Author Topic: Can't add device to wunderground.com  (Read 1815 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline synapse

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Can't add device to wunderground.com
« on: August 08, 2021, 07:05:28 PM »
Does anyone know if wunderground works for adding a device?  I tried to add my 5-in-1 Acurite ATLAS and it says
Code: [Select]
We're sorry, but an error occurred. when adding the station.  I tried with two different operating systems, several browsers and they all get the same error.

If you inspect the request in a developer console, you see the following errors:

Code: [Select]
main-es2015.665064db9cb1acfbb10b.js:1 Service worker registration failed with: TypeError: Failed to register a ServiceWorker for scope ('https://www.wunderground.com/member/devices/') with script ('https://www.wunderground.com/member/devices/ngsw-worker.js'): A bad HTTP response code (404) was received when fetching the script.
(anonymous) @ main-es2015.665064db9cb1acfbb10b.js:1
manifest.webmanifest:1 Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 ()
Access to fetch at 'https://station-management.wunderground.com/createStation' from origin 'https://www.wunderground.com' has been blocked by CORS policy: Response to preflight request doesn't pass access control check: No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource. If an opaque response serves your needs, set the request's mode to 'no-cors' to fetch the resource with CORS disabled.
XMLHttpRequest.js:266 POST https://station-management.wunderground.com/createStation 504 (Gateway Timeout)

Reading a few other posts, it seems they may have taken away access to add a station?  Is there another way to get the station to work with wunderground? Are there other free internet weather sites I can use to serve up data?

Thanks!

Offline MNicastro

  • WeatherMike
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • WeatherMike
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2021, 07:22:41 PM »
Weather Underground has been very unstable at best! All started when IBM took over.  Both of my webcams have been OFFLINE for over a month, plus I noticed this morning that my devices list now displays "No devices to show" I have 2 webcams and 2 PWS and I can still see my two weather stations online, but nothing in the devices list. WU really needs to get their act together.

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus (KFLDAVEN9)
AcuRite PRO+ 5-in-1 (KFLDAVEN28)
CWOP:  K7FLA | APRS Direct: K7FLA
AWEKAS: AWEKAS

Offline Daali

  • weather n00b
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 203
    • The weather in Jefferson, GA
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2021, 08:00:13 PM »
Weather Underground has lost its mojo.  I fear not even Dr. Evil and a time machine can bring it back.

https://www.pwsweather.com/ has been fairly stable of late.

Offline synapse

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2021, 08:04:04 PM »
Weather Underground has lost its mojo.  I fear not even Dr. Evil and a time machine can bring it back.

https://www.pwsweather.com/ has been fairly stable of late.

Does this support an Acurite ATLAS 5-in-1?  I can't see how to configure that on their site, it says Davis Instruments only.  Thanks!

Offline OldAlaskaGuy

  • Alaska, The Last American Frontier
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
  • Living in the "Last American Frontier"
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2021, 08:39:26 PM »
Do you have an existing station and are trying to re add the same station. You may need to delete the existing station, just a thought.

Offline OldAlaskaGuy

  • Alaska, The Last American Frontier
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
  • Living in the "Last American Frontier"
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2021, 08:40:01 PM »
Weather Underground has been very unstable at best! All started when IBM took over.  Both of my webcams have been OFFLINE for over a month, plus I noticed this morning that my devices list now displays "No devices to show" I have 2 webcams and 2 PWS and I can still see my two weather stations online, but nothing in the devices list. WU really needs to get their act together.

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
Same problem here.

Offline synapse

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2021, 08:45:11 PM »
Do you have an existing station and are trying to re add the same station. You may need to delete the existing station, just a thought.

It's a new station, I haven't had one before.

Offline Daali

  • weather n00b
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 203
    • The weather in Jefferson, GA
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2021, 09:22:11 PM »
Weather Underground has lost its mojo.  I fear not even Dr. Evil and a time machine can bring it back.

https://www.pwsweather.com/ has been fairly stable of late.

Does this support an Acurite ATLAS 5-in-1?  I can't see how to configure that on their site, it says Davis Instruments only.  Thanks!

I should have stated it's a great site if you have a some other 3rd party app feeding data to it, like accuparse (https://www.acuparse.com/).  Without a 3rd party app I do not think the Atlas can push data to the pws site.  https://www.pwsweather.com/frequently-asked-questions#what-do-i-need-to-post-my-data-to-pwsweather-com

Sorry to get your hopes up.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2021, 09:26:10 PM by Daali »

Offline synapse

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2021, 09:55:25 PM »
I should have stated it's a great site if you have a some other 3rd party app feeding data to it, like accuparse (https://www.acuparse.com/).  Without a 3rd party app I do not think the Atlas can push data to the pws site.  https://www.pwsweather.com/frequently-asked-questions#what-do-i-need-to-post-my-data-to-pwsweather-com

Nice [tup]

I didn't know about this and they have it working with Docker containers.  Looks easy to setup, I might try it if I can't get anything else to work.  I e-mailed Acurite and wunderground with the problem, maybe they will respond and/or fix it.  Not sure why I am fixed on using wunderground, I just want this station to work on the web without having to host it myself.  I wish wunderground had an API I could use to create devices with the Python requests library, but I couldn't find anything.  This would be so much easier.

Thanks!

Offline synapse

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2021, 11:46:42 AM »
Wunderground responded to me this morning and they fixed the problem.  You can now add a device without problems.

I setup the weather sharing with the station ID and key in the Acurite app, but it is still showing offline.  Anyone know how long it takes for the device to show online?

Offline MNicastro

  • WeatherMike
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • WeatherMike
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #10 on: August 09, 2021, 11:53:53 AM »
Victoria from Weather Underground support responded to me as well this morning regarding the 'No Devices' issue and they fixed the problem.  They still haven't fixed the webcam issue, and I keep receiving form emails from Victoria indication that they have limited support for webcams.  I don't think they have any support for webcams now, and looks like they are putting them offline them from what I have been seeing.
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus (KFLDAVEN9)
AcuRite PRO+ 5-in-1 (KFLDAVEN28)
CWOP:  K7FLA | APRS Direct: K7FLA
AWEKAS: AWEKAS

Offline OldAlaskaGuy

  • Alaska, The Last American Frontier
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
  • Living in the "Last American Frontier"
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2021, 01:12:59 PM »
"Manage Devices" showed up this AM with an added bonus of a gold star. :shock:

Offline synapse

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #12 on: August 09, 2021, 01:42:59 PM »
It is now online!  It took several hours for the data to feed in and go live.


Offline sundevil01010101

  • KAZSURPR41/54/57
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 211
  • Eye on the sky...
    • Surprise AZ Weather
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #13 on: August 10, 2021, 12:06:38 AM »
They still haven't fixed the webcam issue, and I keep receiving form emails from Victoria indication that they have limited support for webcams.  I don't think they have any support for webcams now, and looks like they are putting them offline them from what I have been seeing.

There's a simple business reason why they don't care about supporting webcams - weather station data is marketable, webcam weather pics are not.  Hence their total indifference to webcam support and why it's likely to be gone anytime.
Visit https://www.surpriseazweather.com/ !!!
Bucket List - 1,000,000 visitors  :twisted: Lol...

Offline WSWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 476
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #14 on: August 11, 2021, 04:25:08 PM »
There's a simple business reason why they don't care about supporting webcams - weather station data is marketable, webcam weather pics are not.  Hence their total indifference to webcam support and why it's likely to be gone anytime.

The camera functionality is (was?) part of the incentive to contribute PWS data to WU, along with an ad-free website experience.  They've pulled the latter from the app and are slowly getting rid of the former, leaving a "free" account to an increasingly irrelevant, bug-ridden website as the lone reason to keep sending.  That's not much of a business plan if you intend to keep the PWS data flowing.

Offline sundevil01010101

  • KAZSURPR41/54/57
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 211
  • Eye on the sky...
    • Surprise AZ Weather
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #15 on: August 11, 2021, 09:33:51 PM »
I totally agree with you, Iím just not sure IBM agrees.  :)
Visit https://www.surpriseazweather.com/ !!!
Bucket List - 1,000,000 visitors  :twisted: Lol...

Offline WSWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 476
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #16 on: August 12, 2021, 12:14:36 PM »
I totally agree with you, Iím just not sure IBM agrees.  :)
I'm pretty sure they don't care.  Just look at the WU front page.  Everything links to weather.com.

Offline kenthcwx

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
    • Twitter Account
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #17 on: August 20, 2021, 02:06:43 AM »
Glad to see I'm not the only one with these zero devices showing issues.

Both of my stations went offline at 00:41 UTC and get the dreaded zero devices when I load up the devices list.

Good that I have backup services otherwise I'd be pretty stuffed. Seems to be riddled with problems.

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

Jamie
Froggit WH4000
MeteoShield Professional
Ecowitt WH32-EP
Ecowitt WH51
Ecowitt WH40
Ecowitt WN30
Ecowitt GW1000

Offline OldAlaskaGuy

  • Alaska, The Last American Frontier
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
  • Living in the "Last American Frontier"
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #18 on: August 20, 2021, 02:32:50 AM »
Mine came back the next day.

Offline ReDave

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #19 on: September 02, 2021, 03:07:18 PM »
Hi,   can i ask how you contacted Wunderground?    I've sent several emails in the last 2 weeks,   and i'm not even getting an acknowledge back...
thanks

Wunderground responded to me this morning and they fixed the problem.  You can now add a device without problems.

I setup the weather sharing with the station ID and key in the Acurite app, but it is still showing offline.  Anyone know how long it takes for the device to show online?

Offline MNicastro

  • WeatherMike
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • WeatherMike
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #20 on: September 02, 2021, 06:41:16 PM »
Hi, pretty much useless to try to contact Weather Underground support, I don't think it exists anymore. I think they have one person named Victoria that provides support, and looks like they dropped support all together for Webcams. I had my webcams up running for years, and all of a sudden they just stopped working a few months ago.  If you do get a response from them it will probably be a form email like I received below. I received this same response three times already no matter what I ask them.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi!

Unfortunately, we have only very limited support for webcams.

Things to check (any or all can become corrupted):
-- The upload key (not your account password) for the cam is in place, matching the one on My Devices exactly.
-- Upload type is set to Binary.
-- Access is via webcam.wunderground.com not any IP addresses.
-- Schedule for uploads is what you want, ideally set for no less than once per minute, and probably better at once every 5-15 minutes.

Be sure that all firmware is up to date. We occasionally update our web protocols to eliminate older, out of date requests, and systems that have not been kept up to date may no longer work.

After that, I would suggest giving everything a reboot, to make sure all the information is pushed through. 

Thank you for being part of the Weather Underground community!

--Victoria
Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus (KFLDAVEN9)
AcuRite PRO+ 5-in-1 (KFLDAVEN28)
CWOP:  K7FLA | APRS Direct: K7FLA
AWEKAS: AWEKAS

Offline ReDave

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #21 on: September 02, 2021, 06:46:59 PM »
Hi Victoria,   I've not gotten any response about my PSW  [no cam]  or my logon issue..    I'm not seeing any support at all..    :-(
https://www.wunderground.com/dashboard/pws/KCASQUAW5     seems to be just gone.



------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi!

Unfortunately, we have only very limited support for webcams.

Things to check (any or all can become corrupted):
-- The upload key (not your account password) for the cam is in place, matching the one on My Devices exactly.
-- Upload type is set to Binary.
-- Access is via webcam.wunderground.com not any IP addresses.
-- Schedule for uploads is what you want, ideally set for no less than once per minute, and probably better at once every 5-15 minutes.

Be sure that all firmware is up to date. We occasionally update our web protocols to eliminate older, out of date requests, and systems that have not been kept up to date may no longer work.

After that, I would suggest giving everything a reboot, to make sure all the information is pushed through. 

Thank you for being part of the Weather Underground community!

--Victoria

Offline clowg

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #22 on: September 22, 2021, 12:23:14 AM »
I can't even login to WU today.  After you press [Sign In], the page just reloads.
Also noticed that the settings gear cog where you change between Celsius and Fahrenheit is broken - the control doesn't show up.

Offline OldAlaskaGuy

  • Alaska, The Last American Frontier
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 396
  • Living in the "Last American Frontier"
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #23 on: September 22, 2021, 12:42:54 AM »
I can't even login to WU today.  After you press [Sign In], the page just reloads.
Also noticed that the settings gear cog where you change between Celsius and Fahrenheit is broken - the control doesn't show up.
Have you tried with another browser? Are you using a phone/tablet?

Offline clowg

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Can't add device to wunderground.com
« Reply #24 on: September 22, 2021, 07:37:03 AM »
I'm trying this in Firefox on Win 10. I tried deleting the cookies and cached data, but it didnt help.
Ive also tried Edge and got the same result.  :sad: