Author Topic: ws-1000 rain gauge  (Read 1762 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jsgolino23

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
ws-1000 rain gauge
« on: December 18, 2015, 04:15:57 PM »
Wondering if anyone else is having problems like this.  But every once and a while my rain guage won't read.  Its raining out now and nothing is showing up.  I have restarted the weather station and even Re-registered the Outdoor transmitter.  That is the only issue I am having.  Any suggestions??

Offline btcompute

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • KNHNORTH15
Re: ws-1000 rain gauge
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2015, 07:39:59 PM »
Have you checked to see if it needs to be cleaned out?
Maybe leaves or other debris is blocking the rain opening?

Offline SSVT

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • High Street Honey
Re: ws-1000 rain gauge
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2015, 06:57:10 AM »
You do need to clean the rain gauge as outlined in the manual or you will have this kind of problem. Happened to me!
Wunderground: KVTBRAND5

Offline weather34

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1064
    • https://weather34.com/homeweatherstation
Re: ws-1000 rain gauge
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2015, 05:35:08 AM »
hi definitely give it a good clean , i do mine once every two months I am plagued by seagulls when theres no wind they sit on mine and ultimately the  rain bucket gets crapped in :-(

Offline Tejas

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: ws-1000 rain gauge
« Reply #4 on: December 24, 2015, 08:45:45 AM »
I have installed a fine, circular screen designed for sprouting seeds that helps keep debris and insects out of the gauge.

Offline jsgolino23

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: ws-1000 rain gauge
« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2015, 09:17:42 AM »
Thanks for the replies.  I did clean it out and it is working fine again, but I hate to take it down from my roof every couple of months because its way up there on my room.  Have to take it down from the pole and then point it in the right direction the way the wind is blowing, its a pain in the neck. 

I will have to try that screen to put inside the gauge, I have never thought of that

Offline Rychu

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
  • Type of station: HP1001WiFi & WH2600IP (WS1400IP)
    • Check on-line measurements and forecasts of Gdansk in Poland
Re: ws-1000 rain gauge
« Reply #6 on: December 26, 2015, 02:57:12 PM »
I have a HP 1001 stations - is a clone of the WS 1000. Also, I had a problem with a rain gauge. It blocked the small pająki_ click and view photos. I had to remove the station from the mast and clean the pan rain gauge - helped.

mini_foto 1
mini_foto 2
mini_foto 3
« Last Edit: December 26, 2015, 04:28:54 PM by Rychu »

 

anything