Author Topic: Weather Display + Wireless Webcam  (Read 1630 times)

Offline ingogliar

Weather Display + Wireless Webcam
« on: March 18, 2021, 04:31:37 PM »
I am not a newbie with respect to PWS, but I am completely clueless with respect to webcams.

My school is setting up a Davis PWS which will use WeatherDisplay as the software for the interface (via FTP) to a new website (Saratoga scripts).

We need the webcam to be self-powered (solar) and able - obviously - to connect to the WeatherDisplay software.

Is this even possible and, if so, to which company should I look to for a decent webcam.

Without wishing to trouble the good folks here too much, just one or two suggestions and I promise to do the heavy lifting research!

Thanks.

Offline WeatherEnthusiastNZ

Re: Weather Display + Wireless Webcam
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2021, 05:40:50 PM »
I don't which of these is solar, but here is a list of some options which might help.

https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=38632.0

:)

Offline ingogliar

« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2021, 06:08:47 PM »
Thank you so very much -- I will look at the list carefully. Thank you for taking a part of your time to help me (and my students) - it is appreciated.

Offline rsrkaslo

« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2021, 01:52:24 AM »
I don't know how well this would work for you, but I actually have an Android app I created that I am running as my webcam for Weather Underground.  I'm using an old cell phone (Android 4.4), but it works on newer phones, too.  Mine is plugged in, and is sitting indoors in a window, but there are solar chargers for cell phones, as well as weatherproof enclosures.  So I would think something could be rigged up.