technology that allows integration with devices that do not natively support Apple's HomeKit. You can learn more about Homebridge here https://homebridge.io/.

The Ecowitt plugin for Homebridge operates as a local service that listens to data reports from a GW1000 WiFi Gateway or a HP2551 Weather Display Console and presents the sensor data as Homekit compatible accessories.

As the plugin operates locally on the Homebridge host it means you do not need to use one of the cloud hosted weather services for the integration. The plugin also supports a wider range of sensors than most online weather services including soil moisture sensors and leak detectors as well as well as the outdoor weather sensors and other indoor sensors.

The plugin uses the GW1000 or HP2551 custom weather service configuration. This means you can still upload your data to other online weather services (i.e. WU etc.) in parallel.

So far I've been testing with the range of sensors I have available for my two stations, which include the GW1000, WH24, WH31, WH32, WH41, WH51, WH55, WH57, WH65 and a HP2551C console. I think this provides good coverage but would love to hear back if you try the plugin with sensors other than those listed.

If you're interested in trying the plugin out take a look at the README - https://github.com/spatialdude/homebridge-ecowitt#readme

It's the first public release and the plugin is still in development so feedback and enhancement ideas are welcome [tup].


Offline poultrygeist

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Ecowitt sensors plugin for Homebridge released
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2022, 02:14:53 PM »
Good day,

I have the GW1000 with some soil sensors.  I'm not able to configure this device with my homebridge!  What IP address do I need to put in the plugin?  The ecowitt receiver or the homebridge pi?  Thanks in advance for the help!

Poultrygeist

Offline jolo

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Ecowitt sensors plugin for Homebridge released
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2023, 09:44:30 AM »
Hello

I'm glad someone developed this homebridge plugin for the Ecowitt ecosystem, I installed it and followed all the configuration process, the plugin is loading and in the log I can see many information coming from the system, I always choose the option to create a separate child bridge with all my plugins but sadly, even though homebridge receive informations from the gateway (I see it in the logs) It doesn't create any device in my home app so I can't use it...
I tried to uninstall and install again, checked and rechecked the configuration but I can't see where it's not working, I have a rain gauge associated to the system (Rain WH40) so it could be it but the basic informations like temp or humidity from the GW also doesn't appear as well, I'm using the gateway GW1100 version GW1100C_V2.2.3 which isn't listed in the supported devices so it may be it... as there's already a subject on GitHub about this one...
I hope it can be solved easily,
Thanks for the good work !

Offline Gyvate

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2455
Re: Ecowitt sensors plugin for Homebridge released
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2023, 01:58:40 PM »
Good day,

I have the GW1000 with some soil sensors.  I'm not able to configure this device with my homebridge!  What IP address do I need to put in the plugin?  The ecowitt receiver or the homebridge pi?  Thanks in advance for the help!

Poultrygeist
1. all modern Ecowitt (clone) consoles which have the Customize server functionality will work (with the sensors they support)
2. I guess you have to put in the IP address of the sender, i.e. your console (GW1x00, GW2000 etc.).
homebridge will need to know to what traffic to listen to (IP address sender) and at what port of the server
and where to pick up the data (path)
the GitHub READ.ME suggests as path /data/report and as port 8080
(your Ecowitt "receiver" (of the sensors) = console is also your Ecowitt sender (to homebridge).  ;)
3. do not use the outdated WS View app for configuration - use the WS View Plus app instead
WS2350 1.6.5, GW1000(3) 1.7.6, WH2650 WiFi (2) 1.7.6 (test/backup), GW1100 2.2.3, GW2000(3) 2.2.3, HP2551 1.9.0, WN910 1.2.2;
Ecowitt WS90(2), WS80, WH40, WH65, WH31(5), WH31-EP, WN30, WN34L, WN35, WH32, WH32-EP, WH32B, WH57 [Lightning], WH41 [PM2.5] (2), WH51 (4), WH45, WH55
MeteobridgePro(2)[test,prod] 5.5 Oct 27 2022, 14855 - Blake-Larsen Sun Recorder - RPi4/weewx 4.8.0/CumulusMX 3244/Meteobridge RPi4B-2GB(2977)
Barani Meteoshield Pro, MetSpec Rad02 - Ecowitt 5763,34418;WU ISAARB3(WH4000SE), ISAARB22(HP2553), http://meshka.eu

Offline Gyvate

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2455
Re: Ecowitt sensors plugin for Homebridge released
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2023, 02:10:43 PM »
I have a rain gauge associated to the system (Rain WH40) so it could be it but the basic informations like temp or humidity from the GW also doesn't appear as well, I'm using the gateway GW1100 version GW1100C_V2.2.3 which isn't listed in the supported devices so it may be it... as there's already a subject on GitHub about this one...
I hope it can be solved easily,
Thanks for the good work !
Homebridge should be oblivious of your console type - it should not be limited to a GW1000 or a HP2551 console (even though the console name is contained in their postings) - if it is so, then the homebridge plugin is badly programmed.
Possibly the developper was/is not aware of the range of different Ecowitt consoles and just took the (old) GW1000 and the HP2550 as an example.

Homebridge should be able to process the data string in Ecowitt protocol format, whichever device is posting it.
Your external sensor setup is irrelevant - all sensors processed by the console will be contained in the data string that is posted to homebridge (to the server on which homebridge runs)
When you can see the data received in your logs, then it's clearly a homebridge configuration (or/and programming) issue

I guess the Homebridge plugin works in principle similar to HomeAssistant - that one I have tested and it works with all modern Ecowitt consoles which support the customize server functionality.
WS2350 1.6.5, GW1000(3) 1.7.6, WH2650 WiFi (2) 1.7.6 (test/backup), GW1100 2.2.3, GW2000(3) 2.2.3, HP2551 1.9.0, WN910 1.2.2;
Ecowitt WS90(2), WS80, WH40, WH65, WH31(5), WH31-EP, WN30, WN34L, WN35, WH32, WH32-EP, WH32B, WH57 [Lightning], WH41 [PM2.5] (2), WH51 (4), WH45, WH55
MeteobridgePro(2)[test,prod] 5.5 Oct 27 2022, 14855 - Blake-Larsen Sun Recorder - RPi4/weewx 4.8.0/CumulusMX 3244/Meteobridge RPi4B-2GB(2977)
Barani Meteoshield Pro, MetSpec Rad02 - Ecowitt 5763,34418;WU ISAARB3(WH4000SE), ISAARB22(HP2553), http://meshka.eu

Offline jolo

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Ecowitt sensors plugin for Homebridge released
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2023, 01:27:44 AM »
Hello and thank you very much for your answer, I clearly understood by myself that the data were sent to the Homebridge system but it was not treated correctly and since the developer of the plug-in asked if it was working with other references, I was answering his question.
Specifically in my case, Itís actually not working and I am well aware that the issue is coming from the hb plug-inÖ
I am inpatient to migrate all my connected house to HomeAssistant (but I need time for that ) meanwhile, Iíd like to have it working for the most of it with what I have, which is Homebridge 😊

Offline Gyvate

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2455
Re: Ecowitt sensors plugin for Homebridge released
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2023, 04:25:16 AM »
I am inpatient to migrate all my connected house to HomeAssistant (but I need time for that ) meanwhile, Iíd like to have it working for the most of it with what I have, which is Homebridge 😊
regarding HA:
I have installed it on my NAS in an ubuntu container - once the container is properly set up (i.e. HomeAssistant installed - 10 minutes  ;)), it takes about 1/2 hour to connect and to configure the Ecowitt plugin. The configuration at the Ecowitt end (customized server) is in principle the same: choose Ecowitt protocol and make the four entries: IP address of the receiving server, path, port and transmission interval. That's the same procedure for any use of the custom server functionality.

Of course, if you have other devices to connect, that might take more time depending on what their connection etc. requires.
WS2350 1.6.5, GW1000(3) 1.7.6, WH2650 WiFi (2) 1.7.6 (test/backup), GW1100 2.2.3, GW2000(3) 2.2.3, HP2551 1.9.0, WN910 1.2.2;
Ecowitt WS90(2), WS80, WH40, WH65, WH31(5), WH31-EP, WN30, WN34L, WN35, WH32, WH32-EP, WH32B, WH57 [Lightning], WH41 [PM2.5] (2), WH51 (4), WH45, WH55
MeteobridgePro(2)[test,prod] 5.5 Oct 27 2022, 14855 - Blake-Larsen Sun Recorder - RPi4/weewx 4.8.0/CumulusMX 3244/Meteobridge RPi4B-2GB(2977)
Barani Meteoshield Pro, MetSpec Rad02 - Ecowitt 5763,34418;WU ISAARB3(WH4000SE), ISAARB22(HP2553), http://meshka.eu

Offline jolo

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Ecowitt sensors plugin for Homebridge released
« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2023, 06:45:48 AM »
Thank you for sharing your experience, I am IT engineer, so installing home assistant is a piece of cake for me 😉 and configure Ecowitt is not a problem as well, but my house has more than 100 connected devices including exotic ones and many different brands and protocols, so that my friend is what would take me a lot of time and the reason I havenít done it yet because I know that the day I put my hands on home assistant itís gonna take days (not to say weeks) before everything is really set up the way I want it to be 😂
Specially, knowing that I am a extremely exigent you could even call me maniac 😂
« Last Edit: March 13, 2023, 06:48:10 AM by jolo »